Getting out of the Rut: IDEA Toolkit for Arts Pedagogy

Recently re-launched to incorporate peer-reviewed articles, the Archives of American Art Journal covers the history of the visual arts in the United States from the eighteenth century to the recent past. The Journal seeks to enrich our understanding of art history and visual culture by publishing original research based in part on the vast holdings of the Archives of American Art. It aims to showcase new approaches to and out-of-the-box thinking about primary sources.

The book centers the unique narratives of Black, Brown, and Latinx design educators, from their childhood experiences to their navigation of undergraduate and graduate studies and their career paths in academia and practice.Interwoven throughout the book are images that maintain cultural significance, from family heirlooms to design works that highlight aspects of their cultural identities. Readers will gain insight into the multitude of experiences of Black, Brown, and Latinx design educators who teach and work in the field today.

In this book, Inge Daniels explores what might happen if people and objects were freed from the regulations currently associated with going to an exhibition. Based on an in-depth ethnographic examination of the processes involved in the making and reception of one particular exhibition-experiment as well as a study that follows 'freed' objects into their new homes, this publication not only sheds light on what exhibitions are, but also what they could become in the future.

A collection that combines visual works with critical essays around the theme of everyday life to explore the concept of otherness and highlight photography as a form of critical practice. Put together in this way, the book images and text work in dialogue with one another to construct a new perspective on questions of otherness and alterity.

This is a quarterly peer-reviewed journal dedicated to publishing the most current international research on the visual culture of Mexico, Central America, South America, and the Caribbean, as well as that created in diaspora. A defining focus of the journal is its concentration of current scholarship on both Latin American and Latinx visual culture in a single publication.

Drawing from tribal and state archives, libraries, museums, and individual collections, Through a Native Lens features photographs--including some never before published--that range from formal portraits to casual snapshots. The images represent multiple tribal communities across Native North America, including the Inland Tlingit, Northern Paiute, and Kiowa.

"A cognitive approach to understanding the mediation of collective memory through Amerindian cultural production, arguing that cultural memories and identity are not simply the sum total of individuals' expressions of self but that some cultural artifacts become privileged to inform the heart of the mnemonic community"-- Provided by publisher

Taken together, these nine original artist interviews, cutting-edge visual artworks, and seven critical essays explore contemporary currents and experiences within Asian American art, including the multiple axes of race and identity; queer bodies and forms; kinship and affect; and digital identities and performances.

Pressing critically on the politics of visibility and how this categorization reduces artworks by Asian American artists within narrow parameters of interpretation, Unnamable reconceives Asian American art not as a subset of objects, but as a medium that disrupts representations and embedded knowledge.

The book pairs artwork and interviews with nineteen emerging, mid-career, and established mixed race/mixed heritage Asian American artists, including Li-lan and Kip Fulbeck, with scholarly essays exploring such topics as Vietnamese Amerasians, Korean transracial adoptions, and multiethnic Hawai'i.

One of the first surveys of contemporary Asian art, it uses case studies of key artists to discuss the work in relation to issues of human rights, social and environmental well-being and creativity. As such, it makes an important contribution to studies of contemporary Asian art and art history.

This pioneering work traces the emergence of the modern and contemporary art of Muslim South Asia in relation to transnational modernism and in light of the region's intellectual, cultural, and political developments.

JAAS explores all aspects of Asian American experiences through original articles detailing new theoretical developments, research results, methodological innovations, public policy concerns, and pedagogical issues.

JPS is a trans-disciplinary, peer-reviewed journal featuring social, cultural, indigenous and historical research related to the past and present lives and cultures of peoples of Pacific/Oceanic heritage, including those of the traditional cultural areas of Polynesia, Melanesia and Micronesia.

Contemporary Pacific covers a wide range of disciplines with the aim of providing comprehensive coverage of contemporary developments in the entire Pacific Islands region, including Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. In addition to articles, interviews, and book and media reviews, each issue highlights the work of a Pacific Islander artist.

One of the oldest and most respected feminist journals, Frontiers presents a broad mix of multicultural and interdisciplinary scholarly work, personal essays, and the arts offered in accessible language.

WSQ is a biannual, peer-reviewed journal known as an interdisciplinary forum for the exchange of emerging perspectives on women, gender, and sexuality.

In a definitive collection of original essays, scholars cover the span of Bechdel's career, placing her groundbreaking early work within the context of her more well-known recent projects. The contributors provide new insights on major themes in Bechdel's work, such as gender performativity, masculinity, lesbian politics and representation, trauma, life writing, and queer theory.

An educational and inspirational book that offers practical guidance for art therapists working with transgender and gender-expansive youth and their families. It provides art therapy goals, recommended treatments and coping skills to use with this client group. It includes detailed case studies and cutting-edge art therapy interventions, which help young people to express the emotions surrounding the discovery of gender identity, the transition process, and self-care.

In Poetic Operations artist and theorist micha cárdenas considers contemporary digital media, artwork, and poetry in order to articulate trans of color strategies for safety and survival. Drawing on decolonial theory, women of color feminism, media theory, and queer of color critique, cárdenas develops a method she calls algorithmic analysis. In her analyses of Giuseppe Campuzano's holographic art, Esdras Parra's and Kai Cheng Thom's poetry, Mattie Brice's digital games, Janelle Monáe's music videos, and her own artistic practice, cárdenas shows how algorithmic analysis provides new modes of understanding the complex processes of identity and oppression and the intersection of gender, sexuality, and race.

A peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal for pedagogical scholarship exploring intersections of identities, power, and social justice.

Crip Kinship explores the art activism of Sins Invalid, a San Francisco Bay Area-based performance project, and its radical imaginings of what disabled, queer, trans, and gender-nonconforming bodyminds of colour can do: how they can rewrite oppression, and how they can gift us with transformational lessons for our collective survival.

"Disability Aesthetics ambitiously redefines both 'disability' and 'aesthetics,' showing us that disability is central not only to modern art but also to the way we apprehend (and interact with) bodies and buildings. Along the way, Tobin Siebers revisits the beautiful and the sublime, 'degenerate' art and 'disqualified' bodies, culture wars and condemned neighborhoods, the art of Marc Quinn and the fiction of Junot Díaz---and much, much more.

The World in the Mind and Sculpture of Deafblind People discusses the creative capabilities of people with simultaneous impairment of sight and hearing. It is a pioneering interdisciplinary study combining theories from the fields of pedagogy, psychology, semiotics and theory of art. It presents a study of the act of creation performed by deafblind people, which makes it possible to propose a vision of reality as conveyed through their sculptures, and which forms a base for the scrutiny of the specific and individual ways of understanding the world and its visualisation in the minds of the deafblind.

Inclusive Arts Practice and Research interrogates an exciting and newly emergent field: the creative collaborations between learning-disabled and non-learning-disabled artists which are increasingly taking place in performance and the visual arts. Inclusive Arts Practice represents a landmark publication in an emerging field of creative practice across all the arts.