Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) is a trusted source for citation style instructions. Click on the image below to be taken to Purdue's APA Style help pages.
Encyclopedia of Genetics by This two-volume set provides a thorough coverage of the basics of genetics from historical, scientific and social issues perspectives. This revised edition adds more than 60 new overview essays and 26 new sidebars to the original entries, reflecting the rapid developments in this branch of science.
Publication Date: 2004-02-01
Encyclopdia of Microbiology by Humans have always struggled with how to balance the benefits bacteria offer with the threats that they produce. Much less obvious than the effects microorganisms have on plants and animals are the indirect ways in which they shape the planet. These hidden activities have rarely been explained in science, though scientists realize that the behavior of microbes supports all life on Earth. In more than 200 entries, Encyclopedia of Microbiology presents the myriad ways in which microorganisms influence the biosphere. Focusing on how all microorganisms relate to each other just as all higher organisms relate to all other animate and inanimate objects on Earth, this new resource explores all aspects of microbiology from mycology (the study of fungi) to the simplest biological entities of all, viruses, to prions, which are even more streamlined than viruses and just as dangerous.
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Books (ebooks & print), scholarly journal articles, general readership articles
Begin your search here: WorldCat Discovery-a mega search tool!
Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond
Biological Sciences - all databases This link opens in a new window
This database includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
The Natural Science Collection provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications about the natural sciences.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
BioOne - Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance and Allen Press. It includes a unique aggregation of nearly 100 high-impact bioscience research journals from around 70 publishers.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink offers over 2,250 peer reviewed eJournals, more than 45,000 eBooks and 24,000 Protocols spanning many disciplines but focusing on Science, Technology, & Medicine. More than 7,000 eBooks, eReferences and eBook Series titles are scheduled to be added each year.
PL0S (Public Library of Science)
PLOS publishes a suite of iOpen Access journals across all areas of science and medicine.
BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine,
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other reliable sources. In addition, the database includes a vast collection of images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and the Nature Picture Library.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Readers' Guide Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
This full-text database provides searchable full text for a broad selection of the most popular periodicals.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher includes reports that offers in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
A variety of reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics and multimedia to help present different sides of controversial topics. Highly recommended for argumentative/persuasive research topics.
Assoc. Dean for Instruction & User Services