Research Guides (LibGuides): Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives: University Archives

University Archives

University Archives documents and preserves the history and records of Butler University. Materials within this institutional archive were created by or for Butler University, specifically those relating to the institution's operations and history. The collection is a combination of official institutional records and correspondence, student and alumni organizational records and ephemera, institutional publications, and research collections maintained by the department. Some frequently used resources and collections include academic bulletins and catalogs, alumni directories, The Butler Alumnal Quarterly (now published as the Butler Magazine), The Butler Collegian (student-run newspaper), The Drift (yearbook), the Butler University Buildings and Grounds Collection (which includes text, visual images, and select architectural plans), and the Butler University Biographical Files Collection.

Below are the following sections of information:

Frequently Requested Collection Guides
Selection of Digital Resources
University Archives Collection Guides
University Archives Classification System
University Archives Inventory
Additional Resources

NOTE: More collection guides will be made available from this page as collections continue to be processed. Some of the collection guides listed are older and outdated but have been made available in their current states to allow researchers a point of access. These collection guides will be updated to reflect new information and inventories as reprocessing takes place.

Please contact Special Collections with questions.

Frequently Requested Collection Guides

UA00.01: Butler University Buildings and Grounds Collection
The Butler University Buildings and Grounds Collection includes text materials (correspondence, documents, ephemera, publications), images (illustrations, photographs), and architectural plans relating to buildings and grounds owned by, used by, or associated with Butler University, circa 1855–present.
UA00.10: Butler University in America's Wars Collection
The Butler University in America’s Wars Collection (UA00.10) contains both primary and secondary sources documenting the role of the University and its affiliated students, faculty, staff, and alumni during the Civil War, Spanish-American War, World War I, and World War II, 1862–1946. For all of the wars covered in the collection, there are research files documenting the students who participated. The majority of the collection documents the University during World War II. These materials include general research files—including a history outline—administrative papers, official payroll records, a ledger containing names of affiliated individuals who served during the war, the “Two Block” newsletter, information on the 52nd College Training Detachment of the Army Air Force and Naval Training School (which was operated out of the University’s Hinkle Fieldhouse), and student correspondence and ephemeral materials donated from two individuals. A highlight of the collection is the Butler University World War I service flag. This collection is maintained by Special Collections.
JCA Department of Theatre Records
The Jordan College of the Arts (JCA) Department of Theatre Records (UA04.06) contains materials documenting the history of the Butler University Department of Theatre’s productions for over seventy-five years, circa 1946 to 2022. Select types of materials found in the collection include ephemera, photographs, posters, programs, and newspaper clippings and other research files.

Selection of Digital Resources

The following are a selection of resources (some available online and others only described) that are held in University Archives. While this is not a full inventory of what University Archives holds, it is a starting place for researchers.

Academic Bulletins
Academic bulletins and catalogues provide information on course offerings, student lists, and even institutional history depending on the year. Copies from 1855 to 1904 are available online. The department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives holds a nearly full run through the present.
Butler Alumnal Quarterly (Alumni Magazine)
The Butler Alumnal Quarterly was the first alumni publication produced by Butler University. This first iteration of a publication for alumni ran from 1912 to 1937; the publication changed titles after 1937 and after several changes and revisions lives on today as the Butler Magazine. The Butler Alumnal Quarterly from 1912 to 1923 is available online. A nearly full run of alumni publications are held in the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives. Other miscellaneous institutional publications are also held in Special Collections.
Butler Alumni Directories
Butler University has published several directories of alumni over the years. Two editions are available online (1855-1900; 1856-1912); due to copyright and privacy issues, newer editions are not available online. The department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives holds copies of alumni directories.
Butler University Student Newspaper (The Butler Collegian)
The Butler Collegian is the Butler University student-run newspaper on campus. Most issues are available to view online. The department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives holds a near-full run of the Butler Collegian.
See the Resource Guides section on the Special Collections website for more detailed information on accessing and searching the Butler Collegian.
Butler University Yearbook (The Drift)
The Drift is the Butler University yearbook. All editions are available online. The department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives holds a full run of the Drift. See the Resource Guides section on the Special Collections website for more detailed information on accessing and searching the Drift.

University Archives - Collection Guides

UA00.00: Butler University Research Files
The Butler University Research Files Collection (UA00.00) includes records—which were created by the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University—that cover various research topics related to the history of Butler University. The records exist to help in answering frequently asked and unique research questions regarding the University and to provide future access to any findings. This collection is maintained by Special Collections.
UA00.01: Butler University Buildings and Grounds Collection
The Butler University Buildings and Grounds Collection includes text materials (correspondence, documents, ephemera, publications), images (illustrations, photographs), and architectural plans relating to buildings and grounds owned by, used by, or associated with Butler University, circa 1855–present.
UA00.02: Butler University Biography Research Files
The Butler University Biography Research Files Collection (UA00.02) includes records—which were created by the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University—containing general information along with primary and secondary sources about Butler University faculty, staff, students, alumni, and administrators. The records exist to help in answering commonly asked and unique research questions about individuals associated with the University and providing future access to any findings. This collection is maintained by Special Collections.
UA00.03: Butler University Events Research Collection
The Butler University Events Research Collection includes correspondence, documents, ephemera, and publications documenting significant events held at and traditions of Butler University. Such events documented within the collection include Commencement and Baccalaureate, Homecoming (including predecessor and related gatherings such as Alumni Day and alumni reunions), Founders’ Day, and general campus convocations. The collection includes many primary source materials (including ephemeral leaflets and pamphlets, mailings, and programs) in addition to research files that contain originals as well as photocopies of articles and other secondary sources documenting events. This collection is maintained by Special Collections.
UA00.04: Butler University Publications Collection
The Butler University Publications Collection contains publications published by, for, under, or in association with Butler University (including predecessor institutions). Types of publications in the collection include: annual reports; bulletins and catalogues; directories; handbooks; serials and periodicals; and non-serials, monographs, and reports. This collection is not comprehensive but contains many miscellaneous or small-run publications; Butler University publications that have longer publication histories or have already been catalogued and are findable using the Butler University Libraries online catalog are not included in this collection (e.g. The Drift, The Butler Collegian, Manuscripts). The collection is maintained by Special Collections.
UA00.05: Butler University Ephemera
The Butler University Ephemera (UA00.05) collection contains ephemeral materials created by, for, under, or in association with Butler University, circa 1950–2021. The definition of ephemera—according to the Society of American Archivists’ Dictionary of Archives Terminology—is “Materials, usually printed documents, created for a specific, limited purpose, and generally designed to be discarded after use.” Select types of materials found in the collection include advertisements, announcements, cards, clippings, flyers, invitations, keepsakes, leaflets, memorabilia, pamphlets, postcards, programs, promotional materials, samples, signs, and souvenirs. General topics include University promotions, campus news, general University event announcements, department information and news, and student and faculty organization information. Specific topics include Welcome Week leaflets and pamphlets; student, faculty and staff, and alumni appreciation event materials; Family Weekend and Parent Guides; and general student organization and Greek organization booklets. This collection is maintained by Special Collections.
UA00.06: Butler University Artifacts
The Butler University Artifacts (UA00.06) collection contains a variety of objects created by, for, under, or in association with Butler University (including predecessor institutions) in addition to unassociated individuals and companies to sell to University-associated individuals, circa 1900–2020. The definition of artifact—according to the Society of American Archivists’ Dictionary of Archives Terminology—is “a physical object that is made or modified by human culture” or “a library or archival resource that has value as a physical object in addition to its informational content.” The purpose of these objects varies but includes to advertise, promote, or serve to represent the University in some manner. Select items include band uniforms, banners, basketballs, buttons, cards, clothing, pennants, mascot costumes, souvenirs, etc. This collection is maintained by Special Collections.
UA 009: Butler University Audio and Audiovisual Materials
The Butler University Audio and Audiovisual Materials (UA00.07) collection contains audio and audiovisual materials created by, for, under, or in association with Butler University, 1963–2021. Select media formats include audiocassettes, magnetic tapes (e.g. reel-to-reel film), phonograph records, and videodiscs. Select topics include commencement ceremonies, marketing and promotion, and University events. This collection is maintained by Special Collections.
UA00.08: Butler University Photographs and Visual Images
Butler University Photographs and Visual Images (UA00.08) contains photographs and visual images of Butler University people, places, events, activities, and other associated or representative objects and occurrences, circa 1870–2021. Select mediums include printed photographs, negatives, slides, glass-plate negatives, film, etc. Select topics include campus, historical University images, marketing and promotion, University marching band, and student life and activities. Most photographs have been gathered from various sources, but several sub-collections came directly from University Marketing. This collection is maintained by Special Collections.
UA00.09: Butler University Course Materials and Student Assignments
Butler University Course Materials and Student Assignments (UA.00.09) contains materials created by Butler University students, faculty, and staff for University courses, circa 1960–2020. This collection is not a comprehensive or consistent sampling of student work but a random selection of course materials gathered by Special Collections over the years. Types of materials include ephemera, homework assignments, pamphlets, and syllabi. Some highlights include syllabi from “Teleclass” courses that allowed remote learning off campus using a television; undergraduate student papers about subjects and people relating to the Butler-Tarkington Neighborhood (GE313: Urban Geography); a time capsule compiled by undergraduate students during the University’s sesquicentennial celebrations in 2005–2006 (HN200: 150 Years of Butler); and undergraduate student papers about the effects of the Civil War on Butler University (HN200: Butler in the Civil War). This collection is maintained by Special Collections.
UA00.10: Butler University in America's Wars Collection
The Butler University in America’s Wars Collection (UA00.10) contains both primary and secondary sources documenting the role of the University and its affiliated students, faculty, staff, and alumni during the Civil War, Spanish-American War, World War I, and World War II, 1862–1946. For all of the wars covered in the collection, there are research files documenting the students who participated. The majority of the collection documents the University during World War II. These materials include general research files—including a history outline—administrative papers, official payroll records, a ledger containing names of affiliated individuals who served during the war, the “Two Block” newsletter, information on the 52nd College Training Detachment of the Army Air Force and Naval Training School (which was operated out of the University’s Hinkle Fieldhouse), and student correspondence and ephemeral materials donated from two individuals. A highlight of the collection is the Butler University World War I service flag. This collection is maintained by Special Collections.
UA 001: Butler University Newspaper Clippings
The Butler University Newspaper Clippings (UA 001) collection contains an assortment of newspaper clippings about the University, related news, associated events, and its students, faculty, staff, and alumni, covering the years 1935 to 2019. The majority of these items were collected by University departments, faculty, and staff to document and track the history of the University; over time, the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University has added to the collection. While some of the newspaper clippings are loose and contained in folders, there are twenty scrapbook albums with numerous newspaper clippings pasted into the pages, covering the years 1935 to 1960. Topics include student life and sports, campus events, and general news relating to the University both on campus and within the city, state, and country. This collection is maintained by Special Collections. It does not include clippings from the Butler student newspaper, The Collegian.

Collection Guides & a selection of predecessor access lists for the Board of Trustees Papers (UA 003)

These access lists were created by the department of Special Collections prior to 1995. They provide basic information that can be found in the minutes such as general subjects, meeting dates, and a chronological listing of topics covered in the meeting minutes (for only particular years); researchers may then contact Special Collections with specific questions about content or may schedule a research visit to view the minutes themselves.

UA 040: Staff Assembly

UA 142: Butler University Student Disability Services

JCA Department of Theatre Records
The Jordan College of the Arts (JCA) Department of Theatre Records (UA04.06) contains materials documenting the history of the Butler University Department of Theatre’s productions for over seventy-five years, circa 1946 to 2022. Select types of materials found in the collection include ephemera, photographs, posters, programs, and newspaper clippings and other research files.

Status: Collection Guide Creation

UA05.00.01: Butler University Student and Alumni Organization Research Files
The Butler University Student and Alumni Organization Research Files (UA05.00.01) includes records—which were created by the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University—about select student and alumni organizations at the University. The records exist to help in answering common questions about these organizations. While the collection is not comprehensive, it serves as a starting point in the research of student and alumni organizations at the University. This collection is maintained by Special Collections.
UA05.00.02: Butler University Greek Organization Research Files
The Butler University Greek Organization Research Files (UA05.00.02) includes records—which were created by the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University—about select Greek organizations at the University. The records exist to help in answering common questions about these Greek organizations, including fraternities and sororities. While the collection is not comprehensive, it serves as a starting point in the research of Greek organizations at the University. This collection is maintained by Special Collections.
UA05.00.03: Butler University Professional and Honorary Society Research Files
The Butler University Professional and Honorary Society Research Files (UA05.00.03) includes records—which were created by the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University—about select professional and honorary societies at the University. The records exist to help in answering common questions about these professional and honorary societies. While the collection is not comprehensive, it serves as a starting point in the research of professional and honorary societies at the University. This collection is maintained by Special Collections.

Status: Processing

University Archives - Inventory

As of June 2021, the inventory of the University Archives at Butler University is incomplete. The department is in the process of completing the first University Archives inventory in order to provide more information about the collections to patrons, including information such as their size, contents, and provenance. In addition, most of the materials are unprocessed or have not been fully organized and reviewed.

For more information on University Archives and its holdings, please contact Special Collections.

The University Archives collection is organized using a classification system. As of July 2024, this classification system is being updated. Pardon our mess!

Materials are regularly accepted and added to University Archives, primarily from Butler University departments and individuals associated with the institution. Department records held by University Archives may not be processed or have a completed collection guide due to time constraints.

UA 001	Butler University Research Files (formerly UA00.00)
UA 002	Butler University Buildings and Grounds Collection (formerly UA00.01)
UA 003	Butler University Biography Research Files (formerly UA00.02)
UA 004	Butler University Honorary Degree Recipients
UA 005	Butler University Events Collection (formerly UA00.03)
UA 006	Butler University Publications (formerly UA00.04)
UA 007	Butler University Ephemera (formerly UA00.05)
UA 008	Butler University Artifacts (formerly UA00.06)
UA 009	Butler University Audio and Audiovisual Collection (formerly UA00.09)
UA 010	Butler University Photographs (formerly UA00.08)
UA 011	Butler University Historical
UA 012	Butler University Posters and Illustrations
UA 013	Butler University Newspaper Clippings (formerly UA00.11/UA 001)
UA 014	Butler University Course Materials and Class Assignments
UA 015	Butler University in America's Wars Collection (formerly UA00.10)
UA 016	Butler University Selected History Publications and Speeches

UA 017	Butler University Charters and Bylaws (formerly UA 002)
UA 018	Butler University Board of Trustees Papers (formerly UA 003)
UA 019	Butler University Finance Records
UA 020	Butler University Presidents' Office Files (1907-1928)
UA 021	Allen R. Benton (1861-1868, 1886-1891)
UA 022	Winifred Garrison (1904-1906)
UA 023	Scot Butler (1891-1904, 1906-1907)
UA 024	Thomas Carr Howe (1908-1920)
UA 025	Robert J. Alley (1921-1931)
UA 026	Walter S. Athearn (1931-1933)
UA 027	M.O. Ross (1942-1962)
UA 028	Alexander E. Jones (1962-1977)
UA 029	John G. Johnson (1978-1988)
UA 030	Geoffrey Bannister (1989-2000)
UA 031	Gwen Fountain (2000-2001)
UA 032	Bobby Fong (2001-2011)
UA 033	James Danko (2011-Present)
UA 034	PLACEHOLDER (Future Butler University President Collection)
UA 035	Academic Affairs
UA 036	Dean's Council (Administrative Council)
UA 037	Capital Campaigns
UA 038	Butler Foundation

UA 039	Faculty Senate (Faculty Assembly)
UA 040	Staff Assembly
UA 041	Sabbatical Leave and Fellowship
UA 042	American Association of University Women (AAUW)
UA 043	American Association of University Professors (AAUP)
UA 044	Butler University Women's Faculty Club
UA 045	Women's Caucus
UA 046	Social Justice and Diversity Committee

UA 047	Admissions
UA 048	Advancement and Development
UA 049	Alumni Office (Alumni Association)
UA 050	Facilities
UA 051	Financial Aid
UA 052	Office of Registration and Records
UA 053	Human Resources
UA 054	Marketing and Communications
UA 055	IT
UA 056	Public Affairs and Public Relations
UA 057	Butler University Police Department
UA 058	WTBU
UA 059	Center for Global Education (Study Abroad)
UA 060	Office for Institutional Research
UA 061	Butler Art Committee
UA 062	Gender Equity Commission
UA 063	Butler Alliance
UA 064	Friesner Herbarium
UA 065	Center for Faith and Vocation
UA 066	Butler Club
UA 067	Clowes Hall-Butler Arts and Events Center
UA 142	BU Student Disability Services

UA 068	School of Liberal Arts and Sciences (University College)
UA 069	College of Religion (Christian Theological Seminary)
UA 070	College of Education (Teacher's College of Indianapolis)
UA 071	Andre B. Lacy School of Business
UA 072	College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (Indianapolis College of Pharmacy)
UA 073	Jordan College of the Arts (Jordan College of the Fine Arts; Arthur Jordan Conservatory of Music)
UA 074	Jordan Theatre Department Records (formerly UA04.06)
UA 075	College of Communication
UA 076	Butler University Libraries
UA 077	Holcomb Research Institute
UA 078	School of Physical Education and Athletics
UA 079	Unnamed Collection - In Process (Evening Division/Evening College/Extended Programs)
UA 080	Founder's College

UA 081	Research Files, General (formerly UA05.00.01)
UA 082	Research Files, Greek Societies (formerly UA05.00.02)
UA 083	Research Files, Professional and Honorary Societies (formerly UA05.00.03)
UA 084	Mathesian Society
UA 085	Pythonian Society
UA 086	Athenian Literary Society
UA 087	Demia Butler Society
UA 088	Philokurian Society
UA 089	Catharine Merrill Club
UA 090	Delta Sigma Rho-Tau Kappa Alpha (Debate Club)
UA 091	Butler Alumnae Literary Club
UA 092	Association of Women Students
UA 093	Women's League
UA 094	Welwyn Club
UA 095	Association of Independent Students (Butler Independent Association)
UA 096	Scarlet Quill
UA 097	Odd Topics Society
UA 098	Computer Association
UA 099	YMCA/YWCA
UA 100	Butler Troop of Campus Girl Scouts
UA 101	Mothers' Council
UA 102	Parents' Association
UA 103	Spurs
UA 104	Kappa Kappa Psi/Tau Beta Sigma (Band Fraternity)
UA 105	Sigma Chi
UA 106	Sigma Alpha Mu
UA 107	Trianon
UA 108	Phi Kappa Phi
UA 109	Sigma Alpha Iota
UA 110	Pi Epsilon Phi
UA 111	Mu Phi Epsilon Honorary Music Society
UA 112	Phi Mu Alpha
UA 113	Phi Beta Kappa
UA 114	Alpha Lambda Delta
UA 115	Women in Communication (preceded by Scribblers' Club and Theta Sigma Phi)
UA 116	Delta Delta Delta
UA 117	Sigma Nu
UA 118	Physician Assistant (PA) Student Society
UA 119	The Drift
UA 120	Marching Band
UA 121	Student Government Association (Student Assembly; Student Senate)

The Athletics section of the University Archives is currently being processed, along with the creation of collection guides. This section is scheduled to be completed by Fall 2024.

The unprocessed collection contains information on early Butler Athletic Records (1887-1959), Butler Athletic Hall of Fame (1992-2012), Butler's B-Men's Association/B-Association (1964-2012), Butler Track and Field and Relays (1924-1942), Men's Basketball, Women's Basketball, Baseball, Volleyball and more.

UA 122	BU Athletics Records
UA 123	BU Athletic Hall of Fame
UA 124	BU Athletics Camps
UA 125	BU Athletics Publications
UA 126	BU B-Men's Association (B-Association)
UA 127	BU Baseball
UA 128	BU Men's Basketball
UA 129	BU Women's Basketball
UA 130	BU Cross Country
UA 131	BU Cycling
UA 132	BU Football
UA 133	BU Golf
UA 134	BU Intramural Activities
UA 135	BU Lacrosse
UA 136	BU Soccer
UA 137	BU Softball
UA 138	BU Swimming
UA 139	BU Tennis
UA 140	BU Track and Field
UA 141	BU Volleyball

Additional Resources

Resource Guides
Guides created by the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives that provide details for accessing and searching select materials in Special Collections.
Butler University Digital Commons
Official institutional repository of Butler University. In addition to institutional publications, theses, and other documents, it also contains some digitized collections from the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives, including yearbooks and some University bulletins.

Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives

Archivist

Contact

Search SC, RB, and UA

Frequently Requested Collection Guides

Selection of Digital Resources

University Archives - Collection Guides

University Archives - Inventory

Additional Resources

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS