Research Guides (LibGuides): Theatre: Shakespeare Resources

Resources for Shakespeare

A Companion to Shakespeare and Performance by Barbara Hodgdon; William B Worthen
Call Number: PR3091 .C64 2005
ISBN: 1405111046
Publication Date: 2005-03-12
The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare by Michael Dobson; Stanley Wells
ISBN: 0198117353
Publication Date: 2001-11-29
Link leads to ebook version available with Butler University credentials.
The Oxford Handbook of Shakespeare by Arthur F Kinney
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0191653195
Publication Date: 2012
This publication contains forty specially written articles providing fresh and imaginative readings of Shakespeare's plays and poems, reflects on the current state of Shakespeare studies, and suggests the likely future directions it will take.
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare Studies by Stanley Wells
Call Number: PR2976 .C29 1986
ISBN: 0521267374
Publication Date: 1986-12-04
The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare by Joseph Rosenblum
Call Number: REF PR2976 .G739 2005 v. 1-4
ISBN: 0313327793
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
Shakespeare's Language: A Glossary of Unfamiliar Words in His Plays and Poems by Eugene F. Shewmaker
Call Number: PR2892 .S447 2008
ISBN: 081607125X
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Shakespeare's Theatre: A Dictionary of His Stage Context by Hugh M. Richmond
ISBN: 9781849723503
Publication Date: 2008-10-29
Link leads to ebook version available with Butler University credentials.
Shakespeare's Watch: A Guide to Time and Location in the Plays by uzz Podewell; Ricola Willie
Call Number: REF PR3069.T5 P63 2009 v. 1-2
ISBN: 9780810863910
Publication Date: 2009-07-16
Who's Who and What's What in Shakespeare by Evangeline M. O'Connor
Call Number: PR2892 .O44 1978
ISBN: 0517259230
Publication Date: 1978
William Shakespeare: A Documentary Volume by Catherine Loomis
Call Number: PN451 .D5 v.263
ISBN: 0787660078
Publication Date: 2002-08-12
Women in Shakespeare: A Dictionary by Alison Findlay
Call Number: REF PR2991 .F56 2010
ISBN: 0826458890
Publication Date: 2010-05-27

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Drama Criticism (Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online contains the complete full text of Contemporary Literary Criticism and Drama Criticism.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
International Bibliography of Theater and Dance Full Text This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and contains more than 450 full-text titles, including more than 140 full-text journals, and more than 300 full-text books & monographs.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online is designed to provide easy access - new users may simply enter an author or title and find a wealth of content, while experienced researchers may broaden or narrow their results via cross-searches on names of critics, journal titles, topics and more.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.

Folgers Shakespeare Library
The Folger Shakespeare Library, located on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC. is home to the world’s largest and finest collection of Shakespeare materials and to major collections of other rare Renaissance books, manuscripts, and works of art.
Folger: Shakespeare's Works
More than just e-versions of the plays, this digital-text component of the Folger Editions provides a vast array of materials, clearly presented and linked together. Simple navigation tools and search are accompanied by synopses of the plays, character descriptions, and the Folger Digital Image Collection.
Global Shakespeares: Video and Performance Archive
The Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata provided by scholars and educators in the field ... Global Shakespeares provides global, regional, and national portals to Shakespeare productions within a federated structure. As the archive grows, you will be able to view and study productions either in an environment focused on one area—Shakespeare Performance in Asia is the first of these—or in the context of world-wide Shakespeare production. The archive is a work in progress and currently includes a catalogue of more than 397 productions, 75 video clips, and online videos of over 30 full productions.
Life in Elizabethan England. A compendium of Common Knowledge, 1558-1603.
MIT Shakespeare
The Web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare (from 1993). Useful as a simple full-text resource. The HTML versions of the plays provided here are placed in the public domain.
Shakespeare Resource Center
"The original concept was an assignment that I had to do for a class in technical writing at DePaul University, where I pursued my Masters degree. I wanted to create a site that more or less centralized the most useful links on Shakespeare around the World Wide Web. It took a lot of work, and I couldn't let it go, so I've kept on revising it ever since (when I've found the time)." -- from J. M. Pressley, the site editor
Shakespeare Theatre Links
A subpage of the Shakespeare Resource center, it provides links to theatrical companies and festivals specializing in Shakespearean productions.
SHAKSPER: The Global Electronic Shakespeare Conference
For over 30 years, SHAKSPER has provided an edited and moderated, international, e-mail distribution list for discussion among Shakespearean scholars, researchers, instructors, students, and anyone sharing their academic interests and concerns. Of particular note are the "Scholarly Resources" page for its links to many useful related sites!
Voice of the Shuttle: William Shakespeare
The Voice of the Shuttle began in late 1994 as an introduction to the Web for humanists at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Its mission has been to provide a structured and briefly annotated guide to online resources that at once respects the established humanities disciplines in their professional organization and points toward the transformation of those disciplines as they interact with the sciences and social sciences and with new digital media.

The Essential Shakespeare: An Annotated Bibliography of Major Modern Studies by Larry S. Champion
Call Number: PR2894 .C42 1993
ISBN: 081617332X
Publication Date: 1993-05-01
Shakespearean Criticism by Sandra L. Williamson
Call Number: available as eJournal
ISBN: 081037966X
Publication Date: 1992-04-07
Presents full-text literary criticism on the plays and poetry of Shakespeare. Critical essays are selected from leading sources, including journals, magazines, books, reviews, diaries, newspapers, pamphlets, and scholarly papers. Includes commentary by Shakespeare's contemporaries as well as a full range of views from later centuries, with an emphasis on contemporary analysis. Includes aesthetic criticism, textual criticism, and criticism of Shakespeare in performance.
Shakespearean Scholarship: A Guide for Actors and Students by Leslie O'Dell
ISBN: 9780313311468
Publication Date: 2001-10-30
Link leads to ebook version available with Butler University credentials.

Shakespearean Criticism : Excerpts from the Criticism of William Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry, from the First Published Appraisals to Current Evaluations
Coverage: Vols. 1-17
Available Online as eJournal

Shakespeare: An Anthology of Criticism and Theory, 1945-2000 by Russ McDonald
Call Number: PR2970 .S495 2004
ISBN: 063123487X
Publication Date: 2004-01-30

The Applause First Folio of Shakespeare in Modern Type by William Shakespeare; Neil Freeman; Paul Sugarman
Call Number: REF PR2751 .A15 2001
ISBN: 1557833338
Publication Date: 2000-10-01
The Complete Works by William Shakespeare; Stephen Orgel; A R Braunmuller
Call Number: PR2754 .O73 2002
ISBN: 0141000589
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
The Columbia Dictionary of Shakespeare Quotations by William Shakespeare; Mary Foakes; R A Foakes
Call Number: PR2892 .F48 1998
ISBN: 0231104340
Publication Date: 1998-05-12
Once More unto the Speech, Dear Friends: Monologues from Shakespeare's First Folio with Modern Text Versions for Comparison by William Shakespeare; Neil Freeman
Call Number: REF PR2768 .F74 2006 v. 1-3
ISBN: 1557836566
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Speak the Speech! Shakespeare's Monologues Illuminated by Rhona Silverbush; Sami Plotkin
Call Number: PR3091 .S45 2002
ISBN: 0571211224
Publication Date: 2002-09-18

Pronouncing Shakespeare's Words: A Guide from A to Zounds by Dale F. Coye
Call Number: PR3081 .C87 1998
ISBN: 0313306559
Publication Date: 1998-06-30
Shakespearean Language: A Guide for Actors and Students by Leslie O'Dell
ISBN: 0313311455
Publication Date: 2001-10-30
Link leads to ebook version available with Butler University credentials.
Shakespeare's Pronunciation by Helge Kökeritz
Call Number: PR3081 .K6
ISBN: 0300006381
Publication Date: 1953-01-01

FILMS

The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare on Film by Russell Jackson
Call Number: PR3093 .C36 2007
ISBN: 9780521866002
Publication Date: 2007-03-29
Studying Shakespeare on Film by Maurice Hindle
Call Number: PR3093 .H56 2007
ISBN: 1403906734
Publication Date: 2007-01-15

MINORITIES

Shakespeare and Minorities: An Annotated Bibliography, 1970-2000 by Parvin Kujoory; Bruce T. Sajdak
Call Number: REF PR2992 .K85 2001
ISBN: 0810839008
Publication Date: 2000-12-20
Shakespeare and Race by Catherine M S Alexander; Stanley Wells
Call Number: PR3069.R33 S5 2000
ISBN: 0521770467
Publication Date: 2000-12-21

MUSIC

Music in Shakespeare: A Dictionary by Christopher R. Wilson; Michela Calore
Call Number: 2nd ed -- eBook ; 1st ed in General Stacks: PR3034 .W55 2005
ISBN: 1847140645
Publication Date: 2005 (2nd ed. 2014)
Link leads to ebook version available with Butler University credentials.
Shakespeare and Popular Music by Adam Hansen
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781441134257
Publication Date: 2010
Link leads to ebook version available with Butler University credentials.

THE TIME OF SHAKESPEARE

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance by Paul F. Grendler
Call Number: REF CB361 .E52 1999 v. 1-6
ISBN: 0684805146
Publication Date: 1999-12-17

Library of Congress Classes & Subject Headings

Don't forget to check the Butler Library Online Catalog to learn what print resources are available on campus!
If you have a citation for a magazine or journal article, be sure to check "Journals A-Z" to learn where and how you can acquire the article!
Use the "find it" button on the citations you find in WorldCat and other electronic databases to link to a fulltext of the resource or to request it through interlibrary loan!

ENGLISH LITERATURE

PR 2199-3195 - English renaissance (1500-1640)

PR 3291-3785 - 17th and 18th centuries (1640-1770)

SHAKESPEARE, WILLIAM

PR 2750 -Original quartos and facsimiles and reprints

PR 2750.A01-.A73 - Original editions

PR 2750.B01-.B73 - Facsimiles and reprints

PR 2751 - Collected works

PR 2752-2754 - Modern editions

PR 2761 - Comedies

PR 2762 - Histories

PR 2763 - Tragedies

PR 2892 - Concordances, dictionaries, indexes, quotations

SHAKESPEARE - CRITICISM AND INTERPRETATION - TREATMENT AND KNOWLEDGE OF SPECIAL SUBJECTS

PR 3001 - Philosophy

PR 3011-3012 - Religion

PR 3017 - Politics

PR 3034 - The arts: music, painting, theater, etc.

PR 3069.S45 - Sex role

Aging in literature
Androgyny (Psychology) in literature
Dramatists, English - Early modern, 1500-1700 - Biography - History and criticism
Elizabeth I, Queen of England, 1533-1603 - Relations with authors
England - Civilization - 16th century
England - Intellectual life - 16th century
English drama - 17th century - History and criticism
English drama - Early modern and Elizabethan, 1500-1600 - History and criticism
English drama - Italian influences
Families - England - History - 16th century
Feminism in literature
Great Britain - History - Elizabeth, 1558-1603
Group identity in literature
Literature and society - England - History - 16th century
National characteristics in literature
Politics and literature - Great Britain - History - 16th century
Politics and literature - Great Britain - History - 17th century
Politics in literature
Religion and literature - England - History - 16th century
Sex role in the theater
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 - Characters - Women - Dictionaries
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 - Criticism and interpretation
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 - Film adaptations
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 - Knowledge - Economics
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 - Knowledge - Italy
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 - Macbeth
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 - Philosophy
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 - Political and social views
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 - Relations with literary patrons
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 - Religion
Sovereignty in literature
Theater and society - England - History - 16th century
Theater - England - History - 16th century
Transvestism in literature
Witchcraft - England - History - 16th century
Women - England - History - Renaissance, 1450-1600
Women in literature

WorldCat Search Bar

Search Butler Libraries

Theatre

Shakespeare

Resources for Shakespeare

Library of Congress Classes & Subject Headings

WorldCat Search Bar

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS