Research Guides (LibGuides): TI 234: Reel America (Deno): Film Studies

WorldCat Discovery

Butler's Library Catalog

Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond

What Words do I Use?

Keywords

If you are interested in books about film, plug in the following Library of Congress Subject Headings in the above WorldCat Discovery search box:

Film Criticism

Film History

Film Adaptations

Film Noir

Film

Motion Picture actors and actresses

Motion Picture audiences

Motion Pictures

Subject Headings List

Films through the Decades

These books provide an overview of film through the decades of the 20th & 21st centuries. Previous decades can be accessed through this link to WorldCAT: Screen Decades series.

American Cinema of the 2000s
ISBN: 9780813553238
Publication Date: 2012-04-15
[Select the Title to Access Online]
American Cinema of The 1990s by [Select the Title to Access Online]
ISBN: 9780813545783
Publication Date: 2008-10-11
[Select title to Access Online]
American Cinema of The 1980s by Stephen Prince (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813543024
Publication Date: 2007-04-25
[Select the Title to Access Online]

Film & Documentary Sources

Streaming Film & Documentary Databases

Kanopy Streaming
A collection of more than 19,000 streaming documentaries and foreign/indie feature films.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
AVON: Academic Video Online is a comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource.
Swank Digital Campus
Contains select feature film streaming media content

Streaming Media Databases - Butler Libraries' Comprehensive List

Research Databases on Film

Film & Television Literature Index Full Text
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and a large number of images from the MPTV Image Archive are also included.
Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry.
Academic Search Complete
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communications and Mass Media Complete combines two previous resources related to communication and mass media (CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index). It provides full text for over 200 journals and contains citation coverage for more.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Literature Resource Center
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.

Websites

Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
An online database of information related to film and TV including lists of actors who appeared in films.
The Internet Movie Script Database (IMSDb)
A large collection of movie scripts - primary source material!
Movie Review Query Engine
One of the largest online databases for movie reviews. Provides a searchable index of published and available movie reviews.
Film Studies Resources: UC Berkeley Library
Includes links and web sites devoted to film history and scholarship; film industry information; film script sites; film festival information; film and video associations.
Reel Classics
A comprehensive site dedicated exclusively to information on classic movies.
MPPDA Digital Archive
Documents from the Motion Picture Producers and Distributors of America from 1922-1939
Lantern Media History
The search and visualization platform for nearly 2 million pages of digitized books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.

Sources for Film Reviews

Film & Television Literature Index Full Text
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and a large number of images from the MPTV Image Archive are also included.
Academic Search Complete
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
New York Times (Historical)
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Literature Resource Center
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.

Variety Magazine Film Reviews
An entertainment trade magazine. They post many of their publication's film reviews online for free. For a more complete listing of Variety reviews, search the online Film & Television Literature Index listed above.
Movie Review Query Engine
Free online index of movie reviews from both offline and online sources.
The New York Times Film Reviews 1913-1970
2nd floor, Irwin Library at PN1995 .N48 1971. This information can also be accessed in the New York Times (Historical) Index listed above.

Primary Source Research

When studying film, primary sources include not only the film itself but analyzing the cultural scene and film artifacts (press releases, media kits) at the time that the film was made. Search the databases below to find magazine, newspaper, and other news/information sources that were published when the film was released.

Readers' Guide Full Text Select
This full-text database provides searchable full text for a broad selection of the most popular periodicals.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature.
Academic Search Complete
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.

Cinefiles: The University of California Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive
Contains scanned images of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the PFA Library's extensive collection covering world cinema, past and present.
The Internet Movie Script Database (IMSDb)
A large collection of movie scripts - primary source material!

Head, Special Collections

Evan Miller

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

Subject Librarian for Political Science, International Studies, and African and Black Studies

Irwin Library, Room 327
Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives

(317) 940-9349