Research Guides (LibGuides): All About Primary Sources: Gale Databases

Working within the Database

When searching within the databases, keywords and names are the most useful basic search terms. If specific dates, places, or copyrights are known, Advanced Search options would be more useful for sorting the search results.

For Archives of Sexuality & Gender, the search tab is in the center of the home screen:

For Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, the search tab is in the middle of the home screen:

For Indiana History Online, the search tab is on the right side of the home screen:

For Slavery and Anti-Slavery, the search tab is on the top of the home screen:

For Women's Issues and Identities, the search tab is in the middle of the home screen:

In order to export a document, an image or illustration, by clicking on the link to the primary source, the databases should come up with a list of information about the source. Within this information there should be a icon on the page with a PDF symbol or "download document" tab. Listed below are some examples as to what these icons might look like.

Example 1

Example 2

Example 3

This function may not be available on the Slavery & Anti-Slavery database or the Indiana History database.

In the document viewer, there is an option for "Plain Text (OCR)". If both the plain text and document image are selected, the viewer will display the two versions side by side.

Gale Databases

List of Databases

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 This link opens in a new window
Primary source archive related to LGBTQ and gender studies.
Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968 This link opens in a new window
The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry.
Slavery & Anti-Slavery This link opens in a new window
Primary source archive related to the history of slavery covering the years of 1490-1896
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source archive featuring history of the 19th and 20th centuries from the female perspective. Includes Part 1: Women's Issues and Identities and Part 2: Voice and Vision.

A new discovery of a vast country in America, extending above four thousand miles, between New France and New Mexico : with a description of the ... London, 1698. 535pp.

Hennepin, Louis. A new discovery of a vast country in America, extending above four thousand miles, between New France and New Mexico : with a description of the great lakes, cataracts, rivers, plants, and animals : also, the manners, customs, and languages, of the several native Indians, and the advantage of commerce with those different nations ... both parts illustrated with maps, and figures, and dedicated to his Majesty K. William. London, 1698. 535pp. Indiana History Online. Web. 13 Jan. 2020.