Research Guides (LibGuides): ED575: Human Growth & Development for Counselors: Articles/Reference Sources/More

Tools for Finding Articles, Reference Sources, and More

Although these will not really search everything, these tools will search for many books, articles, and more all with one search:

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Search Butler University Libraries and beyond for articles, books, media, and more.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Configuring Google Scholar for Butler
Instructions for configuring Google Scholar to add the Find it at Butler Univ! links to search results when you are off campus

In addition to the Education specific databases, the following should be of help for School Counseling topics:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
This biographical database offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
This can be very helpful for finding background information on a theory or theorist
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
This database includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
SAGE Video This link opens in a new window
SAGE Video showcases relevant educational video across key social, behavioral, and health science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse learning and research needs.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.
Social Sciences with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text resource provides access to the most important English-language social science journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.

ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains citations for articles from education literature and journals from 1966 to the present, and links are provided to the full text of the articles when available. By using this EBSCO version, rather than the public ERIC site, you can easily link to the full text of additional articles if the library has access to them.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (ERIC site) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for over 330 journals designed for professional educators. Selected full-text to 250 journals.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 This link opens in a new window
The Education Index Retrospective indexes education periodicals from 1929 through 1983.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides full text from almost 520 scholarly journals covering a variety of medical topics.

Medline Plus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends.

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink offers over 2,250 peer reviewed eJournals, more than 45,000 eBooks and 24,000 Protocols spanning many disciplines but focusing on Science, Technology, & Medicine. More than 7,000 eBooks, eReferences and eBook Series titles are scheduled to be added each year.

Britannica Online
Britannica Online includes the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and other multidisciplinary research tools.

Oxford Reference Online (ORO) This link opens in a new window
The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.

Note: EZAnalyze can be downloaded for free and used with Excel on basic descriptive statistics

Education Statistics

Indiana Department of Education Data
Includes performance data and other information reported by schools in Indiana.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Kids Count Data Center
Provides data and trend analysis relating to the well-being of children in the United States
ED.gov Data & Statistics
U.S. Department of Education Data & Statistics page with links to a variety of resources
World Bank Education Statistics
Education Statistics from the World Bank

Mental Health Statistics

General Statistics (including Education)

UNESCO Institute of Statistics
The primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
UN Data
Statistics from United Nations members states on a variety of topics

PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Produced by the APA, PsycTESTS is a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, with thousands of test instruments and items available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.

For a more complete list of databases, see Databases A-Z (also available from the library home page). You may also be interested in the more complete list of Education Databases.

DOIs

You can also use the DOI (digital object identifier) for an article to find it again later. If you add https://doi.org/ to the front of the DOI, you will create a link to the article. For example if the DOI is 10.1353/rhe.2007.0073, the link would be https://doi.org/10.1353/rhe.2007.0073

If you are off campus, but the libraries have access to the article (and it is not available to the public), you usually would need to add https://go.openathens.net/redirector/butler.edu?url= to the front of the link in order to get prompted to log in with your Butler credentials. The link for the example above would then be: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/butler.edu?url=https://doi.org/10.1353/rhe.2007.0073

This may be more than you want to know, so just let me know if you have any trouble accessing an article.

ED575: Human Growth & Development for Counselors

Note:

Find Full Text button

Tools for Finding Articles, Reference Sources, and More

DOIs

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS