COPHS Plagiarism & Citation Guide: Online Resources

Rules for Citing Websites

• Important Reminder: Use caution when referencing the internet. Many websites are not appropriate/credible sources. Use only the highest quality sites.
  • When in doubt, SIFT through the content!
    • STOP
    • INVESTIGATE THE SOURCE
    • FIND BETTER COVERAGE
    • TRACE CLAIMS, QUOTES, AND MEDIA TO ORIGINAL CONTEXT
• Authors don't have to be people. If you can't find an individual responsible for the content, look for an organization or corporate author.

Websites

• Authors or name of group (if available). Title of specific item cited. Name of the website. Published Date. Updated Date (if available). Accessed Month day, year. URL. 

Website with an organization as author

• Drug Shortage Resource Center. American Society of Health-System Pharmacists website. Accessed December 9, 2011. http://www.ashp.org/shortages

Website with an individual as author

• Pho K. Why I’m not ready to prescribe mobile health apps. KevinMD. May 4, 2014. Accessed August 12, 2014. http://www.kevinmd.com/blog/2014/05/ready-prescribe-mobile-healthapps.html

5 Minute Clinical Consult

• Authors. Title. 5 Minute Consult database. Wolters Kluwer. Reviewed date. Accessed date. URL
• White C. Seasonal Affective Disorder. 5 Minute Consult database. Wolters Kluwer. Reviewed June 2019. Accessed January 23, 2020. https://5minuteconsult.com/collectioncontent/1-153026/diseases-andconditions/seasonal-affective-disorder

Access Medicine or Access Pharmacy

• Do NOT cite AccessPharmacy or AccessMedicine. Cite the specific electronic textbook.

Clinical Key

Drug Monographs, Clinical Overview, Images, & Patient Education Material Copyright holder.

• Title of the material. Type of article. Clinical Key Website. Elsevier, Inc. Updated or published date. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL
• Gold Standard. Abacavir. Drug Monograph. Clinical Key Website. Elsevier, Inc. Published January 15, 2021. Accessed January 20, 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/content/drug_monograph/6-s2.0-2332

Books, Guidelines, and Journal Articles

• Do NOT cite Clinical Key. Refer to the appropriate reference within the COPHS Citation guide.

Clinical Pharmacology

Drug Monographs

• Amoxicillin. Clinical Pharmacology database. Elsevier Inc. c2021. Accessed January 20, 2021. http://www.clinicalpharmacology.com.

Drug Class Overviews

• Aromatase Inhibitors. Clinical Pharmacology database. Elsevier Inc. c2021. Accessed January 20, 2021. http://www.clinicalpharmacology.com

Entire Database

• Clinical Pharmacology database. Elsevier Inc. c2021. Accessed January 20, 2021. http://www.clinicalpharmacology.com

DynaMed Plus

• Author or Editor. Topic title. DynaMed Plus database. EBSCO Information Services. Updated date. Accessed date. http://www.dynamed.com

Specific Record

• Lin M. Acetaminophen poisoning. DynaMed Plus database. EBSCO Information Services. Updated Dec 3, 2018. Accessed January 20, 2021. https://www.dynamed.ebsco.healthcare/conditions/acetaminophen-poisoning.

Whole Database

• DynaMed Plus database. EBSCO Information Services. Accessed January 20, 2021. http://www.dynamed.com.

Facts and Comparisons

• Name of document. Specific Database/Section. Facts & Comparisons eAnswers. Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. Date updated. Accessed Month day, year. http://fcofactsandcomparions.comhttp://fcofactsandcomparions.com
• Atenolol. Drug Facts and Comparisons. Facts & Comparisons eAnswers. Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. January 5, 2021. Accessed January 20, 2021. http://fco-factsandcomparions.com

Lexicomp Online

• Name of document. Specific Database/Section. Lexicomp Online. Wolters Kluwer Health Inc. Date updated. Accessed Month Day, year. http://online.lexi.com
• Atenolol. Lexi-Drugs. Lexicomp Online. Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. January 16, 2021. Accessed January 20, 2021. http://online.lexi.com
• Atenolol. Pediatric and Neonatal Lexi-Drugs. Lexicomp Online. Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. January 16, 2021. Accessed January 20, 2021. http://online.lexi.com

Medical Letter

• Title of article. Med Lett Drugs Ther. Year Month Day;Volume(Issue Number):pages
• FDA authorizes Moderna COVID-19 Vaccine. Med Lett Drugs Ther. 2021 Jan 25;63(1616):9-10.

Micromedex

• Title of monograph or document. In: specific Micromedex database (electronic version). IBM Watson Health, Greenwood Village, Colorado, USA. Available at: https://www.micromedexsolutions.com (cited: Month Day, Year).
• Micromedex® (electronic version). IBM Watson Health, Greenwood Village, Colorado, USA. Available at: https://www.micromedexsolutions.com (cited: August 27, 2019).
• Etanercept. In: IBM Micromedex® DRUGDEX® (electronic version). IBM Watson Health, Greenwood Village, Colorado, USA. Available at: https://www.micromedexsolutions.com (cited: August 27, 2019).

Natural Medicines

• Name of document. Specific database/tool. Natural Medicines database. TRC Healthcare. Date reviewed. Accessed Month Day, Year. https://naturalmedicinestherapeuticresearch.com/
• Vitamin E professional monograph. Food, Herbs, and Supplements Database. Natural Medicines database. TRC Healthcare. November 14, 2020. Accessed January 20, 2021. https://naturalmedicinestherapeuticresearch.com/

Pharmacist's Letter

• PL Detail-Document, Prevagen for Memory. Pharmacist’s Letter/Prescriber’s Letter. November 2015.
• New Drugs United States 2020. Pharmacist’s Letter Online. TRC Healthcare. Accessed January 20, 2021. https://pharmacisttherapeuticresearch.com

Sanford Guide

• Authors. Title. Sanford Guide Online. Antimicrobial Therapy, Inc. Update date. Accessed date. http://webeditionsanfordguide.com
• Boucher HW. Endocarditis. Sanford Guide Online. Antimicrobial Therapy, Inc. March 26, 2020. Accessed January 20, 2021. http://webedition-sanfordguide.com

UpToDate

• Author(s). Title of document. In: Section Editor, Deputy Editor, eds. UpToDate. UpToDate Inc. Publication year. Accessed Month Day, Year. https://www.uptodate.com
• Olek MJ, Mowry E. Pathogenesis and epidemiology of multiple sclerosis. In: Scarano F, Sashe JR, eds UpToDate. UpToDate Inc. 2020. Accessed January 20, 2021. https://www.uptodate.com