Research Guides (LibGuides): Quick Reference: Encyclopedias

Online Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Library of many different types of encyclopedias. Search by keyword or by subject. Useful for finding authoritative subject encyclopedias which provide very in-depth and detailed information about a certain topic.
Oxford Reference Online (ORO) This link opens in a new window
A large range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Search by keywords or by subject. Useful for finding authoritative subject reference books which provide very in-depth and detailed information about a certain topic.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
The largest and most authoritative encyclopedia in the world. Access paid for by your Butler Libraries. Search using keywords or by category. Provides tertiary source articles with a detailed overview of the topic. Useful for finding detailed information which can be cited in a research paper, but is not a primary or secondary source.

Wikipedia
Free access to millions of articles which are written and edited by the public. Search using keywords. Provides tertiary source articles. Less detailed and authoritative than Britannica Online and the other databased provided , but may be more contemporary in some cases. Useful for learning the basics of a topic and finding more reliable sources about the topic which can provide deeper information, but not for citing in a research paper.

Created by Information Commons student Kimbra Shaner.

Email Me

Contact:

Call: 317-940-9227

Or stop by: we are located at the Information Commons desk on the first floor of Irwin or in the Science Library.