LibGuides: TI 234: Reel America (Deno): Deno TI 234 Reel America

Chicago/Turabian Style

Purdue OWL

Purdue OWL Chicago/Turabian Help

Using Google Docs

How to Share Google Docs

Plagiarism

Reception Paper Resources

Primary Sources

Via your assignment: Learning to locate primary sources and to use databases: You will have approximately 5-7 primary sources based on your research. Please be sure to provide proper citations and a URL.

Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968 This link opens in a new window
The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry.

You will be using this database to "locate at least two sources related to your film either directly or indirectly." To make sure your professor can get to these sources you include the URL from the bottom in the Source Citation but you may still want to point to the specific pages/documents that you used.

Flinder's: Motion Picture Producers and Distributors of America Digital Archive, 1922-1939

Register for free and search. Be sure to go into the records and then search, do not use the "Site Search" in the top corner.

Lantern Media History: co-production of the Media History Digital Library and the Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison Dept. of Communication

Find at least two sources from this collection. Use the "Book/Volume Details" to help you cite these sources.

The reception resources below are not necessarily related explicitly to censorship or industry writing but will help you analyze how the film/movie was received/viewed at the time; for example Reader's Guide and the various newspaper databases lead you to magazine and newspaper articles from when the film was released. They are PRIMARY source databases.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Indianapolis Star (1903-2004) This link opens in a new window
Historical backfile for the Indianapolis Star

Variety Movie Reviews
Search for movie reviews from this movie industry news magazine.

Women & Social Movements in the United States (1600-2000) This link opens in a new window
Intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. This resource has a MIXTURE of primary and secondary sources.

CineFiles
CineFiles is an ongoing project of the BAMPFA Film Library and Study Center. The site contains scanned images of reviews, press kits, film festival and repertory theater program notes, and newspaper articles from its collections.

Secondary Sources: (Research about the films)

You will need at least 2 secondary, academic articles for your paper. The following databases can help you:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and a large number of images from the MPTV Image Archive are also included.

Text

Class Text

Screening America by James J. Lorence
Publication Date: 2016-11-03
Accessible, via Butler network credentials, to Butler students, faculty, and staff.

Popular Sites

Popular Sources: use to generate ideas and perspectives for your research.

The Mary Sue
A popular culture site with an inclusive and feminist commitment. A go to site for geek culture and trends. Includes articles/posts on social issues; fashion and art; books, film, and gaming; and emerging technology.
Movie Review and Query Engine
MRQE.com is the Internet's largest index of movie reviews. Find reviews for new and recent movies in theaters, DVD and Blu-ray releases, and film classics.
IMBd: Internet Movie Database
IMBd is the world's most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content. Find ratings and reviews for the newest movie and TV shows.
American Film Institute
The American Film Institute is a well-respected nonprofit organization dedicated to educating and inspiring artists and audiences through initiatives that champion film production and study.

Zotero

Keeping Track of Your Citations

Zotero Download
Follow this link to download the Zotero desktop application and the browser connector
Zotero QuickStart Guide

Contact Sally Neal, Librarian at Butler Libraries, for help in using this tool.

TI 234: Reel America (Deno): Deno TI 234 Reel America