Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives

Official Website for the Department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University

Butler University History

Butler University (formerly North Western Christian University; also known during the turn of the 20th century as Butler College) has existed for over 175 years, residing on three different campuses throughout Indianapolis during its history. This page includes brief historical accounts on the University along with select resources to assist in researching the institution's history.

Below are the following sections of information: 

  • University Archives
  • Butler University History Resources
  • Ovid Butler Resources
  • Predecessor Institutions History Resources

University Archives

University Archives, maintained by the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University, contains numerous resources for the research of Butler University. 

For specific collection information, collection guides, and inventories, view the University Archives section of the Special Collections website:  

Butler University History Resources

Ovid Butler Resources

Predecessor Institution History Resources

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter