Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, World History in Context is a collection of reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronological research materials for the study of world history.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Index is a unique, essential collection for comprehensive coverage of the humanities.
Gateway to the Classics
Provided by Encyclopedia Britannica Online (Academic Edition), the Gateway to the Classics provides an introduction to significant works of Western history, literature, philosophy, and science, arranged by author and subject. The "Additional Readings" are an excellent place to find Secondary Sources.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
American Journal of Archaeology
Coverage: 1897-present (Vols. 1-current)
The American Journal of Archaeology, the journal of the Archaeological Institute of America, is one of the world's most distinguished and widely distributed peer-reviewed archaeological journals. Founded in 1885, it publishes ground-breaking articles on archaeology and thoughtful book and museum exhibition reviews.
The Annual of the British School at Athens
Coverage: 1894-2009 (Vols. 1-104)
The Annual of the British School at Athens includes articles of short to medium length on a wide variety of topics concerned with Hellenic culture and its interconnections with other communities. The thrust of the work of the School has been work on the major sites of Knossos and Sparta, together with the broader areas of Crete, Lakonia, Euboia and the Cyclades, while work of researchers, especially in the School Library and the Fitch Laboratory, covers a broad field indeed.
Coverage: 2001-present (Vols. 75-current); some free material available at Antiquity+Antiquity
is a scholarly journal published quarterly and dedicated to archaeology.
Coverage: 1954-2009 (Nos. 1-56)
Archaeological Reports provides fully illustrated accounts of archaeological work in Greece and other parts of the world that were sites of Greek culture.
Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Bryn Mawr Classical Review publishes timely open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology).
Greece & Rome
Coverage: 1931-2007 (Vol. 1 - Second Series Vol. 54)
Greece & Rome features informative and lucid articles on ancient history, art, archaeology, religion, philosophy, and the classical tradition.
Greek, Roman, and Byzantine Studies
Coverage: 1958-present (Vols. 1-current)
Greek, Roman, and Byzantine Studies is a peer-reviewed, open access journal
published quarterly and devoted to the culture and history of Greece from Antiquity to the Renaissance.
Coverage: 1932-2013 (Vols. 1-82)
Founded in 1932 and devoted primarily to the timely publication of reports on projects sponsored by the American School of Classical Studies at Athens, Hesperia also publishes articles in the fields of Greek archaeology, art, epigraphy, history, and literature. Articles presenting primary research, interdisciplinary studies, theoretical discussions, and syntheses of topics and problems are all featured. Studies on the history and practice of archaeology and ethnography in the Mediterranean are also included.
Journal of Eastern Mediterranean Archaeology and Heritage Studies
Coverage: 2013-present (Vols. 1-current)
Journal of Eastern Mediterranean Archaeology and Heritage Studies is a peer-reviewed journal devoted to traditional, anthropological, social, and applied archaeologies of the Eastern Mediterranean, encompassing both prehistoric and historic periods. The journal’s geographic range spans three continents and brings together, as no academic periodical has done before, the archaeologies of Greece and the Aegean, Anatolia, the Levant, Cyprus, Egypt, and North Africa.
The Journal of Hellenic Studies
Coverage: 1880-2009 (Vols. 1-129); most recent volumes available in print
at Irwin Library.The Journal of Hellenic Studies
was first issued in 1880 and is internationally recognized as one of the foremost periodicals in the field of Classical scholarship. It contains articles on a wide variety of Hellenic topics, and reviews of recent books of importance to Greek studies.
Memoirs of the American Academy in Rome
Coverage: 1915-2006/2007 (Vols. 1-51/52)
An annual journal containing articles in the wide range of fields, including classical studies and archaeology, art history, and Italian cultural and historical studies from the Middle Ages to the present.
Papers from the Institute of Archaeology
Coverage: 1990-present (Vols. 1-current)
Papers from the Institute of Archaeology (PIA) is a peer reviewed, open access journal that publishes research on all aspects of archaeology, museum studies, cultural heritage and conservation.
Papers of the British School at Rome
Coverage: 1902-2009 (Vols. 1-77)
The Papers of the British School at Rome exists to publish work related to the archaeology, history and literature of Italy and other parts of the mediterranean area up to modern times
Art and the Early Greek State by
Call Number: DF221.C6 S53 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Michael Shanks interprets the art and archaeological remains of Korinth to elicit connections between new urban environments, foreign trade, warfare, and the ideology of male sovereignty. Adopting an interdisciplinary perspective, which draws on an anthropologically informed archaeology, ancient history, art history, material culture studies and structural approaches to the classics, this book raises large questions about the links between design and manufacture, political and social structure, and culture and ideology in the ancient Greek world.
Ancient Cities by
Publication Date: 2011-05-02
Ancient Cities brings to life the physical world of ancient city dwellers by concentrating on evidence recovered by archaeological excavations from the Mediterranean basin and south-west Asia. It provides surveys of the cities of the ancient Near East, Egypt, and the Greek and Roman worlds, from an archaeological perspective, in their cultural and historical contexts.The urban form of the cities and the architecture and geography that created it are examined in detail. Attention is also paid to non-urban features such as religious sanctuaries and burial grounds, places and institutions that were a familiar part of the city dweller's experience. Objects or artifacts, which represented the essential furnishings of everyday life, are discussed and include pottery, sculpture, wall paintings, mosaics and coins.
Unearthing Jerusalem by
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
In 2006, some two dozen contemporary archaeologists and historians met at Brown University, in Providence RI, to present papers and illustrations marking the 150th anniversary of modern archaeological exploration of the Holy City. The volume is heavily illustrated with materials from historical archives as well as from contemporary excavations. It provides a helpful and informative introduction to the history of the various national and religious organizations that have sponsored excavations in the Holy Land and Jerusalem in particular, as well as a summary of the current status of excavations in Jerusalem.
Classical Archaeology of Greece by
Publication Date: 1997-11-11
Archaeologists do not discover the past but take the fragmentary remains which they recover and make something of them. Archaeology is a process of detection and supposition; this is what makes it so fascinating. However, the interpretations of archaeologists differ and change over time. They depend upon the amount of evidence available, the ideas and preconceptions of the archaeologist and their interests and aims. Michael Shanks's enlivening work is a guide to the discipline of classical archaeology and its objects. It assesses archaeology as a means of reconstructing ancient Greek society using the latest approaches of social archaeology.
Italian portal managed by the Ministry of Cultural and Environmental Heritage, featuring news, research, and book reviews. (Note: site is in Italian, but can be easily and relatively successfully translated in Google Chrome or using Google Translate.)
Hellenic Ministry of Culture: Archaeological Sites
History, description, and photos of Greek archaeological sites sponsored by the Greek Ministry of Culture and Sports
Tour Greek archaeological sites. (Requires QuickTime
Perseus Digital Library: Art and Archaeology Artifact Browser
"Look through a massive library of art objects, sites, and buildings. The library's catalogs document 1305 coins, 1909 vases, 2003 sculptures, 179 sites, 140 gems, and 424 buildings. Each catalog entry has a description of the object and its context; most have images. Descriptions and images have been produced in collaboration with many museums, institutions, and scholars. Catalog information and keywords have been taken from standard sources, which are cited in the entries for each object."
The Pompeii Forum Project
A collaborative research venture that is archaeologicaly based, heavily dependent upon advanced technology, and so conceived as to address broad issues in Pompeii's urban history and urban design.
The Institute of Classical Archaeology
Information about the excavations undertaken by The Institute of Classical Archaeology (ICA) at Metapontum, Croton, and Chersonesos. Includes online resources
about classical archaeology.
Landward Archaeology Blogs
A collection of archaeology blogs listed by most recent updates.
AWOL - The Ancient World Online
News and commentaries about "open access materials relating to the ancient world."
Open Access Archaeology
A blog dedicated to highlighting open access publications in the field of archaeology.