Research Guides (LibGuides): Pharmacy: Home

Ask a Librarian!

Brittany Heer

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Heer Evaluation

Science Library
LFH200B1

317-940-8550

Subjects: Communication, Pharmacy & Health Sciences

Questions? Ask Butler Libraries

Butler Libraries: Irwin Library, Science Library, and Education Resource Library

For immediate assistance, chat with the Information Commons desk.

To contact the librarian that supports the discipline or subject area covered by this LibGuide, email Sally Neal, Head of Instruction, sneal@butler.edu.

Check the Butler Libraries' website for regular semester hours and holiday and break hours.

Email: infocommons@butler.edu
Phone: 317-940-9227

RX644 In Class Activity

In Class Search Activity: Fact Checking Social Media Claims

Fact Checking Resources

Google's Social Media Searcher

Resources

Lexidrug [previously called Lexi-Comp Online] This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical Reference Library integrates industry leading clinical databases, drug interactions, and drug images.
Facts & Comparisons 4.0 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For more than sixty years, Facts and Comparisons has been the professionals' source for drug information. Includes many standard drug information reference texts, black box warnings, medication guides, a manufacturer index, and much more.
Micromedex Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window
Full text from the compilation of databases including Poisondex, Drugdex, Emerindex, Identidex, etc. covering drug information, drug therapy, and toxicology.
Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Clinical Pharmacology provides up-to-date, peer reviewed, clinically-relevant information on all U.S. drugs, as well as off-label uses and dosages, herbal supplements, nutritional and over-the-counter products, and new and investigational drugs.
Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics This link opens in a new window
"The Medical Letter, Inc. is committed to providing objective, practical, and timely information on drugs and treatments of common diseases to help our readers make the best decisions for their patients—without the influence of the pharmaceutical industry."
Pharmacist's Letter This link opens in a new window
Mobile app available: create a PL Login through the BU authenticated link first Pharmacist's Letter is a clinical resource tailored for pharmacists, covering new developments in drug therapy, medication recommendations, trends in pharmacy practice and a library of Continuing Education resources.
CompoundingToday.com This link opens in a new window
The compounding pharmacist's source for detailed information needed to grow and maintain a compounding practice.
Plumb's Academic This link opens in a new window
Plumb's includes peer-reviewed veterinary drug information, a built-in drug interaction checker, drug information sheets for pet owners, and more.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
AccessPharmacy is an online resource that allows users to explore pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, and research

DailyMed
The DailyMed database contains 139551 labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies. DailyMed does not contain a complete listing of labeling for FDA-regulated products (e.g., labeling that is not submitted to the FDA).

Natural Products & Complimentary Therapy

NatMed This link opens in a new window
NatMed, formerly Natural Medicines, is a resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.

5 Minute Clinical Consult This link opens in a new window
5 Minute ClinicalConsult is a fully integrated online resource to help guide primary care professionals and clinical students in daily decision support, used to obtain the most likely diagnosis, treatment, and management for thousands of diseases.
UpToDate Online This link opens in a new window
NOTE: After signing in via this link, users may create a personal login to access content anywhere, but they must re-verify the personal account every 90 days. UpToDate is a comprehensive, evidence-based clinical information on the topics of Internal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Family Medicine, and Pediatrics.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a database designed for medical professionals. It provides full-text articles from Elsevier’s collection, as well as access to images, videos, and books.
Sanford Guide Web Edition This link opens in a new window
Sanford Guide has been a leader in point-of-care recommendations for the treatment of infectious diseases.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine is a resource that features medical content, plus multimedia, self-assessment, algorithms, case studies, and more.

Visual Anatomy Database/App

Visible Body Websuite This link opens in a new window
Visible Body is a group of online programs covering anatomy and physiology through interactive 3D models, animations, images, and quizzes.
After clicking the access URL, click the "Don't have Account? Sign Up" link to register for a personal user account. After signing up for a personal account, login to Visual Body with credentials you set up during the registration.

Databases

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
AccessPharmacy is an online resource that allows users to explore pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, and research
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine is a resource that features medical content, plus multimedia, self-assessment, algorithms, case studies, and more.

Textbooks

Basic & Clinical Biostatistics: Fifth Edition by Susan White
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781260455366
Publication Date: 2019-10-04
Katzung's basic & clinical pharmacology, 16e by Bertram G. Katzung; Anthony J. Trevor
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781260463316
Publication Date: 2024
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780890425541
Publication Date: 2013
5th Edition
Drug Information: a Guide for Pharmacists, Sixth Edition by Meghan J. Malone; Sharon K. Park; Patrick M. Malone
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781259837975
Publication Date: 2017-12-13
Excel 2016 All-In-One for Dummies by Greg Harvey
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781119077152
Publication Date: 2015-11-16
Foye's Principles of Medicinal Chemistry, Eighth Edition by Victoria F. Roche; S. William Zito; Thomas Lemke; David A. Williams
Call Number: Science Library Reference Collection RS403 .P75 2020
ISBN: 9781496385024
Publication Date: 2019-08-29
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by Laurence Brunton; Bjorn Knollmann
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781264258079
Publication Date: 2022-11-04
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry by Victor W. Rodwell; Peter J. Kennelly; David Bender; Kathleen M. Botham; P. Anthony Weil
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781259837937
Publication Date: 2018
31st Edition
Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry by David Nelson; Michael Cox
Call Number: Science Library Reference Collection QD415 .L44 2021
ISBN: 9781319381493
Publication Date: 2021-01-29
Maximize your rotations : ASHP's student guide to IPPEs, APPEs, and beyond by Mate M. Soric; American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Science Library General Stacks RS101 .M39 2013
ISBN: 9781585283545
Publication Date: 2013
1st Edition
Medical Statistics Made Easy by Michael Harris
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781911510635
Publication Date: 2020-12-15
NAPLEX Review Guide, 4th Edition by Scott Sutton
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 978-1-264-25806-2
Publication Date: 2021
4th Edition
Pharmacogenomics an Introduction and Clinical Perspective by Joseph S. Bertino; Angela Kashuba; Joseph D. Ma; Uwe Fuhr; C. Lindsay DeVane
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780071741699
Publication Date: 2012-10-09
DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy Handbook, 12th Edition by Terry L. Schwinghammer; Joseph T. DiPiro; Vicki Ellingrod; Cecily V. DiPiro
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781264277919
Publication Date: 2023-07-21
DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: a Pathophysiologic Approach, 12th Edition by Thomas D. Nolin; Vicki Ellingrod; L. Michael Posey; Joseph T. DiPiro; Gary C. Yee; Stuart T. Haines
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781264264544
Publication Date: 2023-03-21
Schwinghammer's Pharmacotherapy Casebook: a Patient-Focused Approach, Twelfth Edition by Sharon K. Park; Terry L. Schwinghammer; Julia M. Koehler; Jill S. Borchert; Douglas Slain
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781264278480
Publication Date: 2023-04-07
Pharmacy law : examination and board review by William Feinberg
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780071747516
Publication Date: 2015
1st Edition
Pharmacy Student Survival Guide by Michelle T. Assa-Eley; Karen L. Kier; Ruth E. Nemire
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780071828475
Publication Date: 2014
3rd Edition
Quality and Safety in Pharmacy Practice by Terri L. Warholak; David P. Nau
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780071603850
Publication Date: 2010
1st Edition
Statistics for Health Care Management and Administration by John F. Kros; David A. Rosenthal
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781118712658
Publication Date: 2016-01-11

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
Article citations, often with abstracts, from more than 4,000 national and international periodicals, books and dissertations in medicine, nursing, dentistry, and related topics; online equivalent to Index Medicus.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a database designed for medical professionals. It provides full-text articles from Elsevier’s collection, as well as access to images, videos, and books.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

General Resources

DailyMed
List of current labeling of drugs (with package inserts).
Drug Information Portal
Provides general drug information and links to other reputable sites.
Drugs, Herbs, and Supplements
Information on dietary supplements and herbal remedies.
GlobalRPh
Provides drug informaiton, intravenous drug dilution standards and online chemical dosing calculators for health care professionals.
Good Rx
Resource to compare prices and find coupons for prescriptions.
LactMed
Data on the effects of medications used by breastfeeding women.
LiverTox
LiverTox® provides up-to-date, unbiased and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, clinical patterns and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications and selected herbal and dietary supplements.
Medline Plus
Information on drugs, diseases, and supplements intended for consumers.
Guideline Central
Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Merck Manuals
The Merck Manuals are a comprehensive medical information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. They are offered as a free public service to health care professionals and the general public.
NLM Drug Information Links
One of the more comprehensive lists of drug information resources for professionals and public.
PubChem
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
RxList
Online drug index for prescription drugs, organized in A-Z list.

Natural Health Resources

NIH Office of Dietary Supplements
Gives a current overview of individual vitamins, minerals and other dietary supplements
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
NCCIH conducts and supports research and provides information about complementary health products and practices. NCCIH is a branch of the NIH.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive
Clinical information on complimentary, integrative, and alternative therapies.
Natural Standard Library
Information on dietary supplements, functional foods, diets, complementary practices, exercises, and medical conditions.

A comprehensive list of web resources can be found at the COPHS Electronic Reference Guide.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Provides evidence-based information for patients, consumers, and professionals on the delivery of healthcare.
Centers of Disease Control
National public health institute for the United States.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Provides registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Drugs@FDA
FDA drug approval information, updated daily.
FDA Substance Registration System
FDA's Global Substance Registration System. Home of the Unique Ingredient Identifier (UNII).
FAERS Database
FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) Public Dashboard, a highly interactive web-based tool for FAERS querying data in a user-friendly way.
Federal Pharmacy Law
Federal codes and statutes pertaining to drugs and pharmacy practice.
Indiana Pharmacy Law
Laws & statutes governing pharmacy practice in Indiana.
Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
Find licensing information for the state of Indiana.
National Guidelines Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
Orange Book
Provides information on generic drug equivalents as approved by the FDA.
Purple Book
The Purple Book database contains information on all FDA-licensed (approved) biological products regulated by the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER), including licensed biosimilar and interchangeable products, and their reference products.
World Health Organization
Health information site of the United Nations.
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform
The Clinical Trials Search Portal provides access to a central database containing the trial registration data sets provided by the registries.

American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
National organization representing pharmacy education in the united states.
American Pharmacist Association
A public health resource, includes information for immunization training.
American Society of Health-System Pharmacists
National professional organization for students, pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians who serve as patient care providers in acute & ambulatory settings.
National Association of Boards of Pharmacy
Contains information on licensure and NAPBLEX exam.

The Digital Apothecary
A space for pharmacists to learn about recent technological innovations and their impact on pharmacy.

Pharmacy: Home

Ask a Librarian!

Questions? Ask Butler Libraries

RX644 In Class Activity

Resources

COPHS Citation Guide

Search The Catalog

Attribution

CONTACT

QUICK LINKS