Research Guides (LibGuides): FYS: Physics and the Arts (Reed): Welcome!

Welcome!

Welcome to the LibGuide for the First Year Seminar:

Physics and the Arts

This guide is meant to help you develop the skills and tools to accomplish your course objectives:

To reflect on significant questions about yourself, your community, and your world.
To develop the capacity to read and think critically.
To develop the capacity to write clear and persuasive expository and argumentative essays with an emphasis on thesis formation and development.
To gain an understanding of basic principles of oral communication as they apply to classroom discussion.
To understand the liberal arts as a vital and evolving tradition and to see yourself as agents within that tradition.
To develop capacities for careful and open reflection on questions of values and norms.
To develop the ability to carry out research for the purpose of inquiry and to support claims.

The library (and your librarian) are here to help you! Use us early and often!

Project Resources

Search Butler Libraries

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Search Butler University Libraries and beyond for articles, books, media, and more.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and a large number of images from the MPTV Image Archive are also included.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

American Book Review
ABR specializes in reviews of frequently neglected published works of fiction, poetry, and literary and cultural criticism from small, regional, university, ethnic, avant-garde, and women's presses. ABR as a literary journal aims to project the sense of engagement that writers themselves feel about what is being published. It is edited and produced by writers for writers and the general public.
New York Times Book Review
A weekly magazine and website featuring book reviews, feature articles, author interviews and book excerpts.

Bookmarks Magazine
Searchable magazine publishing book reviews on many different genres.
London Review of Books
The LRB is Europe’s leading magazine of books and ideas. Covers topics ranging from culture and politics to science and technology to history and philosophy.
The New Yorker Review
Covers issues of culture, current events, literature, and the arts.
The Times Literary Supplement
Published weekly, covers international issues of culture, opinion, and literature.

3/18 In-class Assignment

Keywords

Go to the link below for your class, then add synonyms/keywords/related terms/phrases for your topic & assignment:

In-class assignment

In-class searching

Use this time to search the library databases listed above, using the keywords/phrases you developed in the activity above. Let me know if you need help!

FYS: Physics and the Arts (Reed)

Your FYS Librarian!

Welcome!

Project Resources

3/18 In-class Assignment

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS