LibGuides: PCA 225: Introduction to Theatrical Costuming: Where to find "stuff!"

Types of Resources

Online Library Catalogs - use to find a vast array of materials, including books, scores, recordings, videos.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Search Butler University Libraries and beyond for articles, books, media, and more.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat contains more than 64 million bibliographic records and 1 billion holdings contributed by more than 9,000 libraries around the world. It is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

Streaming Visual Resources - use these to locate videos that you can view from your home or dorm room. You'll find them under "Theatre" from the "Databases" link on the Butler Libraries Home Page!

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform for a variety of educational media content.
AVON - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
AVON: Academic Video Online is a comprehensive multidisciplinary streaming video resource.

Dramatic literature-related Commercial/Subscription Databases - use to find full-text information or citations to articles about various aspects of theatre (often the citiations are accompanied by brief summaries or "abstracts' that describe what the article is about.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Drama Criticism (Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online contains the complete full text of Contemporary Literary Criticism and Drama Criticism.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
International Bibliography of Theater and Dance Full Text This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and contains more than 450 full-text titles, including more than 140 full-text journals, and more than 300 full-text books & monographs.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.

Theatre-Related Journals
In addition to several print subscriptions, the Butler Libraries provide fulltext access to theatre-related journals through various subscription databases. To learn how and where to locate a particular journal title and issue, just click on the Journals A-Z link on the Butler Library Homepage and type in the title of the journal in the search box provided.

PCA 225: Introduction to Theatrical Costuming: Where to find "stuff!"

Types of Resources

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS