Research Guides (LibGuides): ED673: Research for School Counselors (Vidal): Articles, Statistics, and Journals

Tools for Finding Articles, Statistics, Tests and More

Although these will not really search everything, these tools will search for many books, articles, and more all with one search:

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Use the search box near the middle of the library home page to search Butler University Libraries and beyond for articles, books, media, and more.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Configuring Google Scholar for Butler
Instructions for configuring Google Scholar to add the Find it at Butler Univ! links to search results when you are off campus

In addition to the Education specific databases, the following should be of help for School Counseling topics:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
This database includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

Includes access to APA PsycInfo research services, an alternative interface for searching and browsing the PsycInfo database. To access PsycInfo research services, visit the following url and enter your Butler email address: https://psycinfo.apa.org
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Includes some social science content along with medical and physical science coverage
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.
Social Sciences with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text resource provides access to the most important English-language social science journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.

Annual Reviews
Reviews of the scientific literature

ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains citations for articles from education literature and journals from 1966 to the present, and links are provided to the full text of the articles when available. By using this EBSCO version, rather than the public ERIC site, you can easily link to the full text of additional articles if the library has access to them.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (ERIC site) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for over 330 journals designed for professional educators. Selected full-text to 250 journals.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 This link opens in a new window
The Education Index Retrospective indexes education periodicals from 1929 through 1983.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides full text from almost 520 scholarly journals covering a variety of medical topics.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.

Note: EZAnalyze can be downloaded for free and used with Excel on basic descriptive statistics

Education Statistics

Indiana Department of Education Data
Includes performance data and other information reported by schools in Indiana.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Kids Count Data Center
Provides data and trend analysis relating to the well-being of children in the United States
ED.gov Data & Statistics
U.S. Department of Education Data & Statistics page with links to a variety of resources
World Bank Education Statistics
Education Statistics from the World Bank

Mental Health Statistics

General Statistics (including Education)

UNESCO Institute of Statistics
The primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
UN Data
Statistics from United Nations members states on a variety of topics

PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Produced by the APA, PsycTESTS is a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, with thousands of test instruments and items available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.

For a more complete list of databases, see Databases A-Z (also available from the library home page). You may also be interested in the more complete list of Education Databases.

Journals

To find out if Butler Libraries has a specific journal, go to the Journals A-Z list and search for the title.

Examples of online Journals:

A Word on Persistent Links

A persistent link is a permanent (or "stable) URL that takes you directly to a specific website. If you wish to save a link to an article, you should use the article's persistent link, if available. Additionally, APA style specifies that persistent links are required, when available, for your citations.

DOIs

Persistent links for journal articles are a combination of https://doi.org/ and a permanent number that is assigned to that article called a digital object identifier (DOI).

For example, if the DOI is 10.1353/rhe.2007.0073, the persistent link would be https://doi.org/10.1353/rhe.2007.0073

Off Campus

If you are off campus and need to access a resource that the library has access to but is not available to the public, you will need to add https://go.openathens.net/redirector/butler.edu?url= to the front of the persistent link in order to get prompted to log in with your Butler credentials.

The example link above would then be: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/butler.edu?url=https://doi.org/10.1353/rhe.2007.0073

Need Help?

If you have trouble accessing resources when off campus, please let me know!

ED673: Research for School Counselors (Vidal)

Find Full Text button

Tools for Finding Articles, Statistics, Tests and More

Journals

A Word on Persistent Links

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS