Research Guides (LibGuides): HST 352: American InJustice (Deno): The Prison as a Social History of the US: Research

Resources

Indianapolis Star (1903-2004) This link opens in a new window
Historical backfile for the Indianapolis Star

Hoosier State Chronicles
Free, online access to high quality digital images of Indiana's historic newspapers from the collection of the Indiana State Library
Indiana State Archives
Search the index of collections available from the Indiana State Archives.
History Reference Center
This database features full text for thousands of primary source documents and informational texts.
History Vault (ProQuest)
ProQuest History Vault contains archival materials such as digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Includes articles, advertisements, editorials, and images from numerous newspapers throughout the 19th century.
Black Studies Center (ProQuest)
Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
Race Relations in America
This resource sheds light on the fascinating work of the Race Relations Department through the digitization of extensive records from the Department’s archives, now held at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans.
Slavery & Anti-Slavery
Primary source archive related to the history of slavery covering the years of 1490-1896.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Primary source collection on trans-Atlantic slavery and abolition with original manuscript and rare printed material from dozens of archives.
U.S. History in Context
History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
Women & Social Movements in the United States (1600-2000)
Intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.

Keeping Track of Your Research

There are many options for research management tools, but ultimately, you're looking for two things: something to manage your references and something to manage your notes, outlines, and other pre-writing products. This is just personal preference, but I would suggest you try a few free tools to get a sense of them. Most products with a cost associated with them have a free trial version. Please don't purchase anything just because it's listed here; try it out first and see how it fits into your workflow.

Reference Manager

Zotero
Check out this introduction to Zotero.
Mendeley
Check out this introduction to Mendeley.
sizdom.ai
Bookends
Papers

Notetaking & Organization

OneNote
Evernote
Simplenote
Google Keep
Check out this introduction to Google Keep.
Dropbox Paper
Workflowy
Scrivener
Fargo

HST 352: American InJustice (Deno): The Prison as a Social History of the US: Research

Resources

Keeping Track of Your Research

Learning, Writing, and Researching Resources

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS