Skip to main content

Bassoon Studio Class: Useful LC Class Numbers

Basic resources to enable you to find scores, recordings, and other useful information relating to the bassoon.

LC Headings for Bassoon Materials

The Butler Libraries us the Library of Congress (LC) classification scheme for its materials.  This is an alpha-numeric system.  Each call number begins with a letter or letters followed by a number designating a particular topic.  In music, all books and scores are classed wtih the letters "M," "ML," or "MT."

M = Scores

ML = Books about music (i.e., music literature or history)

MT= Materials about music theory or pedagogy (i.e., teaching materials)

Below is a simplified overview of the LC classes relevant to the study of the bassoon:

   Bibliography: ML128.B26
   History and criticism: ML950+
      Construction: ML951
   Instruction and study: MT400+
      Contrabassoon: MT412
   Instrumental music: M75+
      with orchestra (solo): M1026+, M1126+
      with piano: M253+

                  Solo bassoon music

M75               Miscellaneous collections

M76              Original compositions, collections

M77              Original compositions, separate works

M78              Arrangements, collections

M79              Arrangements, separate works

                  Bassoon and piano

M253               Collections

M254               Separate works

M355 -       Wind trios
M359

                  Quartets

M415 -        Piano and three wind instruments
M419

M455 -         Wind quartets
M459

                  Quintets

M515 -          Piano and four wind instruments
M519   

M555 -           Wind quintets
M559

                  Sextets

M615 -            Piano and wind instruments
M619 

M655               Wind sextets
M659

                    Septets

M715 -            Piano and wind instruments
M719

M755 -            Wind septets
M759

                     Octets

M815 -            Piano and wind instruments
M819

M850            Wind octets
M854

                     Nonets

M915 -              Piano and wind instruments
M919

M955 -               Wind nonets
M959

                    Orchestra music

M1026            Scores
M1026.5         Cadenzas.  By composer of concerto, A-Z
M1027            Solo(s) with piano

                  String orchestra music

M1126            Scores
M1126.5         Cadenzas.  By composer of concerto, A-Z
M1127             Solo(s) with piano

       

   

 

Bassoon

Other useful LC classes for woodwinds

FLUTE
   Bibliography:  ML 128 F7   History and criticism: ML935+
      Construction: ML 936

   Instruction and study: MT340+
      for children: MT801.F5

   Instrumental music: M60_
      with orchestra (solo): M1020+, M1120+
      with piano: M240+

OBOE
   Bibliography:  ML 128 O2 
   History and criticism: ML940+
      Construction: ML941

   Instruction and study: MT360+

  Instrumental music: M65+_
      with orchestra (solo): M1022+, M1122+
      with piano: M245+

 CLARINET
   Bibliography:  ML128 C58
      Discography: ML156.4.C6

  History and criticism: ML949+
      Construction: ML 946

   Instruction and study: MT380+
      for children: MT801.C6

   Instrumental music: M70+
      for children: M1385.C6
      with orchestra (solo): M1024+, M1124+
      with piano: M248+
   

 


   

 

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter