Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Textbooks: Other Free Resources

A resource to help students explore their options when finding, renting, and buying textbooks.

Open Access Textbooks

‚ÄčThere are many websites and resources which provide open access textbooks to students. Often these are free, but sometimes require registration. 

HOWEVER: Ask your professor before using these textbooks, as they may provide the correct content used in the course.

Although many of these textbooks may not be used in class, they can be useful for free extra practice.

For more information on open access textbooks, check out this great LibGuide by the University of Arkansas: OATs (Open Access Textbooks): Home

Open Access Textbook Repositories

Below is a list of open access textbook repositories. Each provides a variety of open access resources, such as textbooks, learning exercises, and more. Some require free registration, and few require a subscription for certain materials.


Bartleby  

This resource provides a variety of step-by-step textbook solutions, practice problems and answers, and subject matter experts available to walk through explanations. Registration and subscription required.

Digital Public Library of America 

DPLA provides free digital access to a variety of materials, including photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and more.

Open Educational Resources (OER) Commons

OER Commons is a digital public library and collaboration platform which allows educators to use and develop open-access rich media documents, lesson plans, interactive modules, textbooks, and more. The library contains over 50,000 open access resources for students and educators. 

Project Gutenberg  

This project provides over 59,000 free eBooks which are available for download or online streaming. The focus of the project is on older works with expired copyright. There are currently five languages to choose from: English, German, French, Italian, and Portuguese. 

OASIS

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 90 different sources and contains 364,699 records.

Open Textbooks Library

The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of over 600 free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. These can be downloaded for free and printed at a low cost.

Openstax College

This growing library provides 29 free, high-quality, peer reviewed textbooks for AP and university courses. Majority of these focus on STEM-related fields, but there are some for the humanities and business as well. 

Textbook Revolution

Textbook Revolution is a student-run site dedicated to increasing the use of free educational materials by teachers and professors.This site provides a variety of links and reviews of textbooks and select educational resources in a variety of formats including PDF files, eBooks, or websites with course/multimedia content.

bookboon.com

This platform provides over 1000 free, peer-reviewed textbooks written by professors and experts in the subject matter. These are available for download to use offline as well. Registration is required for the free books. Subscription only required for premium books, which focus on business related subjects.

Merlot Collection 

This collection provides over 40,000 materials in 19 different subjects. All are reviewed for suitability, and many are peer-reviewed for accuracy. Registration is required, but free.

More Information

Attribution:

"The Open Textbook Challenge" by Eric Dye under CC BY-NC-ND

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter