Skip to main content

ED673: Research for School Counselors (Keller): Articles/Tests/Statistics

Course guide for ED673

Tools for Finding Articles, Statistics, Tests and More

Although these will not really search everything, these tools will search for many books, articles, and more all with one search:

screenshot of search box

In addition to the Education specific databases, the following should be of help for School Counseling topics:

Note: EZAnalyze can be downloaded for free and used with Excel on basic descriptive statistics

Education Statistics

Mental Health Statistics 

General Statistics (including Education)

For a more complete list of databases, see Databases A-Z (also available from the library home page).

Loading ...

General Reference Sources

Find It button

Don't give up if you don't see an icon for the full text! 

Click on the Find Full Text button image of FIND FULL TEXT buttonto see if the library does have full text access to the item or if it is freely available. (example)

Please remember that you can use InterLibrary Loan to get articles in a few days (or books in about a week).

Warning:

Be sure to use persistent links if you decide to save or email links to articles you found in the results list of a database search.  Many times, the URL you see at the top of the page includes session information from your search session and the link will not work after you have closed that session. 

In addition to using persistent links, if you note the citation information you can insure that you will be able to find the item again. 

DOIs

You can also use the DOI (digital object identifier) for an article to find it again later.  If you add http://dx.doi.org/ to the front of the DOI, you will create a link to the article.  For example if the DOI is 10.1353/rhe.2007.0073, the link would be http://dx.doi.org/10.1353/rhe.2007.0073  

If you are off campus, but the libraries have access to the article (and it is not available to the public), you would need to add https://ezproxy.butler.edu/login?url= to the front of the link in order to get prompted to log in with your Butler credentials.  The link for the example above would then be: https://ezproxy.butler.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1353/rhe.2007.0073  

This may be more than you want to know, so just let me know if you have any trouble accessing an article. 

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter