Research Guides (LibGuides): Arts Administration: Home

Hirshorn Gallery

Welcome to the Arts Administration LibGuide. Explore each section for guidance in your arts and arts administration research. From market research databases to nonprofit directories, this guide will prepare you to conduct research in the world of arts admin.

"Ai Wei Wei: According to what? at Hirshorn" by Steve Rhodes is licensed under CC by 2.0

Databases

Nonprofit Directories

GuideStar
Contains detailed information for non-profit organizations, including revenue and expense data, contact information, and annual reports

Go to the Philanthropic Directories list under the Grant Funding tab - within this LibGuide
Provides additional directories of nonprofits, often focused more on charitable giving organizations.

Market Research Statistical Tools

MRI-Simmons
Access limited to 15 users at one time.
SimplyAnalytics
Choose "Sign in as guest" to access without creating an account. Limited to 3 concurrent users.

Statistical Tools - Indiana Specific

Market Research Databases

Magazine/Trade & Scholarly Research Article Databases

Indiana News & Business Sources

Indianapolis Star/News (1991 - present)
Full text of newspaper articles indexed from the Indianapolis Star, Indianapolis News, and Sunday Star.
Indianapolis Star eEdition
This is the digital edition of the Indianapolis Star, archived back one year.

IndyStar
Free online version (limited access)

One Business (ProQuest)
Limit by "Publication" in this index to find articles in the Indianapolis Business Journal.

IBJ - Indianapolis Business Journal
Free online version.

Art & Architecture (Oxford Reference Online)
Oxford Reference provides definitions and in-depth, specialist encyclopedic entries across the broad disciplines of Art and Architecture.
Art and Architecture Archive
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
Artforum Archive
The backfile of Artforum (later Artforum International), the leading magazine for coverage of international contemporary art, from its launch in 1962 to 2020. Spanning six decades of reporting on art in all media, Artforum offers features, reviews, and interviews relating to artists, exhibitions, publications, and other art world events / trends.

Bridheman Art Library Archive
Founded in 1972, the Bridgeman Art Library works with museums, art galleries and artists to make the best art available for reproduction. The result is an outstanding archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world. Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections. Fine art is just one of the sources of images; design, antiques, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics, anthropological artefacts and many others also feature in the collection.

Life Magazine Archive
Complete digital version of Life Magazine from 1936 through 2000

LIFE Photo Archive (Google)
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

Oxford Art Online
Includes Grove Art Online and Oxford Art Reference in one location.
Scholars Resource Art Images
A database of art images including: painting, sculpture, architecture, and decorative arts from various time periods. This resource also includes photos taken by Butler faculty who have traveled to various countries for teaching research in support of Butler's Global and Historical Studies course.
Vogue Archive
A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.

Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection
Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference materials.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
The International Encyclopedia of Dance
With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, this encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
medici.tv
medici.tv is an online streaming platform for classical music, with videos of concerts, ballets, operas, and more.
Oxford Dictionary of Dance
This dictionary covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works, and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.
Visible Body Websuite
Visible Body is a group of online programs covering anatomy and physiology through interactive 3D models, animations, images, and quizzes.
After clicking the access URL, click the "Don't have Account? Sign Up" link to register for a personal user account. After signing up for a personal account, login to Visual Body with credentials you set up during the registration.

Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
Cambridge Companions to Music
Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics. Each volume provides essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and indispensable reference material.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (EBSCO)
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains citations for articles from education literature and journals from 1966 to the present, and links are provided to the full text of the articles when available. By using this EBSCO version, rather than the public ERIC site, you can easily link to the full text of additional articles if the library has access to them.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online provides information about the lives of composers and performers; musical styles, periods, terms, and genres; musical instruments; music printing and publishing; world musics; popular music; and other music-related topics.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) [Formerly IIMP-Full Text]
A music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles from over 430 journals, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Provides article citations and abstracts from 3500 international music journals and other scholarly works including books, dissertations, bibliographies, concert reviews, critical commentaries, videos and films, etc.
Naxos Music Library
This online collection of music includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks. Genres covered include Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. The database also provides access to notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists. [Subscription limits to 15 simultaneous users!]
New York Times (Historical)
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Online Music Anthology (A-R Editions)
A-R Editions' Online Music Anthology is extensive collection of examples designed expressly for music history courses. A-R's Online Music Anthology contains at least twice as many pieces as print anthologies, all newly engraved and available online.
Oxford Dictionary of Music
Oxford Dictionary of Music includes entries on composers, performers, conductors, musical terms and forms, instruments, works, venues, and a host of other topics.
Oxford Reference Online (ORO)
The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.

Oxford RefOnline - The Oxford Companion to Music
This new online-only edition of The Oxford Companion to Music is a partial revision that focuses on living composers and their music, and adds some terms, works, and cross-references to the original text. Bibliographies have also been substantially revised and updated.
Professional Development Collection
Provides citations and abstracts for over 330 journals designed for professional educators. Selected full-text to 250 journals.
Project MUSE
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
An international, highly annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950, all provided by internationally-recognized scholars and editors.
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
WorldCat contains more than 64 million bibliographic records and 1 billion holdings contributed by more than 9,000 libraries around the world. It is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Drama Criticism (Literature Criticism Online)
Literature Criticism Online contains the complete full text of Contemporary Literary Criticism and Drama Criticism.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Humanities International Index
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Literature Resource Center
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.
MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
New York Times (Historical)
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Project MUSE
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
PsycINFO
PsycInfo, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

Includes access to APA PsycInfo research services, an alternative interface for searching and browsing the PsycInfo database. To access PsycInfo research services, visit the following url and enter your Butler email address: https://psycinfo.apa.org
SocINDEX with Full Text

A comprehensive and high quality sociology research database, including full text coverage of more than 500 sociology journals dating back to 1908, and abstracts for more than 800 journals dating back to 1895. This database also includes ebooks, conference papers, and “Author Profiles” on prominent authors within the database.
U.S. History in Context
History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
World History in Context
From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, World History in Context is a collection of reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronological research materials for the study of world history.
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
WorldCat contains more than 64 million bibliographic records and 1 billion holdings contributed by more than 9,000 libraries around the world. It is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

Academic Search Elite

This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
ATLA Religion Database
ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (EBSCO)
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains citations for articles from education literature and journals from 1966 to the present, and links are provided to the full text of the articles when available. By using this EBSCO version, rather than the public ERIC site, you can easily link to the full text of additional articles if the library has access to them.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Humanities International Index
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Newspaper Source

This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Project MUSE
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
PsycINFO
PsycInfo, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

Includes access to APA PsycInfo research services, an alternative interface for searching and browsing the PsycInfo database. To access PsycInfo research services, visit the following url and enter your Butler email address: https://psycinfo.apa.org

Arts Administration

Performing and Visual Arts Librarian

Communications Librarian

Special Thanks!