If the medium is given in the title of the work, it is not necessary to repeat after the title.
A multimedia component can be cited as a supplement to an article or as a stand-alone item with its own DOI or URL.
Only put the author(s) information if you are certain that person created the video. Do not assume the person who uploads the video is the author.
Examples
Audio, Video, & DVD
Author Last Name First Initial Middle Initial. Title Form of media. Company; Year. URL
Johnston M. National Pharmacy Technician Association. Pharmacy Calculations Made Easy DVD. Multi Med Media; 2007.
Smith R. Evidence-Based Medicine: An Oral History. The JAMA Network and the BMJ. 2014. Accessed October 14, 2016. https://ebmjamanetwork-com/
Bernstein Fant B, Fant L. The American Sign Language Phrase Book With DVD. McGraw-Hill Education; 2011.
Online Video
Videos available on a website
Title. Published Month Day, Year. Accessed Month day, year. URL.
Middle ear aspiration. November 3, 2016. Accessed September 30, 2019. https://edhub.ama-assn.org/jn-learning/video-player/13673838
Videos available in journal articles
Author Last Name First Initial Middle Initial. Title. Journal title abbreviation. Year;volume(issue):page numbers. DOI
Lee PY, Costumbrado J, Hsu CY, Kim YH. Agarose gel electrophoresis for the separation of DNA fragments. J Vis Exp. 2012;62:e3923. Accessed October 13, 2016. doi:10.3791/3923
FDA changes Ebola drug status hold. YouTube. Published August 7, 2014. Accessed August 8, 2014. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C2g2yai3sfw.
Images
Infographics
Author/Creator. Title. Journal title abbreviation. Year;volume(issue):page numbers. Accessed Month Day, Year. DOI
Kaiser Family Foundation. A snapshot of US global health funding. Visualizing Health Policy infographic. JAMA. 2014;311(16):1601. Accessed October 13, 2016. doi:10.1001/jama.2014.3890
Images
Author Last Name First Initial Middle Initial. Title. Name of Website. Published Month Day, Year. Updated date if applicable. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL.
Province of British Columbia. BC kicks off flu vaccine program. Flickr. Published October 17, 2011. Accessed November 24, 2020. https://www.flickr.com/photos/bcgovphotos/6254662731/in/photostream/
Medical-Related Sources with Public Domain and Copyrighted Images
Where can I find medical and health images?
These sites have a combination of public domain, Creative Commons licensed, or copyright protected images available. Check the terms and conditions for each image of any collection.
National Cancer Institute Visuals Online - This site includes both copyright protected and public domain images. See the Reuse Restrictions information for each image.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL) - This site contains both public domain and copyright protected images. See the Copyright Restrictions information for each image.
Wellcome Collections - Images are not all health-focused. This site includes both copyright protected and public domain images. See the Reuse Restrictions information for each image.
NIH Image Gallery - The National Institutes of Health provides an image gallery on Flickr. The images are licensed under varying CC licenses. Check the licensing for each individual image.
Open-i: Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine - Collection of images from the open source literature. Use the "License Type" filter along the top menu bar to include only attribution or attribution/non-commercial images.
This collection is a disability-led effort to provide free and inclusive stock photos shot from our own perspective, featuring disabled BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Color) across the Pacific Northwest.
nappy is out to provide beautiful, high-res photos of black and brown people to startups, brands, agencies, and everyone else. nappy makes it easy for companies to be purposeful about representation in their designs, presentations, and advertisements.
PICONI is a coop of stock image photography. They recognize that most other FREE stock image sites have very few or no images of people of color. They sought out to create a space where publishers, bloggers, website owners, marketers, designers, graphic artists, advertisers and the like can easily search and find diverse multi-racial images.
AllGo, a company that focuses on increasing the accessibility of spaces for people of all sizes and abilities, created this free stock photo collection "of plus-size people doing normal things" to address a lack of inclusion of fat bodies in existing stock photo collections.
#WOCinTech Chat started out as a Twitter chat and quickly evolved into an initiative to connect and empower WOC in the tech world. As part of this work they put together a photo shoot of real WOC technologists at work. The stock photos are meant to combat the idea that there are no WOC in the tech industry by increasing their visibility.
Where can I find other images that are licensed for fair use?
Creative Commons - This site allows the user to search images covered by creative commons licensing, as well as narrow by intended purpose.
Flickr - Users can search by liscense type and image keywords.
Unsplash - Over 2 million free high-resolution images brought to you by the world’s most generous community of photographers.
The Noun Project - Noun Project is building a global visual language that unites us — a language that allows quick and easy communication no matter who you are or where you are.
Wikimedia Commons - Browse images by topic, contribute your own images, and check out the handy reuse guide.
Google Images - Enter your search first. On the results page, click on Tools > Usage Rights to filter the images to Creative Commons-licensed images. Select "labelled for reuse" or "labelled for noncommercial reuse." Check the usage restrictions for each image to make sure it's either public domain, CC-BY or CC-BY-NC to match your MedEdPortal submission license.
