Research Guides (LibGuides): French Language, Literature, and Culture: Culture

French Music

French Cultural Resources

Film & Television Literature Index Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and a large number of images from the MPTV Image Archive are also included.
Film Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. Coverage is from 1976 to 2001 only.
ARTFL-FRANTEXT This link opens in a new window
ARTFL-FRANTEXT holds more than 3,500 French language texts spanning from the 12th through the 20th centuries.

Studies in French Cinema
Coverage: 2001-present (Vols. 1-current)
Focuses on the history, genres, trends, techniques, and cinematic theory in French cinema.
The French Review
Coverage: 1927-2008 (Vols. 1-82)
The French Review is the official journal of the American Association of Teachers of French and has the largest circulation of any scholarly journal of French studies in the world. The Review publishes articles and reviews on French and francophone literature, cinema, society and culture, linguistics, technology, and pedagogy six times a year.
French Politics, Culture & Society
Coverage: 2003-present (Vols. 21-current); 12-month delay
Explores modern & contemporary France from the perspectives of the social sciences, history, & cultural analysis. It also examines the relationship of France to the larger world, especially Europe, the United States, & the former French Empire.
Contemporary French Civilization
Coverage: 2005-present (Vols. 29-current)
Contemporary French Civilization publishes articles, essays, and notes; book reviews of the latest works of interest; and information on the arts and a variety of aspects of French and Francophone cultures.
Yale French Studies
Coverage: 1948-2011 (Vols. 1-120)
Yale French Studies is the oldest English-language journal in the United States devoted to French and Francophone literature and culture.

The Cinema of France by Phil Powrie
Call Number: PN1993.5.F7 C48 2006
ISBN: 9781904764472
Publication Date: 2006-04-11
The Francophone Film: A Struggle for Identity by Lieve Spaas
Call Number: PN1993.5.F7 S63 2000
ISBN: 9780719058608
Publication Date: 2001-04-07
This work introduces the reader to the rich film production of the French-speaking countries outside France, commonly called Francophonia. The book brings together films that might otherwise be divided by questions of race, gender, genre, period or nation.
French Music Since Berlioz by Richard Langham Smith; Caroline Potter
Call Number: ML270.4.F746 A8 2006
ISBN: 9780754602828
Publication Date: 2006-07-28
French Music Since Berlioz explores key developments in French classical music during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Aimed at teachers and students of French music history, as well as performers and the inquisitive concert- and opera-goer, French Music Since Berlioz is an essential companion for anyone interested in the culture of France.
The Judgment of Paris: The Revolutionary Decade That Gave the World Impressionism by Ross King
Call Number: ND547 .K47 2006
ISBN: 9780802714664
Publication Date: 2006-01-10
Chronicles the origins of Impressionism against the backdrop of the artistic and cultural events of the nineteenth century as exemplified in the work of two artists--Ernest Meissonier and Edouard Manet.
Bohemian Paris: Picasso, Modigliani, Matisse, and the Birth of Modern Art by Dan Franck; Cynthia Liebow
Call Number: DC715 .F7513 2001
ISBN: 9780802116970
Publication Date: 2002-01-03
Explores how the atmosphere and people of Paris lead to the development of modern art at the beginning of the twentieth century and profiles influential artists and writers of the era.

Fashioning the City: Paris, Fashion, and the Media by Agne`s Rocamora
ISBN: 9781441638298
Publication Date: 2009
Link leads to ebook version available with Butler University credentials.
Drawing France: French Comics and the Republic by Joel E. Vessels
ISBN: 9781604734454
Publication Date: 2010-09-03
Link leads to ebook version available with Butler University credentials.

France Today
Coverage: 2004-present (Vols. 19-current)
Features different regions of France with practical travel tips & suggestions for where to eat & stay, where to shop & play, as well as features on food & wine, cinema, culture & French products available in the U.S.A.
Le Moteur de Recherche
"Discover what French star most closely resembles Kanye West's egomaniacal genius, David Bowie's perennial cool or Robert Downet Jr.'s savoir faire. Enter an American item or name and get the French equivalent. The website, a sort of pop cultural French-English dictionary, is not limited to celebrity equivalents. You can also find the French equivalents for bagels, Chevrolet cars and whiskey."
FrenchCulture.Org
Official site of the French Embassy in the United States, covering books, music, visual and performing arts, film, TV, new media, and tech.
Institut français
Ministry of Foreign Affairs website for the agency in charge of cultural diplomacy
IFCinema
Sponsored by the Institut français: watch French films for free online. Requires Silverlight plugin.

Attribution

Top Box: Late Christmas Goodies...
by James Tworow

French Language, Literature, and Culture: Culture

Movie Cameras

French Music

French Cultural Resources

Attribution

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS