Music Education: Masters Student Guide

"The Bloomsbury Handbook of Popular Music Education draws together current thinking and practice on popular music education from empirical, ethnographic, sociological and philosophical perspectives. Through a series of unique chapters from authors working at the forefront of music education, this book explores the ways in which an international group of music educators each approach popular music education."-- Provided by publisher.

The Oxford Handbook of Music Education offers a comprehensive overview of the many facets of musical experience, behavior and development in relation to this diverse variety of contexts. While the first volume primarily focuses on children during school-age years, the second collects an international list of contributors to explore how music learning takes place outside of the traditional classroom environment. -- Book jacket.

Qualitative research has become increasingly popular in music education over the last decade, yet there is no source that explains the terms, approaches and issues associated with this approach. In this handbook, editor Colleen Conway and the contributing music educators provide that clarification, as well as models of qualitative studies within various music education disciplines. The handbook outlines the history of qualitative research in American music education and explores the contemporary use of qualitative approaches in examining issues related to music teaching and learning. [Publisher description].

This volume examines pluralism in light of recent music education research history and pluralistic approaches in practice. Pluralistic research holds the potential to blend frameworks, foundations, methods, and analysis protocols, and leads to a sophisticated understanding of music teaching and learning. This blending could take place in a range of contexts that may span an individual study to a lifelong research agenda. Additionally, pluralistic ideals would guide the addressing of questions as a community. The volume also illuminates the work of innovative music education researchers who are constructing pluralistic research studies and agendas, and advocate for the music education profession to embrace such an approach in order to advance shared research goals. The ramifications of this transformation in music education research are a subject of discussion, including the implications for researcher education and the challenges inherent in conducting and disseminating such research.

A variety of approaches to teaching general music influence music teaching and learning and inform the instructional practice of music educators. Although these approaches are valuable, problems arise when teachers choose to utilize a given approach without thoughtfully considering its role in the curriculum and its potential to meaningfully engage children in music learning. Important approaches to teaching general music must be understood, critically examined, and reimagined for their potential in school and community music education programs. 'Teaching General Music' brings together the top scholars and practitioners in general music education to create a panoramic view of general music pedagogy and to provide critical lenses through which to view these frameworks and practices.

"Music Education: Source Readings from Ancient Greece to Today is a collection of thematically organized essays that illuminate the importance of music education to individuals, communities and nations. The fourth edition has been expanded to address the significant societal changes that have occurred since the publication of the last edition, with a greater focus on current readings in government, philosophy, psychology, curriculum, sociology, and advocacy. This comprehensive text remains an essential reference for music educators today, demonstrating the value and support of their profession in the societies in which they live." -- publisher's description

#Includes index.

Provides coverage of such topics as: the role of research in music education; philosophical method; qualitative research; quantitative research; historical methods; and assessment and its relationship to research. This collection is useful for students and scholars of music education.

The MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning, Volume 2: Applications brings together the best and most current research on best practice for music learning, focusing squarely on the profession's empirical and conceptual knowledge of how students gain competence in music at various ages and in different contexts. The collection of chapters, written by the foremost figures active in the field, addresses a range of best practices for approaching current and important areas in the field, including cognition and perception, music listening, vocal/choral learning, and the needs of special learner.

Clear, concise, and practical, the third edition of Music Research: A Handbook introduces students to the major print and electronic research tools available today. With a strong focus on the connection between music and writing, this comprehensive guide is ideal for use in...music courses that require students to engage in library research or to write research papers.

Irma Collins's Dictionary of Music Education is a broad survey of the field. Collins includes information about a variety of English-speaking countries such as the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia, emphasizing the impact music education researchers and organizations have had on one another across the globe.

An updated and practical approach to research concepts, techniques, and sources from the 4th edition.