Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Butler University has an extensive network of eBooks available to Butler students. These collections are accessible on or off campus and many platforms allow the books to be downloaded, shared, linked, and more.
For more information on Butler's eBook collections, visit the All About eBooks Libguide.
Ways to Access eBooks
WorldCat Discovery is our catalog, but it's more than just a search for books. It's multi-format - it will bring back articles, books, ebooks, media, and more. You'll see the items we have on our shelves or in our online collection. It's also multi-library - the materials we own typically come back first, but the search does include materials owned by other libraries and available to your via Interlibrary Loan or PALShare. You can search by topic, title, or author.
Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond
Want a book that you can't find at Butler? Try getting it through Interlibrary Loan or PALShare, a free service for Butler faculty, staff, and students.
Before submitting an InterLibrary Loan request, an account must be made. This can be found on the Butler Library website by clicking the "InterLibrary Loan" link and following the login prompts, or first time users can click here.
Once an account is made, books may be searched for and requested through the Butler WorldCat search engine.
Please allow about 2 weeks for delivery. An e-mail will be sent when print materials are ready for pick-up.
Most journal articles arrive in 3-4 days and will be sent electronically.
Butler's eBooks Collection
Search Butler University Libraries and beyond for articles, books, media, and more.
ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of more than 5,000 books of high quality in the humanities, dating from the mid-20th century through the 2010s.
Credo Reference is a digital reference library containing all types of reference books: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a host of subject-specific titles covering everything from the arts to accountancy and law to literature.
Oxford Reference Online (ORO)
The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.
What you need to know about using Butler's eBooks
Using eBooks at an academic library is different than personal eBooks or eBooks you get from a public library. They are accessible from several different websites (platforms) and what a user is allowed to do with an eBook depends on the functionality available on the platform where it's found, or any restrictions placed by the publisher.
- Download chapters instead of 'checking out' the entire book whenever possible.
- When you do a full book 'check out,' make sure you log into your personal account when you try to access the book on a different device.
- Worldcat Discovery is the best place to start searching for an eBook.
- Some eBook titles have restrictions on the number of users who can access it simultaneously, so if you're done reading an eBook, close your browser tab to end your session (and release the eBook so someone else can read it).
Report an Access Problem
Use this button to report any problems with the online resources listed in this guide (databases, ebooks, broken URLs, etc.)