LibGuides: HST 342: Votes for Women (Deno): Research

Resources

Untidy Origins: A Story of Woman's Rights in Antebellum New York by Lori D. Ginzberg
"On a summer day in 1846--two years before the Seneca Falls convention that launched the movement for woman's rights in the United States--six women in rural upstate New York sat down to write a petition to their state's constitutional convention, demanding "equal, and civil and political rights with men." Refusing to invoke the traditional language of deference, motherhood, or Christianity as they made their claim, the women even declined to defend their position, asserting that "a self evident truth is sufficiently plain without argument." Who were these women, Lori Ginzberg asks, and how might their story change the collective memory of the struggle for woman's rights?

Very few clues remain about the petitioners, but Ginzberg pieces together information from census records, deeds, wills, and newspapers to explore why, at a time when the notion of women as full citizens was declared unthinkable and considered too dangerous to discuss, six ordinary women embraced it as common sense. By weaving their radical local action into the broader narrative of antebellum intellectual life and political identity, Ginzberg brings new light to the story of woman's rights and of some women's sense of themselves as full members of the nation."
For the Freedom of Her Race: Black Women and Electoral Politics in Illinois, 1877-1932 by Lisa G. Materson
"Grounded in the rich history of Chicago politics, For the Freedom of Her Race tells a wide-ranging story about black women's involvement in southern, midwestern, and national politics. Examining the oppressive decades between the end of Reconstruction in 1877 and the election of Franklin Delano Roosevelt in 1932--a period that is often described as the nadir of black life in America--Lisa Materson shows that as African American women migrated beyond the reach of southern white supremacists, they became active voters, canvassers, suffragists, campaigners, and lobbyists, mobilizing to gain a voice in national party politics and elect representatives who would push for the enforcement of the Reconstruction Amendments in the South."

Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony, correspondence, writings, speeches by Ellen Carol DuBois; Gerda Lerner
Call Number: HQ1412 .S72
"The documents delineate the progress of American reform politics from Stanton's speech at Seneca Falls in 1848 into the early twentieth century, when a conflict developed between the two feminists over woman suffrage. In her new introduction, Ellen Carol DuBois considers the current historiographical perspective on Stanton and Anthony."
The Selected Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony, Volume 5: Their Place Inside the Body-Politic, 1887 to 1895 by Ann D. Gordon
"The fifth volume opens just after the U.S. Senate voted against a constitutional amendment for woman suffrage. Defeat in that arena did not end suffragists' focus on Washington: the National Woman Suffrage Association convened the International Council of Women there in 1888; Stanton delivered her famous speech “The Solitude of Self” on Capitol Hill in 1892. But rejection of a federal amendment stirred interest in winning women’s right to vote by the action of states. Southerners pressed for national resources to organize their states. Wyoming gained statehood with woman suffrage in 1890, and for the first time anywhere, voters in Colorado approved votes for women in 1893. Elsewhere hard work was met with failure. Anthony returned to grueling fieldwork in a South Dakota campaign of 1890, and she helped campaigns in Kansas and New York in 1894. Though Stanton preferred to lead by writing from the comfort of home, she too joined the New York campaign. Early in 1895, she began to publish the commentaries that would become her Woman’s Bible."
The Selected Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony, Volume 6: An Awful Hush, 1895 to 1906 by Ann D. Gordon
"Volume VI of this extraordinary series of selected papers is inescapably about endings, death, and silence. But death happens here to women still in the fight. An Awful Hush is about reformers trained “in the school of anti-slavery” trying to practice their craft in the age of Jim Crow and a new American Empire. It recounts new challenges to “an aristocracy of sex,” whether among the bishops of the Episcopal church, the voters of California, or the trustees of the University of Rochester. And it sends last messages about woman suffrage. As Stanton wrote to Theodore Roosevelt on the day before she died, “Surely there is no greater monopoly than that of all men, in denying to all women a voice in the laws they are compelled to obey.”"
Woman in the Nineteenth Century by Margaret Fuller
"Woman in the Nineteenth Century is a book by American journalist, editor, and women's rights advocate Margaret Fuller. Originally published in July 1843 in The Dial magazine as "The Great Lawsuit. Man versus Men. Woman versus Women", it was later expanded and republished in book form in 1845."

Treacherous Texts by Mary Chapman; Angela Mills
"Treacherous Texts collects more than sixty literary texts written by smart, savvy writers who experimented with genre, aesthetics, humor, and sex appeal in an effort to persuade American readers to support woman suffrage. Although the suffrage campaign is often associated in popular memory with oratory, this anthology affirms that suffragists recognized early on that literature could also exert a power to move readers to imagine new roles for women in the public sphere."

HerStory Scrapbook
"2010 was the 30th anniversary of the National Women's History Project and the 90th anniversary of the Nineteenth Amendment, giving women across the US the right to vote. To celebrate the 90th anniversary of the Nineteenth Amendment, the HerStory 360° Challenge published 90 stories, during the first 90 days of 2010, about 90 women who fought for suffrage. Each story includes links to rare source material to answer the question: "What's Her Story?""

Women & Social Movements in the United States (1600-2000) This link opens in a new window
Intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.

Ann Lewis Suffrage Collection
"The Ann Lewis Women's Suffrage Collection is a privately owned collection amassed over twenty years. It is comprised of more than 1,200 books, objects, correspondence, periodicals, lobbying materials, postcards, and more."
Miller NAWSA Suffrage Scrapbooks, 1897-1911
"Between 1897 and 1911 Elizabeth Smith Miller and her daughter, Anne Fitzhugh Miller, filled seven large scrapbooks with ephemera and memorabilia related to their work with women's suffrage. The Elizabeth Smith Miller and Anne Fitzhugh Miller scrapbooks are a part of the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA) Collection in the Rare Book and Special Collections Division. These scrapbooks document the activities of the Geneva Political Equality Club, which the Millers founded in 1897, as well as efforts at the state, national, and international levels to win the vote for women. They offer a unique look at the political and social atmosphere of the time as well as chronicle the efforts of two women who were major participants in the suffrage movement."
Votes for Women: Selections from the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921
"The NAWSA Collection consists of 167 books, pamphlets and other artifacts documenting the suffrage campaign. They are a subset of the Library's larger collection donated by Carrie Chapman Catt, longtime president of the National American Woman Suffrage Association, in November of 1938. The collection includes works from the libraries of other members and officers of the organization including: Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony, Lucy Stone, Alice Stone Blackwell, Julia Ward Howe, Elizabeth Smith Miller, Mary A. Livermore."
Votes for Women: The Struggle for Women's Suffrage
"These images were selected to meet requests regularly received by the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division. They include portraits of women who campaigned for women's rights, particularly voting rights, and suffrage campaign scenes, cartoons, and ephemera. An accompanying women's suffrage timeline features many of the images."
Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party
"This collection includes 448 digitized photographs selected from approximately 2,650 print photographs in the Records of the National Woman's Party, a collection of more than 438,000 items, housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress. The images span from 1875 to 1938 but largely were created in the years between 1913 and 1922. The images depict the tactics used by the militant wing of the suffrage movement in the United States—including picketing, petitioning, pageants, parades and demonstrations, hunger strikes and imprisonment---as well as individual portraits of organization leaders and members. The photographs document the National Woman's Party's push for ratification of the 19th Amendment as well as its later efforts for passage of the Equal Rights Amendment."
Not for Ourselves Alone
"Learn more about the life and work of these famous reformers through their own writings and speeches, a biographical article, and critical essays by noted scholars. Middle and high school teachers will find lesson plans for language arts and history, and the lists of related sites, recommended reading, and related organizations offer learners of all ages opportunities to become more familiar with women’s history."
Marching for the Vote: Remembering the Woman Suffrage Parade of 1913

The hand book of the National American Woman Suffrage Assocition and proceedings of the ... annual convention by National American Woman Suffrage Association

Votes for Women: The Struggle for Suffrage Revisited by Jean H. Baker
"In Votes For Women, Jean H. Baker has assembled an impressive collection of new scholarship on the struggle of American women for the suffrage. From the movement's antecedents in the minds of women like Mary Wollstonecraft and Frances Wright, to the historic gathering at Seneca Falls in 1848, to the civil disobedience during World War I orchestrated by the National Woman's Party, the essential elements of this tumultuous story emerge in these finely-tuned chapters. So too do the themes and historical controversies about suffrage and its leaders, including Susan B. Anthony, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Sojourner Truth, and Alice Paul."
Fighting Chance: The Struggle Over Woman Suffrage and Black Suffrage in Reconstruction America by Faye E. Dudden
"The advocates of woman suffrage and black suffrage came to a bitter falling-out in the midst of Reconstruction, when Elizabeth Cady Stanton opposed the 15th Amendment because it granted the vote to black men but not to women. How did these two causes, so long allied, come to this? Based on extensive research, Fighting Chance is a major contribution to women's history and to 19th-century political history--a story of how idealists descended to racist betrayal and desperate failure."
One Woman, One Vote: Rediscovering the Woman Suffrage Movement by Marjorie Spruill Wheeler
Call Number: JK1896 .O54 1995
"Companion book to the PBS American Experience documentary by the same name, this anthology is the most comprehensive collection of writings — contemporary and historical — on the woman suffrage movement in America. It includes essays by the most prominent contemporary historians, many who challenge widely accepted theories and illustrate the diversity and complexity of the fight for the 19th Amendment."

Indiana Historical Society Digital Collections
Indiana Woman's Suffrage Association Record Book, 1851-1886
Collection guide for the Indiana Historical Society's collection
Woman's Franchise League of Indiana, 1914-1919
Collection guide for the Indiana Historical Society's collection
Indianapolis Women Working for the Right to Vote: The Forgotten Drama of 1917
Thesis by Jennifer M. Kalvaitis
"Are You With Us?": A Study of the Hoosier Suffrage Movement, 1844-1920
""Are You With Us?" challenges longstanding assumptions about Hoosier women's political activism by examining participation within the state suffrage movement."
Votes for Women: Women's Suffrage, Gendered Political Culture, and Progressive Era Masculinity in the State of Indiana
"This thesis will examine gendered political culture and masculinity in Indiana during the Progressive Era, leading up to the enfranchisement of women."

Keeping Track of Your Research

There are many options for research management tools, but ultimately, you're looking for two things: something to manage your references and something to manage your notes, outlines, and other pre-writing products. This is just personal preference, but I would suggest you try a few free tools to get a sense of them. Most products with a cost associated with them have a free trial version. Please don't purchase anything just because it's listed here; try it out first and see how it fits into your workflow.

Reference Manager

Zotero
Check out this introduction to Zotero.
Mendeley
Check out this introduction to Mendeley.
sizdom.ai
Bookends
Papers

Notetaking & Organization

OneNote
Evernote
Simplenote
Google Keep
Check out this introduction to Google Keep.
Dropbox Paper
Workflowy
Scrivener
Fargo

HST 342: Votes for Women (Deno): Research

Resources

Keeping Track of Your Research

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS