Research Guides (LibGuides): FYS: Global Perspectives on Health (Searcy): Health Care Access

Introduction

The portion of this guide is dedicated to students researching women's health care and access to health care in any community. Below are recommendations for where to find statistics, law, and policy information that will help you describe and document the access to health care your chosen community.

Data and Statistics

HealthData.gov - an open clearinghouse of government-compiled data, "dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better outcomes for all."
U.S. Centers for Disease Control - Mortality Tables - look up demographic (place, age, race, sex) information on deaths in the United States as well as tables on cause of death and infant mortality (maternal mortality may be found in the Leading Causes of Death tables)
U.S. Centers for Disease Control - State Cancer Profiles - Statistics on cancer incidence, mortality, and demographics by state, including limited county reporting
U.S. Census Bureau - Poverty Data - An assortment of data from the Decennial Census as well as the American Community Survey, with an Social and Economic Supplement updated in 2014 with new data on income and poverty
U.S. Centers for Disease Control - Access to Health Care - overview numbers plus data sources and links to full tables
U.S. Centers for Disease Control - Health Insurance Coverage - overview numbers plus data sources and links to full tables
FBI Uniform Crime Reporting - Crime in the US 2014 - the most recent national data on violent and property crime
FBI Uniform Crime Reporting - Crime in the US 2014 - State Totals - access to tables for crime and arrest data by state
Statista - Health Insurance in the U.S. (overview report) - statistics and facts assembled from a variety of sources
WHO- The World Health Organization- statistics and data from a variety of countries
OECD iLibrary- Examines national health systems from 1960 forward for OECD member countries in a general, demographic, economic, and social context.
FastStats- Statistics from U.S. Dept of Health & Human Services data on a wide range of topics, including environment health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.

Databases for Finding Articles, Drug/Disease Information, and More

To access a full list of Pharmacy/PA/Health Sciences databases, click HERE.

To see a comprehensive A-Z list of all Butler databases, click HERE.

Databases for Background Information on Diseases and Their Treatment

5 Minute Clinical Consult
5 Minute ClinicalConsult is a fully integrated online resource to help guide primary care professionals and clinical students in daily decision support, used to obtain the most likely diagnosis, treatment, and management for thousands of diseases.
UpToDate Online
NOTE: After signing in via this link, users may create a personal login to access content anywhere, but they must re-verify the personal account every 90 days. UpToDate is a comprehensive, evidence-based clinical information on the topics of Internal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Family Medicine, and Pediatrics.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey is a database designed for medical professionals. It provides full-text articles from Elsevier’s collection, as well as access to images, videos, and books.
AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine is a resource that features medical content, plus multimedia, self-assessment, algorithms, case studies, and more.

Databases for Health Science Topics

Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides full text from almost 520 scholarly journals covering a variety of medical topics.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)

Business Source Elite

Business Source Elite encompasses a selection of business disciplines, offering access to 492 active full-text journals, along with abstracted and indexed journals..
EconLit with Full Text
Produced by the American Economic Association, this is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.

Consumer Health Complete
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, Consumer Health Complete is designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

MedlinePlus
The National Institutes of Health's Web site for information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues.
Healthfinder.gov
Healthfinder.gov has resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1,400 government and non-profit organizations to bring you reliable health information.

Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
WorldCat contains more than 64 million bibliographic records and 1 billion holdings contributed by more than 9,000 libraries around the world. It is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

PsycINFO
PsycInfo, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

Includes access to APA PsycInfo research services, an alternative interface for searching and browsing the PsycInfo database. To access PsycInfo research services, visit the following url and enter your Butler email address: https://psycinfo.apa.org
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students.
SocINDEX with Full Text

A comprehensive and high quality sociology research database, including full text coverage of more than 500 sociology journals dating back to 1908, and abstracts for more than 800 journals dating back to 1895. This database also includes ebooks, conference papers, and “Author Profiles” on prominent authors within the database.

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher includes reports that offers in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Indianapolis Star/News (1991 - present)
Full text of newspaper articles indexed from the Indianapolis Star, Indianapolis News, and Sunday Star.
Newspaper Source

This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition (ProQuest)
This is the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal, available from 1984 to the present.

FYS: Global Perspectives on Health (Searcy)

Navigating Public Statistics

Laws and Policy

Introduction

Data and Statistics

Databases for Finding Articles, Drug/Disease Information, and More

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS