Research Guides (LibGuides): All About Primary Sources: Adam Matthews Databases

Overview

The Adam Matthews Database as three resources, two of which deal exclusively with United States history. The first listed database is the advertising in America database. This may be helpful for business students looking at how marketing has progressed over the century. The second listed database is about race relations in America. This database deals mostly with Civil Rights era sources such as speeches, letters, and legal documents. The third database also deals with the subject of race. The Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice database is primarily based in the United States, but there are some documents on slavery and its global reach.

Working within the Databases

When searching within the databases, keywords and names are the most useful basic search terms. If specific dates, places, or copyrights are known, Advanced Search options would be more useful for sorting the search results.

For Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice, the search tab is on the top of the screen:

For Race Relations in America, the search tab is in the middle of the home screen:

For Advertising in America, the search tab is in the middle of the home screen:

In order to export a document, an image or illustration, by clicking on the link to the primary source, the databases should come up with a list of information about the source. Within this information there should be a icon on the page with a PDF symbol or "download document" tab. Listed below are some examples as to what these icons might look like.

Example 1

Example 2

Example 3

This function may not be available on all databases or for all documents.

When opening a document, double click the document image to open the full screen viewer.
Click on the "Transcript" Tab.
The Transcript will open a version of the document which is strictly text. This is sometimes preferable as older documents can be hard to read.

Adam Matthews Databases

List of Databases

Advertising America This link opens in a new window
Archive documents from J. Walter Thompson Company, one of the largest and oldest advertising firms.
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
This resource sheds light on the fascinating work of the Race Relations Department through the digitization of extensive records from the Department’s archives, now held at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
Primary source collection on trans-Atlantic slavery and abolition with original manuscript and rare printed material from dozens of archives.

Member of Baltimore Self-Survey team interviewing grocery warehouse worker who, married, with seven children lives in a four-room cold flat and a shot showing slum housing

Physical rights retained and permission granted by the Amistad Research Center

Ann Matilda Page King Plantation Account Book

Behold

Physical rights retained and permission granted by the Amistad Research Center

All About Primary Sources: Adam Matthews Databases

Overview

Working within the Databases

Adam Matthews Databases

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS