Research Guides (LibGuides): Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives: Special Collections

Special Collections

Special Collections contains many unique and informative collections. Some names and topics of interest include Eliza A. Blaker (founder of the Teachers College of Indianapolis which later became the Butler University College of Education), Etheridge Knight (African American poet from Indianapolis), Butler-Tarkington Neighborhood Association, Jean Sibelius (Finnish composer), Kin Hubbard and Gaar Williams (American cartoonists), Abraham Lincoln, Booth Tarkington (Hoosier author), Tony Hinkle (well-known Butler University athletic coach and athletic director), Irvington Athenaeum, and Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority.

Special Collections also has many collections that help document the history of Butler University, such as diaries, personal papers, and scrapbooks from students, faculty, and community members. In addition, Special Collections holds select Butler University faculty and administrative materials that include personal, research, and teaching papers. Some names include Hilton U. Brown, Elijah Jordan, Rosemary Lang, Catharine Merrill, John E. Potzger, Michael Schelle, Allegra Stewart, Emma Lou Thornbrough, and Alice Bidwell Wesenberg.

Below are the following sections of information:

Special Collections - Collection Guides: Available collection guides
Special Collections - Inventory: A complete inventory

There are two primary collection-numbering systems within Special Collections:

MSS designates collections that reach a minimum size of one manuscript box
MSS-SM designates collections that are smaller than one manuscript box, usually only a few folders

Based upon format, here are two additional collection-numbering systems within Special Collections:

PRI designates print collections
MUS designates sheet music collections

NOTE: More collection guides will be made available from this page as collections continue to be processed. The majority of the collection guides listed are older and outdated but have been made available in their current states to allow researchers a point of access. These collection guides will be updated to reflect new information and inventories as reprocessing takes place.

Please contact Special Collections with questions.

Special Collections - Frequently Requested Collection Guides

MSS 005: Eliza Blaker Teachers College of Indianapolis Collection
The Eliza Blaker Teachers College of Indianapolis Collection contains materials documenting the life and legacy of educator and kindergarten advocate Eliza Blaker, 1892 to 1994. In addition, the collection contains the records of the Teachers College of Indianapolis (TCI)—the school Blaker founded in Indianapolis in 1882—and the Eliza Blaker Club—an organization founded in Blaker’s memory in 1930—along with supporting reference materials on Blaker, TCI, and on other memorials to Blaker, such as the Eliza Blaker Memorial Room at Butler University and the Eliza Blaker School (Indianapolis Public School No. 55). While most of the collection’s materials are from Blaker and TCI, some items have been added by the Department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University to support research. Items of interest include transcripts of many of Blaker’s speeches, Teachers College of Indianapolis administrative correspondence from both Blaker and the school’s successive leader Emma Colbert, Eliza Blaker Club meeting minutes, a set of early-twentieth century Froebel gifts—educational manipulative tools, such as building blocks, created by Friedrich Froebel for use in teaching kindergarteners—used at the Teachers College of Indianapolis.
MSS 011: Etheridge Knight Collection (ORIGINAL INVENTORY CIRCA 1997)
MSS 084: Sigma Gamma Rho Centennial Collection
The Sigma Gamma Rho Centennial Collection contains materials documenting nearly a century of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.’s history, predominately from 1946 through 2014 but including some historical information dating back to the Sorority’s founding in 1922. These materials were collected by the Sorority from the Sorority’s Grand Basilei (Sorority’s Presidents) for the purpose of documenting the history of Sigma Gamma Rho in preparation for the 100th anniversary. The collection contains many materials from the Sorority’s Biennial Boule (international meeting)—especially board and meeting minutes—along with many materials documenting the Sorority’s activities, programs, and people such as correspondence, documents, ephemera, publications, artifacts, clothing, and photographs. The major recurring names in the collection include (alphabetically): Dr. Mynora J. Bryant, Corine J. Green, Evelyn Hood, Dr. Annie Lawrence-Brown, Joann Loveless, Dr. LaRona J. Morris, Helen J. Owens, Dr. Katie K. White, and Dr. Lorraine A. Williams.
MSS 099: Sigma Gamma Rho Realia Collection

Special Collections - Collection Guides

MSS 001: John E. Potzger Collection
MSS 002: Allegra Stewart Collection
MSS 003: Emma Lou Thornbrough Collection
MSS 004: Ovid Butler Collection
MSS 005: Eliza Blaker Teachers College of Indianapolis Collection
The Eliza Blaker Teachers College of Indianapolis Collection contains materials documenting the life and legacy of educator and kindergarten advocate Eliza Blaker, 1892 to 1994. In addition, the collection contains the records of the Teachers College of Indianapolis (TCI)—the school Blaker founded in Indianapolis in 1882—and the Eliza Blaker Club—an organization founded in Blaker’s memory in 1930—along with supporting reference materials on Blaker, TCI, and on other memorials to Blaker, such as the Eliza Blaker Memorial Room at Butler University and the Eliza Blaker School (Indianapolis Public School No. 55). While most of the collection’s materials are from Blaker and TCI, some items have been added by the Department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University to support research. Items of interest include transcripts of many of Blaker’s speeches, Teachers College of Indianapolis administrative correspondence from both Blaker and the school’s successive leader Emma Colbert, Eliza Blaker Club meeting minutes, a set of early-twentieth century Froebel gifts—educational manipulative tools, such as building blocks, created by Friedrich Froebel for use in teaching kindergarteners—used at the Teachers College of Indianapolis.
MSS 006: Hilton U. Brown Collection
MSS 007: Fred Offutt Collection
MSS 008: Beldon Leonard Collection
MSS 009: Lloyd Family Collection
MSS 010: Adele Piel Meyer Collection
MSS 011: Etheridge Knight Collection
MSS 011: Etheridge Knight Collection (ORIGINAL INVENTORY CIRCA 1997)
MSS 012: Etheridge Knight Addition
MSS 013: Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra Collection
MSS 014: Butler-Tarkington Neighborhood Association Collection
MSS 015: Jean Sibelius Collection (including Addition)
MSS 016: Gaar Williams and Kin Hubbard Collection
MSS 017: Four Freshman Collection
MSS 018: Abraham Lincoln Research Collection (Lincolniana)
MSS 018: Abraham Lincoln Research Collection (Lincolniana) (INVENTORY)
MSS 019: J. Russell Townsend Collection

MSS 082 Anne Fleming & William Miner Butler Scrapbooks
MSS 084: Sigma Gamma Rho Centennial Collection
The Sigma Gamma Rho Centennial Collection contains materials documenting nearly a century of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.’s history, predominately from 1946 through 2014 but including some historical information dating back to the Sorority’s founding in 1922. These materials were collected by the Sorority from the Sorority’s Grand Basilei (Sorority’s Presidents) for the purpose of documenting the history of Sigma Gamma Rho in preparation for the 100th anniversary. The collection contains many materials from the Sorority’s Biennial Boule (international meeting)—especially board and meeting minutes—along with many materials documenting the Sorority’s activities, programs, and people such as correspondence, documents, ephemera, publications, artifacts, clothing, and photographs. The major recurring names in the collection include (alphabetically): Dr. Mynora J. Bryant, Corine J. Green, Evelyn Hood, Dr. Annie Lawrence-Brown, Joann Loveless, Dr. LaRona J. Morris, Helen J. Owens, Dr. Katie K. White, and Dr. Lorraine A. Williams.
MSS 085: Sigma Gamma Rho 75th Anniversary Time Capsule
MSS 090: Jordan College of the Arts Dance Alumni Collection
MSS 091: Schwitzer Hall Scrapbooks (INVENTORY)
MSS 092: Butler University Achievements of Man Lecture Series Papers
MSS 093: Chris Theofanis Papers
MSS 094: Richard Madden Playbills
MSS 095: Indiana and Indianapolis Research Files (INVENTORY)
MSS 098: Sigma Gamma Rho 100th Anniversary Time Capsule
[RESTRICTED] The Sigma Gamma Rho 100th Anniversary Time Capsule includes materials collected by Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. at the time of the Sorority’s 100th anniversary in 2022. The Sorority collected the materials from its regional and international leadership, offices, and organizations. After the conclusion of the Centennial Anniversary Boule (biennial meeting) in 2022, Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University added additional items to the time capsule from the Boule. Items include ephemera and programs from the Centennial Anniversary Boule, a stuffed Sigma Gamma Rho poodle from the Central Region, letters from other Divine Nine Greek organization presidents, Sigma Gamma Rho clothing (e.g. Rhoer jacket, stoles, and gloves; Sigma Gamma Rho Covid mask; scarfs; Sigma Gamma Rho dresses), a “Centennial Survival Kit” with food and personal hygiene items from the Western Region, and lots of Sigma Gamma Rho-branded ephemera and items. The time capsule is to be opened in 2047 during the 125th anniversary of the Sorority’s founding.
MSS 099: Sigma Gamma Rho Realia Collection

Special Collections - Inventory

MSS 001	John E. Potzger Collection
MSS 002	Allegra Stewart Collection
MSS 003	Emma Lou Thornbrough Collection
MSS 004	Ovid Butler Collection
MSS 005	Eliza A. Blaker Collection
MSS 006	Hilton U. Brown Collection
MSS 007	Fred Offutt Collection
MSS 008	Beldon Leonard Collection
MSS 009	Lloyd Family Collection
MSS 010	Adele Piel Meyer Collection
MSS 011	Etheridge Knight Collection
MSS 012	Etheridge Knight Addition
MSS 013	Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra Collection
MSS 014	Butler-Tarkington Neighborhood Association Collection
MSS 015	Jean Sibelius Collection & Addition
MSS 016	Kin Hubbard-Gaar Williams Collection
MSS 017	Four Freshman Collection
MSS 018	Abraham Lincoln Research Collection (Lincolniana)
MSS 019	J. Russell Townsend Collection
MSS 020	Perry K. Zahn Collection
MSS 021	Kay Kenoyer Daily Collection
MSS 022	Katharine Merrill Graydon Papers
MSS 023	Indianapolis Literary Club Collection
MSS 024	Carthon Henley Ressler Collection
MSS 025	Booth Tarkington Collection
MSS 026	James Mulholland Papers
MSS 027	May Schaefer Iske Collection
MSS 028	David M. and Anita C. Silver Lincoln and Civil War Collection
MSS 029	Esther A. Renfrew Paddock Madame de Stael Collection
MSS 030	Alice Bidwell Wesenberg Collection

MSS 031	Jane Messick Papers
MSS 032	William A. Dailey Papers
MSS 033	Howard Caldwell Collection
MSS 034	Myron Miller Papers
MSS 035	Bette Richart Collection
MSS 036	George O. Comfort Papers
MSS 037	Ray C. Friesner Papers
MSS 038	Georgia Ann Baker Pitcher Collection
MSS 039	Steve Abbot Collection
MSS 040	Charles W. Moores Papers
MSS 041	George Marott Papers
MSS 042	Colin Edward King Diary
MSS 043	Rosemary Lang Collection
MSS 044	Almeda F. Lowman and Nellie Hollingsworth Teachers College of Indianapolis Scrapbooks
MSS 045	Rex N. Webster Collection
MSS 046	George M. and Martha S. Waller Collection
MSS 047	Charles A. Henzie Collection
MSS 048	Charles H. Walters Papers
MSS 049	Howard Baetzhold Papers
MSS 050	David Starr Jordan Published Papers

MSS 051	Bernard F. Wurger Playbill Collection
MSS 052	William D. Howe Irvington Athenaeum Papers
MSS 053	Eleanor Vivien Holt Lockwood Collection
MSS 054	Milton Weiner Track Shirts
MSS 055	C.C. "Corky" Bauermeister Football Letter Sweater
MSS 056	Florence Elizabeth Wood Scrapbook
MSS 057	Ruth Duckwall Rasmussen Williams Collection
MSS 058	Horst Family Collection
MSS 059	Herb Schwomeyer Collection
MSS 060	Ed Shaughnessy Papers
MSS 061	Emily M. Helming Papers
MSS 062	Bill Davis Collection
MSS 063	Lewis Vogeler Rare Book Catalog Records
MSS 064	Vivian S. Delbrook Collection
MSS 065	Delbert F. Kleis Collection
MSS 066	Kathryn M. Brown Collection
MSS 067	McGugin Family Papers
MSS 068	Louise Eleanor Ross Kleinhenz Collection
MSS 069	George Cullen Thomas Papers
MSS 070	Carrie Eliza Benham Collection

MSS 071	Opal J. Bennett Papers
MSS 072	Ken Otterstedt Collection
MSS 073	Deaccessioned (see MSS-SM 089 Universidad de León Collection)
MSS 074	Jordan College of the Arts Scrapbook & Ephemera Collection
MSS 075	Marjorie Iba Butler University Scrapbook & Ephemera Collection
MSS 076	Robert Dunn Photobook
MSS 077	Don Wilson Butler University Basketball Scrapbooks
MSS 078	Butler University Student Life Scrapbooks, 1949-1952
MSS 079	Scrapbook of Butler University from 1922 to 1923
MSS 080	Butler University Class of 1912 Reunion Scrapbook
MSS 081	Berneatha Irene O'Dell Scrapbook
MSS 082	Anne Fleming & William Miner Butler Scrapbooks
MSS 083	Photo Album of 1974 Shortridge High School Senior Class
MSS 084	Sigma Gamma Rho Centennial Collection
MSS 085	Sigma Gamma Rho Time Capsule
MSS 086	Paul Hanson Papers
MSS 087	Dale Beeler World War I Primary Source Papers
MSS 088	Elizabeth Meyer Papers
MSS 089	F. Madden Brut Transcription
MSS 090	Jordan College of the Arts Dance Alumni Collection

MSS 091	Schwitizer Hall Scrapbooks
MSS 092	Butler University Achievements of Man Lecture Series Papers
MSS 093	Chris Theofanis Collection
MSS 094	Richard Madden Playbills
MSS 095	Indiana and Indianapolis Research Files
MSS 096	John P. Kondelik "Butler University and the Dream of Distinction" Papers
MSS 097	Eileen Poston Collection
MSS 098	Sigma Gamma Rho 100th Anniversary Time Capsule
MSS 099	Sigma Gamma Rho Realia Collection
MSS 100	Indiana: A Shared Place; Many Peoples, Many Arts
MSS 101	Butler University Air Force ROTC Papers
MSS 102	Will D. Howe "The Shoemaker's Holiday" Scrapbook
MSS 103	Butler-Tarkington Neighborhood "Harmony in Dissonance" Oral History Project
MSS 104	Creative Options for Reaching Excellence (CORE) Oral Histories
MSS 105	Meridian String Quartet Recordings
MSS 106	James and Betsy Berry South Seas Collection
MSS 107	A Day in the Life of a Butler Student at Indy Pride
MSS 108	Fortnightly Literary Book Club Collection


MSS 2023.005	Mari Evans Home Library Project Papers
MSS 2023.016	Susan Neville Papers

MSS-SM 001	J. Joseph Riley Papers
MSS-SM 002	Nita P. Walker Papers
MSS-SM 003	Beulah Mae Smith Diary
MSS-SM 004	Alexander Weinstein Cavins Papers
MSS-SM 005	Eva Young Wiles Autobiography
MSS-SM 006	James Alexander Hanlin Civil War Letters
MSS-SM 007	Eaton Family Civil War Letters
MSS-SM 008	Eleanor A. Taylor Scrapbook
MSS-SM 009	William Marshall Papers
MSS-SM 010	William B. and Mary E. Johnson Diplomas
MSS-SM 011	Jack C. Miller Papers
MSS-SM 012	Elsie Felt Blue Books
MSS-SM 013	No Collection
MSS-SM 014	Vivian S. Delbrook Collection
MSS-SM 015	Opal J. Bennet Papers
MSS-SM 016	Butler University Army Air Force Band Photographs
MSS-SM 017	Bernetha Irene O'Dell Scrapbook
MSS-SM 018	No Collection
MSS-SM 019	Christopher Cox Papers
MSS-SM 020	Notebook from Dr. Ray C. Friesner's 1929 Plant Physiology Class
MSS-SM 021	Barbara Fowler Papers
MSS-SM 022	Holcomb Family 1928-1929 Vacation Notebooks
MSS-SM 023	Clarence LaRue Goodwin Autobiography
MSS-SM 024	Harold R. Swartz Papers
MSS-SM 025	Matthias Davis Papers
MSS-SM 026	William R. Mathews Autobiography
MSS-SM 027	"Queen of My Dreams" Musical Comedy Papers
MSS-SM 028	Black Family Collection
MSS-SM 029	Mary Catherine Wild Collection
MSS-SM 030	Charles T. Whitsett Collection
MSS-SM 031	Margaret Habich Papers
MSS-SM 032	John Henry Oliver Smith Collection
MSS-SM 033	Ernest Paul Fink Collection
MSS-SM 034	Gertrude Hecker Winders Scrapbook
MSS-SM 035	Samuel K. Hoshour Lecture Notes
MSS-SM 036	Butler University Course Lectures and Lecture Notes
MSS-SM 037	Charles E. Feinberg Walt Whitman Papers
MSS-SM 038	Irving Fine and Robert W. Smith Correspondence
MSS-SM 039	Hungarian Plays
MSS-SM 040	Joanna J. Hall Transcriptions and Papers

MSS-SM 041	Richard W. Anderson Jr. Collection
MSS-SM 042	Joseph Arthur Berry Papers
MSS-SM 043	Betty Murnan-Smith Papers
MSS-SM 044	Milton Farber Papers
MSS-SM 045	Marjorie Schock Papers
MSS-SM 046	Uldene Christenberry Diploma
MSS-SM 047	DeWitt Brown Papers
MSS-SM 048	Horace Tudor's 1985 "A Book of Memories"
MSS-SM 049	Robert Mansfield's 2000 "Moon Over Maui"
MSS-SM 050	Norman Wilkens' 2020 "Treasures"
MSS-SM 051	Leo Harper's "Leo Remembers"
MSS-SM 052	Charles Walters' 1999 "Letters from an American Soldier, 1941-1946"
MSS-SM 053	Patricia Douglass' "Variations Handbook"
MSS-SM 054	Werner Seidler Herbal (Kreuterbuch/Krauterbuch) Translation Papers
MSS-SM 055	Sally Moore-Betty Gour Course Papers
MSS-SM 056	Cassandra Crowley-Betty Gour Course Papers
MSS-SM 057	No Collection
MSS-SM 058	Mary Ann Malott Drawings
MSS-SM 059	Helen A. Wesp Teachers College of Indianapolis Photo Album
MSS-SM 060	William M. French Scrapbook
MSS-SM 061	Bishir/Eberly Collection
MSS-SM 062	Jerome L. Musher Butler University Military Training Photographs
MSS-SM 063	Nicholas M. Cripe Essays on Butler University Debate
MSS-SM 064	Edmond Hamby and Henry Bade Civil War Diary
MSS-SM 065	Butler University WWII Army Air Force Band Photographs
MSS-SM 066	Hilton U. Brown Theatre - Starlight Musical
MSS-SM 067	Florence Smock Papers
MSS-SM 068	1940 Butler University Graduate Commencement Photographs
MSS-SM 069	Jan Schmidt-William McDermott Correspondence
MSS-SM 070	Golden Thomas Oral History on Teachers College of Indianapolis
MSS-SM 071	Butler University 2002 9/11 Memorial Book
MSS-SM 072	Thomas A. Hendricks Newspaper Articles
MSS-SM 073	Bruce Bigelow Papers
MSS-SM 074	Thomas Carr Howe Family Letter
MSS-SM 075	"White Petals" Manuscript
MSS-SM 085	History, Anthropology, and Classics (HAC) 101 Student Projects
MSS-SM 086	William Z. and Sherry M. King Butler University Collection
MSS-SM 087	Teresa Eppley Kofodimos Butler University Piano & Organ Class Materials
MSS-SM 088	Charters Collection Images
MSS-SM 089	Universidad de León Collection

PRI 001	Jeanette Siron Pelton Botanical Prints
PRI 002	Zoological Prints
PRI 003	Manuscripts
PRI 004	Jean de La Fontaine Les Fables Prints
PRI 005	Alexander Wilson American Ornithology Prints
PRI 006	Richard A. Davis Butler University Faculty Portraits
PRI 007	Portraits of Authors Collection
PRI 008	Tibetan Buddhist Woodblock Prints
PRI 009	Giovanni Battista Piranesi Engravings
PRI 010	15th and 16th Century English Indentures and Contracts (Vellum)
PRI 011	Antiphony Leaves (Vellum)

Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives

Contact

Search SC, RB, and UA

Special Collections - Frequently Requested Collection Guides

Special Collections - Collection Guides

Special Collections - Inventory

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS