Research Guides (LibGuides): MS 377 Health Care and Technology (Miller): Finding Articles

Finding the Article

One of the easiest ways to find scholarly journal articles is to search the databases available from the Butler University Libraries website. If you know the name of the database, use the Databases A-Z link to access it.

You can also start your search by browsing a collection of Business or Health Sciences databases. Another options for findings scholarly journal articles is Google Scholar (linked below).

TIP: Start with the databases called "Health Business" and "PubMed."

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.

Butler Libraries "Databases A-Z"
An alphabetical listing of all Butler databases.
Business Databases
Health Sciences Research Guide
Explore interdisciplinary topics and databases in business and health sciences

If you are trying to find an article from a specific journal, follow these steps on the Library website to determine if the Library has access to the journal and where to find it.

Start at the Library website (linked below), and open "Find Journals (BrowZine)."
In the search box, enter the title of the journal you need.
Select the title of the journal and then look in the right column to identify the databases that provide full-text access to articles in that journal. *Note the dates of availability; some databases provide journal articles for a limited year range.
Find the database you want to use and then click on the journal name to go directly to issues of that journal as available in that database.

Library Website

Search Tips in Google Scholar

Advanced search: Use the menu in the top left corner to select the "Advanced search" option. Add additional keywords and limiters for more relevant search results.

Browse links for associated content: Explore the "Cited by..." and "Related articles" links to discover publications related to your research topic. Many of these articles will potentially be available for access and reference via Google Scholar.

"Find it at Butler Univ!": Articles that include this link in the right margin are included in journals that are accessible via Butler Libraries database subscriptions. Reviewing these articles will also lead to finding other articles with related information.

How do I search PubMed?

Identify the key concepts for your search.
Enter the terms (or key concepts) in the search box.
Press the Enter key or click Search.

For many searches, it is not necessary to use special tags or syntax. PubMed uses multiple tools to help you find relevant results:

Best Match sort order uses a state-of-the-art machine learning algorithm to place the most relevant citations at the top of your results.
An autocomplete feature displays suggestions as you type your search terms. This feature is based on PubMed query log analysis described in “ Finding Query Suggestions for PubMed .”
A spell checking feature suggests alternative spellings for search terms that may include misspellings.
A citation sensor displays suggested results for searches that include terms characteristic of citation searching, e.g., author names, journal titles, publication dates, and article titles.

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/help/#how-do-i-search-pubmed

MS 377 Health Care and Technology (Miller)

Finding the Article

How do I search PubMed?

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS