Clarinet Solos de Concours, 1897-1980 by
Harry R. Gee traces the roots of the Solo de Concours by researching the history of the French Conservatory, its connection with French composers, and the specific influences linked to these pieces.
The Baroque Clarinet by
The Baroque Clarinet is a sourcebook for the historical study of the European clarinet during the first half of the eighteenth century. The book is based on a comprehensive study of the theoretical, musical, and iconographical evidence, and many conclusions are presented here for the first time.
The Cambridge Companion to the Clarinet by
"The Cambridge Companion to the Clarinet is a practical guide to the world of the clarinet. It offers students and performers a composite survey of the history and repertory of the instrument from its origins to the present day, as well as practical guidance on teaching and playing from historical performance to contemporary techniques and jazz. Informed by the experience of distinguished professional players and teachers, this book makes an essential and stimulating reference book for all clarinet enthusiasts." From the publisher.
The Clarinet by
The clarinet has a long and rich history as a solo, orchestral, and chamber musical instrument. In this broad-ranging account Eric Hoeprich, a performer, teacher, and expert on historical clarinets, explores its development, repertoire, and performance history. Looking at the antecedents of the clarinet, as well as such related instruments as the chalumeau, basset horn, alto clarinet, and bass clarinet, Hoeprich explains the use and development of the instrument in the Baroque age. The period from the late 1700s to Beethoven's early years is shown to have fostered ever wider distribution and use of the instrument, and a repertoire of increasing richness. The first half of the nineteenth century, a golden age for the clarinet, brought innovation in construction and great virtuosity in performance, while the following century and a half produced a surge in new works from many composers. The author also devotes a chapter to the role of the clarinet in bands, folk music, and jazz--Publisher.
The Clarinet in the Classical Period by
"The Clarinet in the Classical Period provides a detailed review of the achievements of the period's most important clarinet makers, including James Wood, Teobaldo Monzani, and Jean-Francois Simiot, as well as the innovations of creative performers such as Ivan Muller and Cesar Janssen.
Rice offers new research regarding the practice of clef notation by Italian, French, and German composers, clarifying their use of transposing clarinets. The book also explores the creative relationships of two key trios of composer, maker, and performer - Carl Maria von Weber, Heinrich Baermann, and Jean-Jacques Baumann; and Mozart, Anton Stadler, and Theodore Lotz - examining how clarinet construction and performance practice developed in tandem with musical styles."--Jacket.
From the Clarinet D'amour to the Contra Bass by
This book contains information and history about the clarinet d'amour, alto clarinet, basset horn, gass, contra bass, and contra alto clarinets, bass clarinet, and contra bass. - Marissa Johnson
The Versatile Clarinet by
"A celebration of individuality, experimentation and innovation in clarinet music. A resource for musicologists, as well as praticing musicians in the field. Examines the evolution of the clarinet, and particularly clarinet playing throughout the history of the instrument."
Art of Clarinet Playing by
Keith Stein was already a phenomenal clarinetist when he attended the very first session of the National Music Camp at Interlochen, Michigan. Stein was then accepted into the Chicago Symphony, and became one of its youngest members. He earned a master of music degree at the University of Michigan, and his teaching career began at Michigan State University and Interlochen, where he remained for the next 41 years until he retired. Within this book, the author makes the player aware of all the many faulty habits he may have acquired, then offers constructive suggestions for remedying each one. -- from Amazon.com
The Clarinet and Clarinet Playing by
"One of the most comprehensive available books on the subject features suggestions about technique, tonguing and articulation, musicianship, and musical interpretation. Includes guidelines for teaching, making your own reeds, and preparing for public performance, plus an intriguing look at clarinet history. 'A godsend {u2026} far and away the most valuable guide ever printed for the self-taught player.' {u2014} The Clarinet, Journal of the International Clarinet Society." -- Amazon.com (February 25, 2016).
New Directions for Clarinet by
Phillip Rehfeldt has assembled here techniques of dealing with clarinet performances as they have evolved since 1950. He catalogs contemporary practices that differ from those formerly standardized, provides perspective on performance capabilities and limitations, and includes suggestions for performance based on his own experience.
The new edition has been completely rewritten, corrected where necessary, and updated. Rehfeldt has added the complete list of William O. Smith's clarinet compositions and recordings to the previous listing of his early multiphonic fingerings. The new edition also includes an appendix containing Eric Mandat's quarter-tone fingerings; a second, extensive music bibliography, the "International Update"; and an updated and annotated bibliography of music literature. - Amazon, Dec. 5, 2017
Clarinet Acoustics by
Most symphonic instruments were standardized in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, but the design of the clarinet is still changing. O. Lee Gibson begins this first complete study of its acoustical principles with a history of the clarinet, a survey of the instruments of famous clarinetists, and the characteristics of the national schools of clarinet manufacture. He then describes the modal frequency ratios of a clarinet and the timbres of its tones, as well as its dynamic range, stability, flexibility, and responsiveness. He stresses that all the dimensions of a wind instrument - length, volume, size, weight, and material - are interrelated. He concludes with a discussion of existing but rarely available mechanical improvements and suggests other acoustical enhancements that have not been fully utilized.
The Essential Klezmer by
Examines the evolution of klezmer, traditional Jewish music, from its ancient European roots to its modern popular sound, and its survival through the dissolution of Eastern Europe and Jewish assimilation in American culture.
Shpil by
Shpil offers an expansive history of klezmer, from its medieval origins through the present era. Individual chapters concentrate on the most common instruments found in a typical klezmer ensemble: violin, clarinet, accordion, bass, percussion, and even voice. Contributors include a cast of musicians who have recorded, performed, and studied klezmer for years. Each chapter concludes with a selection of three songs that illustrate and exemplify the history and techniques already described. Shpil includes a "klezmer glossary" of mostly musical terms and a discography of both classic and new klezm. - Amazon.com, Dec. 5, 2017
32 Etudes and 40 Studies for Clarinet by
A collection of sparkling musical gems, the forty studies develop dexterity in the advancing clarinetist, and are frequently practiced for technique. The thirty-two etudes are highly musical compositions that emphasize the range and scope of clarinet performance. All are celebrated standards popular at auditions, recitals, and as skill-enhancing exercises. - Alfred.com, Dec. 5, 2017
18 Etudes for the Clarinet by
These 18 studies represent a revolutionary departure from present day clarinet music literature, because they prepare the clarinetist to read and execute various odd melodic chord formations and intricate rhythmic figures found in the symphonic works by the Modernists. -Amazon.com, Dec. 5, 2017
Library Hours
Study Rooms
My Library Account
Library Website
