Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives

Official Website for the Department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University

About Us

The department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University is open regularly to both Butler-affiliated patrons and outside researchers. Please see below for our Location to find us and Hours to view our open times. 

Appointments are required to view materials. Contact Special Collections prior to your visit in order for us to best prepare for your research visit (e.g. pulling materials, checking for additional resources, conducting further research). Please see Contact below to find our department email address and phone number; individual faculty and staff contact information for the department is also available.

COVID-19 Statement

UPDATED: January 2021

Special Collections is operating on a limited appointment-only basis due to the measures being taken by Butler University and the state government to limit the spread of COVID-19. This policy will allow for proper social distancing within our space while also allowing us to work from home periodically to limit exposure.

We will continue to answer reference queries via email and phone from 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM, Monday through Friday.  Queries that require accessing physical materials in the archives will be answered as soon as possible depending on staffing on-site.

Appointments need to be made at least 24 hours in advance. Please contact us to request a time to come in and view materials. Our contact information is:

  • specialcollections@butler.edu, (317) 940-9136
  • schildsh@butler.edu, (317) 940-9265

Appointments will be available during the following hours during the academic semester:

  • Monday & Tuesday, 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
  • Wednesday & Thursday, 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
  • Friday, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

For individuals not associated with Butler University, please contact us for University safety protocols that must be followed while on campus.

Please be advised that reference services could be disrupted further. We apologize in advance for the inconvenience.

For more information on services and policies offered by Butler Universities Libraries during this time, please refer to the latest update. For more information on COVID-19, please check out this Butler University Libraries LibGuide.

Location

We are located in Room 345 of Irwin Library (3rd floor, southwest corner) at Butler University.

4600 Sunset Avenue, Indianapolis, Indiana 46208

Hours

Appointments are required to allow for proper preparation for researchers.

Normal operating hours are 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM, Monday - Friday. The department is closed weekends, holidays, and for scheduled library closings.

Please be sure to contact us to make an appointment in case of scheduling conflicts, especially if coming from a distance, to verify that we will be available. 

Contact us to request a time to come in and view materials. See the left sidebar for contact information.

Before your appointment, please view the Policies page for information regarding service guidelines and your research visit. 

Contact

specialcollections@butler.edu

317-940-9136

Sally Childs-Helton

Special Collections Librarian

schildsh@butler.edu

317-940-9265

Evan N. Miller

Special Collections Associate

enmiller@butler.edu

317-940-9136

Megan McKee

Special Collections Assistant

mmckee@butler.edu

317-940-6104

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter