Distros (Zine Distributors)
“Zines” by University of Texas Libraries is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0.
Collections around the United States:
Collection of zines written by women (cis- and transgender) with an emphasis on zines by women of color. Zines on feminism and femme identity by people of all genders. The zines are personal and political publications on activism, anarchism, body image, third wave feminism, gender, parenting, queer community, riot grrrl, sexual assault, trans experience, and other topics.
Has a large collection of fanzines devoted to popular music and a nice library guide listing many different resources
Collection of zines created by women, girls, and women-identified people begun by Sarah Dyer with over 1,000 zines. Dyer collected zines for her Action Girl Newsletter, a networking publication for women’s comics and zines. The collection has expanded to over 4,000 zines, with a majority dating from 1990-2005. Around 2,600 of these are recorded in this searchable database.
Rare Collection of zines of Cuban social and political issues (Ernesto Chavez Collection).
Collection includes alternative press,inlcuding self-published zines from around the world to support the interests of a nontraditional community
Housed in the DeWitt Wallace Periodical Room at the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building with current periodicals and requested in Room 100. Search by title or these subjects: zines, fanzines, underground press and little magazines. The site lists some of the titles in the Collection
Lending library in all zine genres. Run by volunteer librarians. Hosts zine making events and zine release parties.
"Launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities."
Strong collection of feminist zines in a library that is dedicated to the history of women in America. Content varies, but many focus on political discussions and contemporary feminist struggles.
Nice library guide to zine resources. A collection of social justice zines among others.
Great website listing resources for making your own zine, books and articles about zines, important zine collections and so forth
Founded in 1996 as part of Hugo House, a non-profit community writing center in Seattle, this is a Zine library with a growing archive of over 30,000 self-published material from around the world.
Special Collections at the University of Iowa is making a concerted effort to collect zines in all formats in order to preserve these materials and make them accessible to wider popular and research audiences. Zines are windows that provide glimpses into fascinating and often-under documented social worlds, worlds that we believe deserve to have their voices rescued from obscurity.
Also worth checking out is Barnard College's state by state and international Guide of Zine Collections.
“Zines” by University of Texas Libraries is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0.
The Riot Grrrl Collection by
Archival material from the 1990s underground movement that served as a "gateway drug to feminist history" for so many. (--Kathleen Hanna, Bikini Kill) Before the rise of the Internet or desktop publishing, the zine and music culture of the Riot Grrrl movement empowered young women across the country to speak out against sexism and oppression, creating a powerful new force of liberation and unity within and outside of the women's movement. While feminist bands like Bikini Kill and Bratmobile fought for their place in a male-dominated punk scene, their members and fans developed an extensive DIY network of activism and support. The Riot Grrrl Collection reproduces a sampling of the original zines, posters, and printed matter for the first time since their initial distribution in the 1980s and '90s, and includes an original essay by Johanna Fateman and an introduction by Lisa Darms. "The materials in this book are more important than ever. Riot grrrl shows us that feminism isn't synonymous with consumer empowerment. Passed person to person, riot grrrl culture advances a true revolution in which 'girl' qualities like candor and empathy are no longer trivialized and can re-make the world." ―Chris Kraus, author of I Love Dick
The future generation : the zine-book for subculture parents, kids, friends & others by
China Martens started her pioneering mamazine The Future Generation in 1990. She was a young anarchist punk rock mother who didn't feel that the mamas in her community had enough support, so she began publishing articles on radical parenting in an age before the internet. This anthology of her zine was first distributed in 2007 and has been out of print. Covering 16 years, The Future Generation uses individual issues as chapters, focusing on personal writing, and retaining the character of a zine that changed over the years--from her daughter's birth to teenagehood and beyond. Though first published in the 1990s, many of the essays and observations--about parenting, children, and surviving in a hostile political climate--still ring true today. PM Press is proud to present a 10th-anniversary edition including a new afterword by China's grown daughter.
Sick by
Sick collects peoples' experiences with illness to help establish a collective voice of those impacted within radical/left/DIY communities. The zine is meant to be a resource for those who are living with illness as well as those who have not directly experienced it themselves. Contributors discuss personal experiences as well as topics such as receiving support, providing support, and being an informed patient. These writings are meant to increase understandings of illness and further discussion as well as action towards building communities of care.
Extra Bold by
Extra Bold is the inclusive, practical, and informative (design) career guide for everyone! Part textbook and part comic book, zine, manifesto, survival guide, and self-help manual, Extra Bold is filled with stories and ideas that don't show up in other career books or design overviews. * Both pragmatic and inquisitive, the book explores power structures in the workplace and how to navigate them. * Interviews showcase people at different stages of their careers. * Biographical sketches explore individuals marginalized by sexism, racism, and ableism. * Practical guides cover everything from starting out, to wage gaps, coming out at work, cover letters, mentoring, and more. A new take on the design canon. * Opens with critical essays that rethink design principles and practices through theories of feminism, anti-racism, inclusion, and nonbinary thinking. * Features interviews, essays, typefaces, and projects from dozens of contributors with a variety of racial and ethnic backgrounds, abilities, gender identities, and positions of economic and social privilege. * Adds new voices to the dominant design canon. Written collaboratively by a diverse team of authors, with original, handcrafted illustrations by Jennifer Tobias that bring warmth, happiness, humor, and narrative depth to the book. Extra Bold is written by Ellen Lupton (Thinking with Type), Farah Kafei, Jennifer Tobias, Josh A. Halstead, Kaleena Sales, Leslie Xia, and Valentina Vergara.
The Book of Zines by
A scrapbook of artwork, humorous writing, and articles culled from the nation's zines--underground magazines produced by individuals and small publishers--includes off-the-wall tips on dating and reviews of grotesque products.
The Factsheet Five Zine Reader by
Zines, those hip, alternative, self-published magazines, have broken out from the obscurity of the underground and found themselves in the spotlight. Zealous readers are turning to zines for smart writing on everything from cutting-edge music to radical politics. With all that's been said about zines, one question still remains: Where the heck can you find them? And even if you dig them up, who has time to read through them all to get to the good stuff? R. Seth Friedman, super zine sleuth and the head honcho at Factsheet Five magazine, does. Culled from thousands upon thousands of zines, this book features seventy of the best stories, essays, and rants that have appeared over the past few years. These selections are intensely personal, unconventional, and sometimes completely out of this world. More than just a simple anthology, The Factsheet Five Zine Reader includes original art and covers from the zines, descriptions and histories of the zines, and complete ordering information so you can start exploring this exciting new world on your own.
Fanzines by
For more than 60 years, fanzines have been one of the most significant forms of self-expression. Often handmade and disseminated through underground networks, the fanzine is credited as being both the original medium for many of todays mainstream publications and the predecessor to the blogging craze. This highly visual compendium showcases the best, most thought provoking, and downright weirdest fanzines ever produced. With topics ranging from punk to personal politics, Fanzines includes both widely known fanzines as well as rare publications culled from passionate collectors. Spanning the history of the fanzine from the early experimentation with underground presses to contemporary and electronic fanzines, this is a comprehensive and unprecedented look at a fascinating phenomenon.
Library Hours
Study Rooms
My Library Account
Library Website
