Research Guides (LibGuides): GHS 211: Modern Middle East and North Africa: Research Tools and Databases

Online Resources

Oxford Bibliographies: Islamic Studies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies in Islamic Studies provides researchers guidance in finding reliable scholarly information
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context covers a wide variety of subject areas, including sociology, current events, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, human rights, English composition and many more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes international and interdisciplinary journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher includes reports that offers in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find cultural, economic, and travel information for over 170 countries. Includes statistics, maps, and photos.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, World History in Context is a collection of reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronological research materials for the study of world history.

CIA World Factbook
Online reference to various countries around the world.
MERIP | Middle East Research and Information Project
Critical coverage of the Middle East since 1971.

Mideast Wire This link opens in a new window
A daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.

21st Century Political Science: A Reference Handbook
In Credo Reference
Middle East
From Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Fundamental Themes. Found in Credo Reference
more...less...
Nationalism in the Middle East, defined for the purposes of the following article as the area covering Iran, Turkey, the Gulf states, Iraq, Israel, Syria, Jordan, Lebanon, and Egypt, concerns the crystallization of a modern collective identity focusing on language, culture, and religion with a special relationship to a defined territory. Its various strands, such as Arab, Kurdish, and Turkish nationalism, Zionism, and Palestinian nationalism, had a crucial effect on other important social processes in the area such as modernization, the crystallization of the territorial state, and the impact and role of religion, and was in turn affected by them.
OECD iLibrary
Examines national health systems from 1960 forward for OECD member countries in a general, demographic, economic, and social context.
Institute for Women's Studies in the Arab World

BrowZine's Near and Middle East Studies
Journals relating to the Near and Middle East Studies.

Pars Times ME Resource Guide
Extensive and well organized collection of links about the Middle East. Particularly rich is its Middle East media section. Also a strong section for governmental reports of interest to political scientists and others in the social sciences.
Middle East Virtual Library--Menalib
An information portal for Middle East, North African, and Islamic Studies. It provides access to electronic fulltext materials or electronic bibliographical records of printed materials and manuscripts.
Islamic Heritage Project
Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from Harvard’s renowned library and museum collections. These rare—and frequently unique—materials are now freely available to Internet users worldwide.
Women in the Middle East
A comprehensive guide to resources from Yale U. Library

Women's Organizations

Egyptian Center for Women's Rights
Iranian and Kurdish Women's Rights Org
Muslim Women Lawyers for Human Rights
offers a discussion list and a mentoring program for lawyers as well as news and a list of publications by members.
Steal This Hijab
Women in Black
Women Living Under Muslim Law

E-Books

A Concise Encyclopedia of Islam by Gordon Newby
ISBN: 9781780744773
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
This ebook is talking about how fast the religion of Islam is growing at a rapid pace, and how it has came to be such an emerging religion around the world. It also talks about how the Koran and its origins to the role of Islam plays a role in the United states.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by Richard C. Martin
Call Number: 2003009964
ISBN: 9780028656038
Publication Date: 2003-12-02
This encyclopedia includes articles on business topics such as capitalism, Islamic economics, Islamic ethics, and Islamic law. The focus of this encyclopedia is to provide a resource containing information regarding the Islamic world from its beginnings through modern day which is accessible to the general reader. The author, Richard C. Martin, is Professor Emeritus of the Department of Religion at Emory University, and has published works regarding Islamic studies, comparative religions, and religion and conflict.
The Middle East, 12th Edition by Ellen Lust
Call Number: DS63.1 .M484 2011
ISBN: 9781604265484
Publication Date: 2010-08-04
The Pre-Islamic Middle East by Martin Sicker
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: DS62.2 -- .S54 2000eb
ISBN: 9780313000836
Publication Date: 2000
This book looks at the geographical and topographical factors that have conditioned the pattern of Islamic history, from a geopolitical perspective, in the context of the Middle East. Taking the reader through antiquity up to the Arab conquest, this book argues that there are constant environmental factors that have conditioned (not determined) the course of Middle Eastern political history up to the present. This book also looks at the impacts of imposing religion on indigenous people and how such things lead to persecution and rebellion.

Arabic Collections Online
Arabic Collections Online (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content. Funded by New York University Abu Dhabi, this mass digitization project aims to expose up to 15,000 volumes from NYU and partner institutions over a period of five years
UPENN database of ME online books
Browse by various LC topics the works on the region consisting of Asia west of Pakistan, northeastern Africa, and occasionally Greece and Pakistan. Works treating collectively the Arabic-speaking countries of Asia and Africa, or of Asia only, are entered under Arab countries.

GHS 211: Modern Middle East and North Africa: Research Tools and Databases

Resources

Online Resources

Women's Organizations

E-Books

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS