Research Guides (LibGuides): Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives: Research

Research

This section includes information on conducting research using materials held in the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University.

The following research topics are discussed on this page:

Current LibGuides
Genealogy

Below are research topics discussed in the subsections of this page:

Butler University History
Brief historical accounts and a selection of resources on Butler University history
Resource Guides
In-depth information on accessing and researching specific collections and materials

Genealogy

The department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives houses many resources that can be used for the genealogy research of Butler University students and faculty.

Below are select digital resources to begin your research:

Butler University Student Newspaper (The Butler Collegian)
The Butler Collegian is the Butler University student-run newspaper on campus. Most issues are available to view online. The department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives holds a near-full run of the Butler Collegian.
See the Resource Guides section on the Special Collections website for more detailed information on accessing and searching the Butler Collegian.
Butler University Yearbook (The Drift)
The Drift is the Butler University yearbook. All editions are available online. The department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives holds a full run of the Drift. See the Resource Guides section on the Special Collections website for more detailed information on accessing and searching the Drift.
Indianapolis College of Pharmacy Yearbooks (The Mistura) (1924-1926, 1928, 1932, 1940)
Digital versions of issues of the Indianapolis College of Pharmacy Yearbook (The Mistura) held by the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University. Available through Digital Commons.
Jordan Conservatory of Music Yearbooks (Opus) (1941-1951)
Digital versions of issues of the Jordan Conservatory of Music Yearbook (Opus) held by the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University. Available through Digital Commons.

Resources available in Special Collections include the following:

Butler University Biographical Files
Alumni Quarterly (now known as the Butler Magazine)
Academic Catalogs and Bulletins
Alumni Directories

Please see the Special Collections and University Archives sections for more information on specific collection holdings and collection guides.

Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives

Contact

Search SC, RB, and UA

Genealogy

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS