Research Guides (LibGuides): Music Education: Databases & more!

Online Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including music, education, economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, and statistics.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of hundreds of major business and legal journals, magazines, and U.S. and international newspapers. Company financial, country, tax, medical, federal and state legal information, and accounting information can also be accessed.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.

Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online provides information about the lives of composers and performers; musical styles, periods, terms, and genres; musical instruments; music printing and publishing; world musics; popular music; and other music-related topics.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) [Formerly IIMP-Full Text] This link opens in a new window
A music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles from over 430 journals, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes: Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides article citations and abstracts from 3500 international music journals and other scholarly works including books, dissertations, bibliographies, concert reviews, critical commentaries, videos and films, etc.

ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains citations for articles from education literature and journals from 1966 to the present, and links are provided to the full text of the articles when available. By using this EBSCO version, rather than the public ERIC site, you can easily link to the full text of additional articles if the library has access to them.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for over 330 journals designed for professional educators. Selected full-text to 250 journals.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
medici.tv This link opens in a new window
medici.tv is an online streaming platform for classical music, with videos of concerts, ballets, operas, and more.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window This online collection of music includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks. Genres covered include Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. The database also provides access to notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists. [Subscription limits to 15 simultaneous users!]

Band Music PDF Library
BandMusic PDF Library preserves and shares band music from the Golden Age of the American Town Band. If you are looking for public domain music to play with your school band, community band or other group, you'll find it here–marches, waltzes, rags, theater music, cornet solos, trombone features, and much more.
ChoralWiki / Choral Public Domain Library (CPDL)
CPDL was founded in December 1998, ported to ChoralWiki in August 2005,
and incorporated in May 2010 as a U.S.A. 501(c)(3) tax-exempt charitable organization. Here you will find free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.
IMSLP: International Music Score Library Project (Petrucci)
IMSLP, also known as the International Music Score Library Project or Petrucci Music Library, was started in 2006 with the goal of freely providing music scores. It has expanded to provide scores, recordings, and analyses with an ultimate goal of gathering all public domain scores and music released to the public. On the main page, visitors may search for works by composer (or composer's nationality), genre, time period, or difficulty.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: Irwin Library Information Commons Reference Room BF76.7 .P83 2020
ISBN: 9781433832154
Publication Date: 2019-10-01

Purdue OWL Citation Style Chart This media file contains a PDF with a side-by-side comparison of APA, MLA, and CMS styles. To find a specific example of a citation, use the search function (Command + F for Mac, Control + F for PC) and type in the type of example you need, e.g., "Book," "Three or More Authors," "Journal Article," etc. Chart created by Justin King Rademaekers. Subsequent edits by Priya Sirohi, Brittany Biesiada, Vanessa Iacocca, and others.
Purdue Owl General Guide to APA (7th edition) Resources put together by the Purdue Online Writing Lab to help you learn the American Psychological Association (APA) style of citation and paper format.

WMS Discovery Box

Online Catalogs via the WorldCat Discovery Box - use to find a vast array of materials, including books, scores, recordings, videos owned by the Butler Libraries and libraries around the world.

Use the WorldCat Discovery Box to begin your search. You will find this box in the center of the Butler Libraries' homepage (www.butler.edu/library). This box allows you to search for holdings in the Butler Libraries and beyond and also searches the citations from select online subscription databases.

Once you have the results from your initial search, you can use the limiters on the left-hand side of the screen to narrow your results by database (including peer-reviewed articles!), online availability, format, or other useful criteria.

The Advanced Search mode will allow you to search for terms in specific fields (e.g., author, title, subject, etc.), select specific databases to search, and also limit by library (or library group), publication date range, and format.

For electronic book holdings specifically, go to this link: E-Books

Music Education

Online Resources

WMS Discovery Box

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS