Research Guides (LibGuides): Biology: General Resources

Search Tips

1. For broad understanding: use the internet and encyclopedias!

2. For academic-focused articles, use the Library Catalog. Narrow your search by selecting "Article" on the left side.

3. Use the Biology databases (see below) to run more specific searches.

4. To find a specific journal, use the Journals A-Z tool. Use the "View Full Text" option.

Article Databases

Biological Sciences - all databases This link opens in a new window
This database includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world
Biomedical Reference Collection Basic This link opens in a new window
Designed for doctors, research scientist, students and clinical specialists, this database provides full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
This database is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance and Allen Press. It includes a unique aggregation of nearly 100 high-impact bioscience research journals from around 70 publishers.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
The Natural Science Collection provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications about the natural sciences.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
The latest peer-reviewed research papers from Elsevier
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other reliable sources. In addition, the database includes a vast collection of images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and the Nature Picture Library.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink offers over 2,250 peer reviewed eJournals, more than 45,000 eBooks and 24,000 Protocols spanning many disciplines but focusing on Science, Technology, & Medicine. More than 7,000 eBooks, eReferences and eBook Series titles are scheduled to be added each year.

American Chemical Society (ACS) This link opens in a new window
Search all journal titles available via the American Chemical Society simultaneously. They can also be searched individually or in groups.
Biological Sciences - all databases This link opens in a new window
This database includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
This database is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance and Allen Press. It includes a unique aggregation of nearly 100 high-impact bioscience research journals from around 70 publishers.

BRENDA
Comprehensive Enzyme Information System

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Online access to Chemical Abstracts. Includes CAS Analytical Methods.

NOTE: First-time users must create an account and register at this link: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/butler.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscifinder.cas.org%2Fregistration%2Findex.html%3FcorpKey%3DCC3C2355-86F3-5055-2D0A-3431A6629E8D
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher includes reports that offers in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
A variety of reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics and multimedia to help present different sides of controversial topics. Highly recommended for argumentative/persuasive research topics.

PLOS (Public LIbrary of Science)
PLOS publishes a suite of iOpen Access journals across all areas of science and medicine.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Bioethics by Stephen G. Post
Call Number: SCI REF QH332 .E52 2004 v. 1-5
ISBN: 9780028657745
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
"These volumes present informative articles on the moral and ethical dimensions of modern medicine, science, and technology."
Encyclopedia of Genetics by Bryan D. Ness (Editor); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Coordinator); Tracy Irons-Georges (Editorial Coordinator) This two-volume set provides a thorough coverage of the basics of genetics from historical, scientific and social issues perspectives. This revised edition adds more than 60 new overview essays and 26 new sidebars to the original entries, reflecting the rapid developments in this branch of science.
Publication Date: 2004-02-01
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by Anne Maczulak
ISBN: 9780816073641
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Gale Encyclopedia of Science Part of the subscriptoin database Gale Science Reference Center.
Publication Date: 2014

Biology

Science & Education Librarian

Search Tips

Article Databases

Encyclopedias

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS