Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Questions? Ask Butler Libraries
Butler Libraries: Irwin Library, Science Library, and Education Resouce Library
For immediate assistance, chat with the Information Commons desk.
To contact the librarian that supports the discipline or subject area covered by this LibGuide, email Sally Neal, Associate Dean for Instruction and User Services, email@example.com.
Check the Butler Libraries' website for regular semester hours and holiday and break hours.
Text us: (317) 758-3551
Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Clinical Pharmacology provides up-to-date, peer reviewed, clinically-relevant information on all U.S. drugs, as well as off-label uses and dosages, herbal supplements, nutritional and over-the-counter products, and new and investigational drugs.
Facts & Comparisons 4.0 This link opens in a new window
For more than sixty years, Facts and Comparisons has been the professionals' source for drug information. Includes many standard drug information reference texts, black box warnings, medication guides, a manufacturer index, and much more.
Lexi-Comp Online This link opens in a new window
Clinical Reference Library integrates industry leading clinical databases, drug interactions, and drug images.
Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics This link opens in a new window
"The Medical Letter, Inc. is committed to providing objective, practical, and timely information on drugs and treatments of common diseases to help our readers make the best decisions for their patients—without the influence of the pharmaceutical industry."
Micromedex Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window
Full text from the compilation of databases including Poisondex, Drugdex, Emerindex, Identidex, etc. covering drug information, drug therapy, and toxicology.
Pharmacist's Letter This link opens in a new window
Mobile app available: create a PL Login through the BU authenticated link first Pharmacist's Letter is a clinical resource tailored for pharmacists, covering new developments in drug therapy, medication recommendations, trends in pharmacy practice and a library of Continuing Education resources.
Plumb's Academic This link opens in a new window
Plumb's includes peer-reviewed veterinary drug information, a built-in drug interaction checker, drug information sheets for pet owners, and more.
The DailyMed database contains 139551 labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies. DailyMed does not contain a complete listing of labeling for FDA-regulated products (e.g., labeling that is not submitted to the FDA).
Natural Products & Complimentary Therapy
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines, formerly Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database, is a resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
5 Minute Clinical Consult This link opens in a new window
5 Minute ClinicalConsult is a fully integrated online resource to help guide primary care professionals and clinical students in daily decision support, used to obtain the most likely diagnosis, treatment, and management for thousands of diseases.
DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
DynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. DynaMed editors monitor the content of over 500 medical journals on a daily basis. Each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity. The new evidence is then integrated with existing content, and overall conclusions are changed as appropriate, representing a synthesis of the best available evidence.
UpToDate Online This link opens in a new window
NOTE: After signing in via this link, users may create a personal login to access content anywhere, but they must re-verify the personal account every 90 days. UpToDate is a comprehensive, evidence-based clinical information on the topics of Internal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Family Medicine, and Pediatrics.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a database designed for medical professionals. It provides full-text articles from Elsevier’s collection, as well as access to images, videos, and books.
Sanford Guide Web Edition This link opens in a new window
Sanford Guide has been a leader in point-of-care recommendations for the treatment of infectious diseases.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
AccessPharmacy an online resource that allows users to explore pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, and research
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
EBSCOhost - Choose databases This link opens in a new window
Select which EBSCO databases you would like to search to create a custom search strategy.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.
Chemical database is a dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). ChemIDplus includes links to NLM and other databases and resources, including links to federal, state and international agencies. ChemIDplus Lite is designed for simple searching on name or registry. ChemIDplus Advanced helps users draw their own structures and perform similarity and substructure searches.
List of current labeling of drugs (with package inserts).
Drug Information Portal
Provides general drug information and links to other reputable sites.
Drugs, Herbs, and Supplements
Information on dietary supplements and herbal remedies.
Provides drug informaiton, intravenous drug dilution standards and online chemical dosing calculators for health care professionals.
Resource to compare prices and find coupons for prescriptions.
Data on the effects of medications used by breastfeeding women.
LiverTox® provides up-to-date, unbiased and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, clinical patterns and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications and selected herbal and dietary supplements.
Information on drugs, diseases, and supplements intended for consumers.
The Merck Manuals are a comprehensive medical information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. They are offered as a free public service to health care professionals and the general public.
NLM Drug Information Links
One of the more comprehensive lists of drug information resources for professionals and public.
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
Online drug index for prescription drugs, organized in A-Z list.
A comprehensive list of web resources can be found at the COPHS Electronic Reference Guide.
The Digital Apothecary
A space for pharmacists to learn about recent technological innovations and their impact on pharmacy.
COPHS Citation Guide
Below are two options for the official COPHS Citation Guide.
Search The Catalog
Find books, articles, media, and more at Butler and beyond
Butler University Libraries has created an information guide with trustworthy sources of information regarding COVID-19. We will continue to monitor information sources for this virus and update the information guide as appropriate.