Theatre

A place to find acting parts and it also offers a database of monologues and scenes. Visitors can search for different types of monologues, by clicking on "Monologues and Scenes" on the menu at the top of the page. The monologues can be browsed by whether the role is for a man or woman, or whether it's comic, dramatic, or serio-comic. In order to "Upload" the "Scene" or "Monologue", visitors must sign in (it's free). They can upload summaries, comments, and videos for any scene or monologues.

The American Memory Project at the Library of Congress has struck gold again with this most excellent digital collection. The Center for Applied Linguistics (CAL) Collection features approximately 118 hours of recordings documenting North American English dialects. These recordings were made from
1941 to 1984, and they reveal "distinctions in speech related to gender, race, social class, education, age, literacy, ethnic background, and occupational group."

"The website subdivides into three primary areas: Watch and Listen, Education Programs, and Grants and Awards. The first area is the richest for the public and practitioners, with dozens of MP4 podcasts dating back to 1980 located in Working in the Theatre. Podcasts may be viewed on-site or downloaded. Podcast searching may be narrowed by year and category (e.g., Acting, Directors) simultaneously, although not by individual ... The brief Education Programs area, offering internship possibilities, will primarily interest theater students. The Grants section includes biographies of Hewes Design Award winners (1965-2010); the Tony Awards section leads to the external awards website. American Theatre Wing is easy to navigate, though limited in search functionality; the sound/video quality of its podcasts is very good. " from A. J. Adam, Blinn College for CHOICE.

Includes 3 sections: images (providing examples of vase paintings and sculpture that relate to ancient Greek plays or production practices), an interactive map (showing the locations of Greek theaters throughout the area, many of which include a picture of the site and directions to the area), and a papyrus fragment (featuring a frament from Sophocles' satyr paly, THE TRACKERS and an audio clip in ancient Greek).

"Collects East London theater ephemera provided by the Victoria and Albert Theatre Collections, East London theaters, Univ. of East London archives, and other individual collections ... Material is primarily from 1830 to 1880 and includes scanned copied os original playbills, programs, press clippings, and photographs from those theaters ..." from A.J. Adam for CHOICE. See also https://www.elta-project.org/

The Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata provided by scholars and educators in the field ... Global Shakespeares provides global, regional, and national portals to Shakespeare productions within a federated structure. As the archive grows, you will be able to view and study productions either in an environment focused on one area—Shakespeare Performance in Asia is the first of these—or in the context of world-wide Shakespeare production. The archive is a work in progress and currently includes a catalogue of more than 397 productions, 75 video clips, and online videos of over 30 full productions.

GloPAD (Global Performing Arts Database) records include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus informatio

Enjoy the sights and sounds of this traditional Japanese art form and read up on the history of a tradition that dates back to the 17th Century.

From Dr. McCoy: "This edition of my Brief Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies is based on what I have learned as a seeker of information on the internet, which is mainly how to quickly find information and resources in a medium where their sheer quantity is overwhelming. As a researcher in search of useful information, I find myself turning again and again to the same information sources, engaging in the same techniques, and using the tools at my disposal in similar ways.

This site offers the latest news from Broadway and beyond, PLAYBILL archives, performance listings, seating charts, and many other special features.

"The collection appears to feature all Broadway shows associated with Playbill, starting with the 1930-31 season, with daily updating. Clickable tabs divide the collection into 6 major areas: People, Shows, Theatres, Awards, Seasons, and Grosses.

"Offering 'cabinet cards, postcards and photographs of American and British actors and actresses,' this user-friendly collection 'traces the history of stagecraft through Shakespeare prints, 18th, 19th, and 20th century European and American handbills, posters, heralds, souvenir photographs and prints." R. Sugarman

Provides links to theatrical companies and festivals specializing in Shakespearean productions.

Assembed by Steven H. Weinberger, has the most examples from the U.S., Europe, West Africa, India, East Asia and the Middle East, though the collection is growing and users can submit samples.

Boar's Head Dramatic Society Collection, Character Studies Theatre Interviews Archives Collection.

The aim of this site is to eventually be the best resource for practical information and advice about technical theatre techniques for theatre folk at any level.

Provides a variety of theatre resources, including an online script archive, changing feature topics, articles about theater around the world, and a daily "Today in Theatre History" feature.

The official Website of the American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards.