For general information and questions, please email:
Search Butler University Libraries online catalog for materials held by the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives:
About Us
The department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University is open regularly to both Butler-affiliated patrons and outside researchers. Please see below for our Location to find us and Hours to view our open times.
Appointments are required to view materials. Contact Special Collections prior to your visit in order for us to best prepare for your research visit (e.g. pulling materials, checking for additional resources, conducting further research). Please see Contact below to find our department email address and phone number; individual faculty and staff contact information for the department is also available.
We are located in Room 345 of Irwin Library (3rd floor, southwest corner) at Butler University.
4600 Sunset Avenue, Indianapolis, Indiana 46208
The schedule for Special Collections contains appointment-only hours to allow for proper preparation for researchers.
Monday: Appointments, 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday: Appointments, 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday: Appointments, 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday: Appointments, 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday: Appointments, 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday-Sunday: No Appointments, Closed
Appointments need to be made at least 24 hours in advance. Please contact us to request a time to come in and view materials. See the left sidebar for contact information.
Before your appointment, please view the Policies page for information regarding service guidelines and your research visit.
We will answer reference queries via email and phone from 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM, Monday through Friday.
General
specialcollections@butler.edu
317-940-9136
Head of Special Collections
317-940-9265
Archivist
Kyle Stearns
kastearns@butler.edu
317-940-3988
Special Collections Assistant
Megan McKee
mmckee@butler.edu
317-940-6104
Library Hours
Study Rooms
My Library Account
Library Website
