Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Literature Resources
ARTFL-FRANTEXT holds more than 3,500 French language texts spanning from the 12th through the 20th centuries.
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Criticism Online is designed to provide easy access - new users may simply enter an author or title and find a wealth of content, while experienced researchers may broaden or narrow their results via cross-searches on names of critics, journal titles, topics and more.
Literature Resource Center
This group of online indexes provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors, much of it full-text. The database is searchable by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or a combination of criteria to create more powerful searches.
MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this database provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including economics and finance, political science, history, literature, anthropology, mathematics, sociology, statistics, and education.
Coverage: 2001-present (Vols. 26-current); 1976-2008 (Vols. 1-33) available at JSTOR
is a journal of French and Francophone literature and film. It publishes articles in English and French on all periods and genres in both disciplines and welcomes a multiplicity of approaches.
French Studies: A Quarterly Review
Coverage: 1996-present (Vols. 50-current)
French Studies is published on behalf of the Society for French Studies. The journal publishes articles and reviews spanning all areas of the subject, including language and linguistics (historical and contemporary), all periods and aspects of literature in France and the French-speaking world, thought and the history of ideas, cultural studies, film, and critical theory.
Nineteenth-Century French Studies
Coverage: 2001-present (Vols. 29-current)
Nineteenth-Century French Studies provides scholars and students with the opportunity to examine new trends, review promising research findings, and become better acquainted with professional developments in the field. Scholarly articles on all aspects of nineteenth-century French literature and criticism are invited. Published articles are peer-reviewed to insure scholarly integrity. The journal has an extensive book review section covering a variety of disciplines.
Coverage: 1983-present (Vols. 1-current)
Paroles gelées was established in 1983 by its founding editor, Kathryn Bailey. The journal is managed and edited by the French Graduate Students Association; fully funded by the UCLA Graduate Students Association; and published annually under the auspices of the UCLA Department of French and Francophone Studies.
Monthly French business magazine
General weekly newsmagazine from Paris (political right)
French weekly magazine focusing on politics and culture (political right)
Monthly newsmagazine, "America’s largest and only nationwide French-language publication, serving an audience of French expatriates, Francophones and French-speaking Americans"
A French weekly news magazine covering the political, economic and cultural spheres of Africa, with an emphasis on Francophone Africa and the Maghreb.
Le Nouvel Observateur
General weekly newsmagazine from Paris (political center-left)
Weekly French magazine of world news, celebrity news, and photo essays
French weekly news magazine (political center)
La Quinzaine Littéraire
Semi-monthly French magazine of current literary and cultural life
ABU: La Bibliothèque Universelle
Collection of public domain French texts
Gallica Digital Library
Digital library of the National Library of France featuring over a million books and documents online for free
Creating French Culture
Treasures from the Bibliothèque Nationale de France
Gilbert Sigaux Collection
Gilbert Sigaux was an editor, critic, author, and professor who edited over one hundred literary and dramatic texts for publication and served as literary editor and consultant for several French publishing companies.
Selected Works on French Literature
Butler Libraries use the Library of Congress classification system, so you can find French literature books at the following locations in Irwin Library:
PQ 1 - PQ 3999