Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The portion of this guide is dedicated to students researching women's health care and access to health care in any community. Below are recommendations for where to find statistics, law, and policy information that will help you describe and document the access to health care your chosen community.
Navigating Public Statistics
Both the U.S. Federal Government as well as individual state governments collect data about their citizens. In some cases, you will want to use national data because it is the only way that issue is tracked, or in order to provide a comparison against other states. Individual state government data may allow more granular local tracking of data, but in some cases that is provided at the federal level as well.
When looking for individual state law on a subject, you'll need to look at the current "Code" of that state, as well as perhaps the state's constitution or other statutes. Cornell University Law School has a site that organizes links to state law and legal information by each state at https://www.law.cornell.edu/states/listing
The U.S. National Library of Medicine also has a guide to Finding and Using Health Statistics with explanations and examples on public health data sources.
Data and Statistics
HealthData.gov - an open clearinghouse of government-compiled data, "dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better outcomes for all."
- U.S. Centers for Disease Control - Mortality Tables - look up demographic (place, age, race, sex) information on deaths in the United States as well as tables on cause of death and infant mortality (maternal mortality may be found in the Leading Causes of Death tables)
- U.S. Centers for Disease Control - State Cancer Profiles - Statistics on cancer incidence, mortality, and demographics by state, including limited county reporting
- U.S. Census Bureau - Poverty Data - An assortment of data from the Decennial Census as well as the American Community Survey, with an Social and Economic Supplement updated in 2014 with new data on income and poverty
- U.S. Centers for Disease Control - Access to Health Care - overview numbers plus data sources and links to full tables
- U.S. Centers for Disease Control - Health Insurance Coverage - overview numbers plus data sources and links to full tables
- FBI Uniform Crime Reporting - Crime in the US 2014 - the most recent national data on violent and property crime
- FBI Uniform Crime Reporting - Crime in the US 2014 - State Totals - access to tables for crime and arrest data by state
- Statista - Health Insurance in the U.S. (overview report) - statistics and facts assembled from a variety of sources
- WHO- The World Health Organization- statistics and data from a variety of countries
- OECD iLibrary- Examines national health systems from 1960 forward for OECD member countries in a general, demographic, economic, and social context.
Health Sciences Resources
To access a full list of Pharmacy/PA/Health Sciences databases, click HERE.
To see a comprehensive A-Z list of all Butler databases, click HERE.
Databases for Background Information on Diseases and Their Treatment
5 Minute Clinical Consult
5 Minute ClinicalConsult is a fully integrated online resource to help guide primary care professionals and clinical students in daily decision support, used to obtain the most likely diagnosis, treatment, and management for thousands of diseases.
AccessMedicine is a resource that features medical content, plus multimedia, self-assessment, algorithms, case studies, and more.
ClinicalKey is a database designed for medical professionals. It provides full-text articles from Elsevier’s collection, as well as access to images, videos, and books.
DynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. DynaMed editors monitor the content of over 500 medical journals on a daily basis. Each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity. The new evidence is then integrated with existing content, and overall conclusions are changed as appropriate, representing a synthesis of the best available evidence.
NOTE: After signing in via this link, users may create a personal login to access content anywhere, but they must re-verify the personal account every 90 days. UpToDate is a comprehensive, evidence-based clinical information on the topics of Internal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Family Medicine, and Pediatrics.
Databases for Articles on Medical/healthcare Topics
Academic Search Complete
This large multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,770 journals, including full text for over 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Health Business FullTEXT
Health Business FullTEXT provides full text coverage for nearly 130 administrative journals covering the business of health care administration.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides full text from almost 520 scholarly journals covering a variety of medical topics.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Full-text database providing access to top-tier biomedical and health journals.
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.
Scholarly Communication Librarian