Research Guides (LibGuides): Arts Administration: Databases

Databases

One Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
GuideStar This link opens in a new window Contains detailed information for non-profit organizations, including revenue and expense data, contact information, and annual reports
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) [Formerly IIMP-Full Text] This link opens in a new window
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
MRI-Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window Via questionnaires and interviews, MRI-Simmons provides a study of American consumer behaviors regarding: media usage, products/brands used, engagement with entertainment & leisure activities, and additional questions on behaviors, activities, and values. Survey participants' demographic, lifestyle and psychographic characteristics are also included.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Biography and Genealogy Master Index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.

Bridheman Art Library Archive
Founded in 1972, the Bridgeman Art Library works with museums, art galleries and artists to make the best art available for reproduction. The result is an outstanding archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world. Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections. Fine art is just one of the sources of images; design, antiques, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics, anthropological artefacts and many others also feature in the collection.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Includes Grove Art Online and Oxford Art Reference in one location.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.

LIFE Photo Archive (Google)
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

Oxford Reference Online - Art & Architecture

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Scholars Resource Art Images This link opens in a new window
A database of art images including: painting, sculpture, architecture, and decorative arts from various time periods. This resource also includes photos taken by Butler faculty who have traveled to various countries for teaching research in support of Butler's Global and Historical Studies course.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat contains more than 64 million bibliographic records and 1 billion holdings contributed by more than 9,000 libraries around the world. It is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains citations for articles from education literature and journals from 1966 to the present, and links are provided to the full text of the articles when available. By using this EBSCO version, rather than the public ERIC site, you can easily link to the full text of additional articles if the library has access to them.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
International Bibliography of Theater and Dance Full Text This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and contains more than 450 full-text titles, including more than 140 full-text journals, and more than 300 full-text books & monographs.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for over 330 journals designed for professional educators. Selected full-text to 250 journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Oxford Dictionary of Dance This link opens in a new window
This dictionary covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works, and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat contains more than 64 million bibliographic records and 1 billion holdings contributed by more than 9,000 libraries around the world. It is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Biography and Genealogy Master Index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
Cambridge Companions to Music This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics. Each volume provides essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and indispensable reference material.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains citations for articles from education literature and journals from 1966 to the present, and links are provided to the full text of the articles when available. By using this EBSCO version, rather than the public ERIC site, you can easily link to the full text of additional articles if the library has access to them.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online provides information about the lives of composers and performers; musical styles, periods, terms, and genres; musical instruments; music printing and publishing; world musics; popular music; and other music-related topics.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) [Formerly IIMP-Full Text] This link opens in a new window
A music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles from over 430 journals, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides article citations and abstracts from 3500 international music journals and other scholarly works including books, dissertations, bibliographies, concert reviews, critical commentaries, videos and films, etc.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
This online collection of music includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks. Genres covered include Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. The database also provides access to notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists. [Subscription limits to 15 simultaneous users!]
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Online Music Anthology (A-R Editions) This link opens in a new window
A-R Editions' Online Music Anthology is extensive collection of examples designed expressly for music history courses. A-R's Online Music Anthology contains at least twice as many pieces as print anthologies, all newly engraved and available online.
Oxford Dictionary of Music This link opens in a new window
Oxford Dictionary of Music includes entries on composers, performers, conductors, musical terms and forms, instruments, works, venues, and a host of other topics.
Oxford Reference Online (ORO) This link opens in a new window
The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.

Oxford RefOnline - The Oxford Companion to Music This link opens in a new window
This new online-only edition of The Oxford Companion to Music is a partial revision that focuses on living composers and their music, and adds some terms, works, and cross-references to the original text. Bibliographies have also been substantially revised and updated.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for over 330 journals designed for professional educators. Selected full-text to 250 journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
An international, highly annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950, all provided by internationally-recognized scholars and editors.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat contains more than 64 million bibliographic records and 1 billion holdings contributed by more than 9,000 libraries around the world. It is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Drama Criticism (Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online contains the complete full text of Contemporary Literary Criticism and Drama Criticism.
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and a large number of images from the MPTV Image Archive are also included.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
International Bibliography of Theater and Dance Full Text This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and contains more than 450 full-text titles, including more than 140 full-text journals, and more than 300 full-text books & monographs.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2013) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, World History in Context is a collection of reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronological research materials for the study of world history.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat contains more than 64 million bibliographic records and 1 billion holdings contributed by more than 9,000 libraries around the world. It is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

Arts Administration

IRT

Databases

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS