LibGuides: Curriculum Resources: K-12 Student Research

Student Research Tools

INSPIRE databases, funded by Indiana taxpayers and available to all Indiana residents, include many resources useful for your students' research. See this page for more information.

Another option is TeachingBooks.net with information and multimedia resources relating to children's and young adult literature.

In addition to the INSPIRE Databases, some schools and local public libraries may have access to additional databases, such as the following (which you can try out while here at Butler):

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
A variety of reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics and multimedia to help present different sides of controversial topics. Highly recommended for argumentative/persuasive research topics.

CIA World Factbook
Geographic, demographic, economic, political, and historical information on every country in the world.
Encyclopedia of Life
A digital compilation of information on the life-forms on Earth.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
This site can be browsed or searched for digital collections from the Library of Congress
Library of Congress Digital Collections Search
This tool can be used to search the Library of Congress site which contains more than 2 million digital objects including letters, photographs, audio recordings, sheet music, and more
Indiana Memory
Consists of primary sources, which pertain to the state of Indiana and its history. A primary source may include items like diaries, photographs, newspapers, maps, etc.
Digital Public Library of America
A portal to digital collections from the Library of Congress, HathiTrust, the Internet Archive, universities, public libraries, and other public-spirited organizations. Materials include books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage.
Europeana
This digital collection contains millions of items in a variety of formats (text, images, audio and video) from European cultural collections.
World Digital Library
This collection contains significant historical items from around the world including hundreds of documents, maps, images, as well as some audio and video recordings.
Watercolour World
A collection of documentary watercolors painted before 1900 recording life as witnessed by the painters.

For More Help:

Please feel free to ask me if you have questions about using these resources or finding others for your students' research.

Once you start teaching, you will find that your school's library media specialist will be happy to work with you and your students on research projects

Curriculum Resources: K-12 Student Research

Student Research Tools

For More Help:

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS