Research Guides (LibGuides): FYS: The Fight for ADA: Past, Present, and Beyond (Keiper): Welcome!

Welcome!

Welcome to the LibGuide for the First Year Seminar:

"The Fight for ADA: Past, Present & Beyond"

This guide is meant to help you develop the skills and tools to accomplish your course objectives. The library (and your librarian) are here to help you! Use us early and often!

FYS Search Activity Fall 2024

Resources to Think About

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Britannica Online includes the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and other multidisciplinary research tools.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database features full text for thousands of primary source documents and informational texts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
A variety of reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics and multimedia to help present different sides of controversial topics. Highly recommended for argumentative/persuasive research topics.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other reliable sources. In addition, the database includes a vast collection of images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and the Nature Picture Library.

ADA Resources

Disability in the Arts Libguide
This guide was put together by Sarah Ward, our Performing and Visual Arts Librarian
Diversity, Equity & Inclusion in Higher Education LibGuide
This libguide provides information resources on DEI in higher education, DEI initiatives happening at Butler, and how Butler Libraries is supporting DEI awareness and programming on campus. It is put together by Dr. Su-Mei Ooi, Butler's Director for DEI, as well as two of our librarians, Sally Neal, our Head of Instruction, and Sarah Ward, our Performing & Visual Arts Librarian.
Toolkit for DEI
This libguide, put together by Sarah Ward, our Performing & Visual Arts Librarian, provides information, workshop downloads, and resources on integrating DEI into teaching and learning.
Disability in the Modern World
One person in seven experiences disability,* yet the story of this community and its contributions is largely absent from the scholarly record. Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement is a landmark online collection that fills the gap, with a comprehensive and international set of resources to enrich study in a wide range of disciplines from media studies to philosophy.
Space/Body Reading List
This reading list is being collectively produced in reaction to the COVID-19 pandemic. We mean to assemble a series of readings on how our bodies are constructed with spatial means, and on how in turn space can be shaped and informed by our bodies--individual and collective, healthy and diseased, body politics and biopolitics. We will continue to reshape the scope and framing as the list grows.
*Meant to be a teaching resource, but has excellent suggestions for reading on particular topics.

Primary Sources

Some primary source databases are listed below. See the A-Z Databases page for a list of all the library's databases.

Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
Alt-Press Watch showcases unique, independent voices from a variety grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 This link opens in a new window
Primary source archive related to LGBTQ and gender studies.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
Includes primary source documents from various government records, civil rights organizations, and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle.
Historical U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes: Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Cleveland Call & Post, Indianapolis Star, Los Angeles Sentinel, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, and Wall Street Journal
National Geographic Magazine Archive 1888-2015 This link opens in a new window
Content and images of National Geographic Magazine from 1888-2015

FYS: The Fight for ADA: Past, Present, and Beyond (Keiper)

Your Librarian

Want to reuse this content?

Welcome!

Resources to Think About

ADA Resources

Primary Sources

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS