Research Guides (LibGuides): Arts Administration: Demographics

About This Page

Market research entails analyzing such factors as consumer demographics, behaviors, and lifestyles. The databases, web sites, and print directories on this page collect this data and help you in analyzing the market for a product or service.

Non-profit information

GuideStar This link opens in a new window Contains detailed information for non-profit organizations, including revenue and expense data, contact information, and annual reports

Databases for Demographics

BizMiner This link opens in a new window BizMiner provides financial and market reports for thousands of U.S. industries at the state, metro, county, or zip code level. Use BizMiner to find financial benchmarks, business startup trends, and more.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
MRI-Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window Via questionnaires and interviews, MRI-Simmons provides a study of American consumer behaviors regarding: media usage, products/brands used, engagement with entertainment & leisure activities, and additional questions on behaviors, activities, and values. Survey participants' demographic, lifestyle and psychographic characteristics are also included.

Demographics, Statistical Data, Survey Reports

American Community Survey
American Time Use Survey
Consumer Expenditure Survey
Tapestry Segmentation
ESRI Consumer Data (via ZIP codes)
Experien Simmons Consumer Insights Reports Experian Simmons, a leading marketing research company, publishes periodic, free consumer reports on consumer behavior.
Marketing Charts Charts, analysis, trends of all media (online, broadcast, etc.).
Occupational Outlook Handbook (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
SAVI SAVI is a free resource that provides data about Central Indiana communities; it provides local data about the social, economic, and physical conditions of neighborhoods, townships, and counties and provides tools to analyze and visualize this data.
STATSIndiana Statistics for Indiana (demographic, economic, etc.)
U.S. Census American FactFinder Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census.
more...less...
The American FactFinder site has been discontinued.
It used to be at http://factfinder2.census.gov/main.html
VALS Survey A survey that maps psychological traits to explain and predict consumer behavior. While Butler Libraries does not subscibe to all of the content, periodically, VALS offers complimentary copies of reports, presentations, or white papers to the general public.

Statista This link opens in a new window Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Polls

Gallup Polls Contains recent polling data from the Gallup Poll. Archived polls are available with subscription.
New York Times Polls Contains polling data collected by The New York Times from 2002 to the present.
Pew Research Center Contains surveys and reports produced by Pew Research from 1987 to the present.
PollingReport.com An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion.
The Washington Post Polls Contains polling data from The Washington Post from 1997 to the present.
CBS News Polls - CBS News
Find additional results using the search term "opinion polls" at http://www.cbsnews.com/

Analyze a Market

Use these tools to analyze the circulation, ad rates, and reader demographics for print, internet, and broadcast publications:

Bacon's Directories Available in print, Irwin Library Reference Room, call no.: P88.8. B33. There are directories covering: magazines, newspapers, internet, radio, and tv/cable
Household spending: who spends how much on what Dollar-for-dollar answers to the questions Who buys? What do they buy? How much do they spend?

Nancy Dlott at Babson College maintains a link to a Mediamark Reporter Tutorial which serves as a step-by-step, screen shot, view of how to use and interpret Mediamark Reporter data.
Other helpful tutorials include: Marquette University's Interpreting Consumer Survey Data Sets and Boston University Libraries' How to Create & Read MRI+ Reports.

Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window Reports on countries, consumers, and industries for over 200 countries. Select the "Countries and Consumers" link for information on consumers.
- This link opens in a new window

Passport Tutorials

Claritas: ZIP Code Lookup (PRIZM) Lifestyle segmentation systems define neighborhoods in the U.S. in terms of distinct lifestyle types. Via entering a zipcode, obtain a neighborhood's top five segments, along with some descriptive detail about each segment's lifestyle traits.

Who's Buying Series - Butler Libraries has a number of books from this publisher that analyzes such topics as: "Who's Buying by..." age, gender, product, activity, demographics, etc. Statistical data is compiled mostly from US federal government sources such as: the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Census Bureau, the National Center for Education Statistics, the National Center for Health Statistics, and the Federal Reserve Board.

Who's Buying Entertainment by New Strategist Publications (Editor)
ISBN: 9781935775737
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Who's Buying by Age Based on data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Expenditure Survey, this report provides weekly and quarterly spending data on what households buy, how much they spend, and how often they buy certain items. Also examines average spending before and after the Great Recession for seven separate age groups ranging from under age 25 to age 75 or older.
ISBN: 1461910706
Publication Date: 2011

Arts Administration

AA410 QuickGuide

Click here for the AA410 quick guide:

https://www.tinyurl.com/AA410-Fall