Research Guides (LibGuides): Chemistry: General Resources

Search Tips

1. For broad understing: use the internet and encyclopedias!

2. For academic-focused articles, use the Library Catalog. Narrow your search by selecting "Article" on the left side.

3. Use the Chemistry databases (see below) to run more specific searches.

4. To find a specific journal, use the Journals A-Z tool. Use the "View Full Text" option.

American Chemical Society (ACS) This link opens in a new window
Search all journal titles available via the American Chemical Society simultaneously. They can also be searched individually or in groups.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Elsevier is one of the leading publishers in Chemistry area. They currently provide over 40 journals covering Chemistry focused topics.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other reliable sources. In addition, the database includes a vast collection of images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and the Nature Picture Library.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Online access to Chemical Abstracts. Includes CAS Analytical Methods.

NOTE: First-time users must create an account and register at this link: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/butler.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscifinder.cas.org%2Fregistration%2Findex.html%3FcorpKey%3DCC3C2355-86F3-5055-2D0A-3431A6629E8D

Springer Open Resource Journals - Chemistry
Peer-reviewed, open access research in chemistry

American Chemical Society (ACS) This link opens in a new window
Search all journal titles available via the American Chemical Society simultaneously. They can also be searched individually or in groups.
Biological Sciences - all databases This link opens in a new window
This database includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
This database is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance and Allen Press. It includes a unique aggregation of nearly 100 high-impact bioscience research journals from around 70 publishers.

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Online access to Chemical Abstracts. Includes CAS Analytical Methods.

NOTE: First-time users must create an account and register at this link: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/butler.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscifinder.cas.org%2Fregistration%2Findex.html%3FcorpKey%3DCC3C2355-86F3-5055-2D0A-3431A6629E8D
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window

Springer Open Resource Journals - Chemistry
Peer-reviewed, open access research in chemistry

Encyclopedia of chemical technology by Jacqueline I. Kroschwitz; Mary Howe-Grant (Editor); Raymond E. Kirk; Donald F. Othmer; Kirk-Othmer
Call Number: TP9 .K57 1991
ISBN: 9780471526698
Publication Date: 1991-09-18
This detailed reference of chemical technology has been revised and updated to include new subject areas, such as biotechnology, computer applications, analytical techniques, environmental concerns, composite materials, materials science and pharmaceuticals.

Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the wide field of chemical technology.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by Kirk-Othmer (Editor)
Call Number: TP9 .K54 2004
ISBN: 9780471484943
Publication Date: 2004-03-29
This Encyclopedia presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
The Merck Index by Maryadele J. O'Neil (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849736701
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact.