Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives

Official Website for the Department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University

Department Hours

May 2022

Special Collections is closed from Monday, May 9 to Monday, August 1. Irwin Library is closed for the summer due to construction.

Please contact us with questions. Answers may take longer than usual due to limited access to materials with the building being closed. Our contact information is:

  • specialcollections@butler.edu,  (317) 940-9136

For more information on Special Collections and our holdings, please visit the Special Collections website.

For more information on services and policies offered by Butler University Libraries, please visit the Library website

Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives at Butler University actively works to preserve the history of the University and support faculty teaching and student research. 

Search the Butler University Libraries catalog for the Department's book holdings. To explore the Department's unique collections, use the Department website to find collection guides and inventories, University history resources, and more information on the Library's digital collections. 

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorors at 1972 Boule, Monument Circle, Indianapolis, Indiana

Proposed landscaping design for Irwin Library, circa 1963

Cropped panoramic photograph of Butler University students on Monument Circle, Indianapolis, Indiana, 1922

Woodblock print of Mark Twain by Richard Davis (Butler University Librarian)

Aerial of Butler University, 1989

Demia Butler, first woman to graduate from the Classical course at the University and daughter of the University's founder Ovid Butler

Irwin Library, Butler University, Indianapolis, Indiana, 1994

Aerial photograph of Butler University, circa 1928

Manuscript painting on paper with text in Sanscrit, and two scenes from the life of Krishna, nineteenth century

Sketch of Ovid Butler, 1826

The first building of Butler University (formerly North Western Christian University) on its first campus at College Avenue and 13th Street, Indianapolis, Indiana, circa 1855-1875

Chinese manuscript, circa 1860

Butler University's second campus in Irvington, Indianapolis, Indiana, 1908

Search Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives

Search Butler University Libraries online catalog for materials held by the department of Special Collections, Rare Books, and University Archives:

Material Format (Optional):

Advanced Search                                                                                    Powered by 

CONTACT

Email Butler University Libraries
Irwin Library: 317-940-9227
Science Library: 317-940-9937
CAT: 317-940-8575

Like us on FacebookInstagramFollow us on Twitter