Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives

Official Website for the Department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University

Rare Books

The Rare Books collection contains items dating as far back as 1473. Some collecting strengths include South Pacific peoples and cultures during the 18th and early 19th centuries (William F. Charters South Seas Collection), Madame de Stael (Esther A. Renfrew Paddock Madame de Stael Collection), early educational materials (Dellinger Education Collection), herbology and botanists, and Native Americans. In addition, the department’s reference section contains information on Butler University history, local history of Indianapolis and Indiana, rare book history and fine bindings, and archives management.

Below is information on some of the larger rare book collections held in Special Collections. 

William F. Charters South Seas Collection

William F. Charters collected books on the history and cultures of the South Seas and its native peoples. Upon his death in 1931, he donated his book collection to Butler University. Special Collections continues to add books to an addition of the collection to support this collecting area.


Searching in the Online Catalog

To search the collection in the online catalog: 

1. Go to butler.edu/library.

2. Select "Advanced Search."

3. In the "Search Term" field for "Search Index" selection of "Keyword," type "b8:(Charters)" (this will narrow the results to only books within the Charters South Seas Collection (original donation)and the Charters Additions Collection (books added after the original donation). 

4. (OPTIONAL) Directly below on the next line, make sure "Operator" is selected as "AND", "Search Index" is "Keyword," and then input your desired keyword search in the field "Search Term." 

5. In the "Held By Library" section (towards the bottom of the page), click the box for "Special Collections" (this will narrow the results to books only held within Special Collections). 

6. Click "Search."


Additional Information

George Dellinger Education Collection

George Dellinger collected late-19th and early-20th century textbooks, which he donated to Special Collections. Dellinger also worked in Special Collections after donating his collection. Special Collections adds new materials to an addition of this collection to support this collecting area. 


Searching in the Online Catalog

To search the collection in the online catalog: 

1. Go to butler.edu/library.

2. Select "Advanced Search."

3. In the "Search Term" field for "Search Index" selection of "Keyword," type "b8:(Dellinger)" (this will narrow the results to only show books within the Dellinger Textbook Collection). 

4. (OPTIONAL) Directly below on the next line, make sure "Operator" is selected as "AND," "Search Index" is "Keyword," and then input your desired keyword search in the field "Search Term." 

5. In the "Held By Library" section (towards the bottom of the page), click the box for "Special Collections" (this will narrow the results to books only held within Special Collections). 

6. Click "Search."

Madame de Stael Research Collection

The Madame de Stael Research Collection is a department-maintained collection of secondary sources about the life of Madame de Stael, a political activist during the French Revolution. Special Collections continues to add contemporary publications to support this collecting area.

This research collection supplements another collection held by the department: the Esther A. Renfrew Paddock Madame de Stael Collection (MSS 029). Esther A. Renfrew Paddock was a Butler University French professor who donated her research materials-and some primary source materials-about Madame de Stael after her retirement in 1978


Searching in the Online Catalog

To search the related materials in the online catalog (and to receive the most results): 

  1. Go to butler.edu/library.
  2. Select "Advanced Search."
  3. In the drop-down menu on the first line for "Search Index," select "Author." In the following "Search Term" field, input the following Library of Congress controlled vocabulary term: Staël, Madame de (Anne-Louise-Germaine), 1766-1817.
  4. In the drop-down menu on the second line for "Operator," select "OR."
  5. In the drop-down menu on the second line for "Search Index," select "Subject." In the following "Search Term" field, input the following Library of Congress controlled vocabulary term: Staël, Madame de (Anne-Louise-Germaine), 1766-1817.
  6. In the "Held By Library" section (towards the bottom of the page), click the box for "Special Collections" (this will narrow the results to books only held within Special Collections). 
  7. Click "Search."

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter