Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected books in Butler Libraries collections
Feminisms Redux by
Publication Date: 2009-11-30
The range of essays focuses not only on gender and sex, but also on sexuality, race, class, nationality, and (dis)ability, and the intersections among these categories as they play out in writing by and about women.
How to use this Guide
Welcome to the LibGuide created for the First-Year Seminar: Women Writing the World! I'm happy to help you with your research. Please let me know when you have questions by contacting me via IM, phone, or e-mail (to the right).
The tabs above link you to the databases and resources that you may find helpful in assembling cultural and critical information for your presentation. Keep in mind while these scholarly resources are recommended, you may find great material on the open web. However, we will want to make sure we're choosing the best materials by doing some critical analysis of what we find.
In the Library
For our Zoom session library activity, you'll be trying out some tools and looking for relevant resources.
The assignment is available at https://forms.gle/XbgBspgG7WgSF12KA (sign in with Butler credentials)
Academic Search Complete
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Search Butler University Libraries and beyond for articles, books, media, and more.
MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Google is the most popular search engine. It has 40 billion pages indexed and 319 million daily queries. Google returns a results count, and has advertisements. It is better at finding informative, non-local searches than Bing